We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon Grand perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Moon Grand perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Moon Grand for 3 days as an extention to our week stay at Playacar Palace. It had been 6 years since we have stayed at Moon and never on the Grand side. The regular rooms are so spacious and nice! We took advantage of numerous spa treatments. We also enjoyed dinner at the Italian Restaurant at the Golf Course. Adalberto was our waiter and it was his first day in this restaurant. He did an excellent job! We enjoyed talking with Lizbeth and Manolo at the Sunrise Pool - VIP area, such nice people! We spent some time talking with Timoteo Martinez Cruz also. All these employees work so hard and really made our vacation special. Our favorite was having lunch every day at Los Taco with Blanca and Luis! They were very attentive and funny and food is just WONDERFUL! Loved talking with them each day.Israel as check-in did an amazing job assisting us. We did the turlle release one evening and that is always an exceptional event to participate in. We witnessed at least 3 weddings while we were there also. You can't go wrong at Moon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,516
    2,443
    891
    475
    361
See reviews for
4,234
3,373
54
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful six night seven day anniversary trip to Moon Palace in Cancun. We went during the off season and hardly any people were staying at the resort.

We ended up going over to the Sunrise side and swimming in their pools two of our days and we only had to share the pool with a handful of other people. It was fabulous. The downfall to going during the off season would be, the palace doesn't staff as much so we did sometimes have to hunt someone down for drinks or service.

The spa was absolutely wonderful hands down to the service that we received there, definitely worth your time.

The room was quite large with a nice view and a Jacuzzi in the room. Maid service was always timely and our room was kept very clean, we never had to ask for anything.

We felt like the food could have been better for as many stars as the hotel received. We thought the buffet's just really weren't that good. We did order room service a couple times, that was wonderful as well as several of the sit down restaurants that we attended. The best food was poolside - on the sunrise side they have an outside pizza oven and they made the most fantastic ready to order pizza. Several people told us that the two restaurants at the Grand side were very good, but we never made it over there - they do require reservations and casual formal attire for men.

The beach was very saddening for me, its totally not what I expected - but they have a shuttle that leaves for two other palace resorts about four times a day and you can go up to Beach or Sun palace and use their beaches all inclusive eating and drinking so we did that and I didn't feel like I missed out on the Caribbean beach experience. the transport was about 15 minutes and we stayed there for four hours until we needed to re-board and return to Moon Palace, I thought this was a nice amenities especially because you could see what the other Palace resorts were like and if you would want to stay with them in the future.

Overall really nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, food and beach to be desired but the place is huge and there is so much to do there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolutely First class Treatment...Impeccable stay,Staff with Kind Heart to give the best of best to the guest speaks laurels on their commitment,dedication and going out of the way to serve them to the satisfaction is what one can see & experience here at Moon Palace Resort.

It's called as " Aththi Devo Bhava "....means Treat the Guest / Customer like God & that's what your people have done to us to make our stay like a Maharaaja...

Room Tip: Book it well in advance, with specifics and have a confirmation...Sea View Perticularly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

this was one of the best holiday we have had ,it wasthe 4th time in mexico and the best.. The staff cannot do anymore for you.My husband loved thhe golf while i used the spa fantastic.we are looking into going next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Moon Palace Resort in Cancun in August and it was thje most amazing family holiday ever.
The service is simply amazing, the accomodation breathtaking, the staff an absolute joy and the facilities the best.
The Restaurant Manager Raquel Villagran is the nicest person you will ever meet - her staff Franeisco Cocom and Erik Hardo always went the extra mile to ensure we weren't left wanting these 3 individuals made our stay a joy.
If its a family holiday this is the place a true all inclusive resort - I have been to the Caribbean on AI but this was something unique and special

Room Tip: This is a very big hotel and our rooms were about a 5 minute walk from the main lobby but given the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

First time at Moon Palace and can say the hotel surroundings and staff were exceptional. We stayed for 2 weeks at the Grand Section which is the quieter of the three areas. On arrival (Monday03rd Sep) we were advised that our room would not be ready until the Wednesday but they had allocated us another room on the third floor, this would not have been a problem except my partner is a full time wheel chair user and the provisional room was not adapted. We had 2 steps down to the balcony and Jacuzzi also the wheelchair could not fit into the bathroom as the doors were too narrow. We booked this holiday in Feb 2012 and ensured the room would be appropriate to our needs. Unfortunately it took nearly 3 hours to resolve the situation and we had to “manage” in the room for one night. This was really disappointing as my partner could not use the toilet in the room which was very inconvenient. When we were re allocated our adapted room the next day the room was great although there were no grab rails or hand rails to hold onto and the toilet was very low. Other than that the room was very spacious.

The grounds of the hotel are spectacular and constantly being maintained. The pool areas were also beautiful especially the grand section as it is very peaceful.

The hotel has several restuarants all of which are a really good standard, buffet breakfasts in most. There was the Brazillian, Bamboo (at the Golf) La Gondola, El Mangalar and La Trattoria which were all excellent.
The grounds are really big and so most of the time people just jump on golf buggy and travel to and from the other sections and there’s also buses at the lobby entrance which transfers you every 15 minutes. We walked most of the time as it is nice a flat and the scenery is beautiful.
I would say the best part of my holiday was the staff, they were the warmest most welcoming and gracious people we have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble. It was very hard to get used to them constantly carrying your food back to your table for you. We ate at El Mangalar on a few occasions for breakfast and met 2 of the nicest people who served us, Carlos and Claudianna they were absolutely lovely and made our holiday a little more special.

The staff around the pools were also great and always keeping your drink topped up. There are a few day trips you can opt to go on which includes swimming with Dolpins which was a great experience. I would also recommend releasing the baby turtles if you get the chance. They do this most nights at each section of the hotel.

I would have really liked to go a for a quiet drink in a nice intimate bar but sadly there were none, only the lobby bars which were very busy. Resort credits are easy to understand if you get your rep to explain it. If you booked before April no tax to pay on any purchases (except the jewellery) If you booked after April then you pay tax.

The nighlife isnt amazing but after a heavy day sunbathing you just want to get back to your room and get the aircon on.

To summarise a really great hotel absolutely beautiful, staff amazing and really made it for us. Could be more organised regarding disability awareness as most places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had started planning our wedding through Beach Bum Vacation in January of 2012. Finding a group travel TA for a wedding is hard work, you don't want to tell your family to use someone you don't know if you can trust. We had tried several different travel wedding planners, and finally out of exasperation I tried calling BBV at 8 PM on a Friday night (not expecting an answer, just wanted to leave a message) and Marcie answered the phone. From the moment we spoke, I knew she was who we had to use. After my fiance then spoke with Marcie - it was decided: we had found our group TA.

From the first minute, Marcie was amazing at handling our requests and amount of guests. We had 162 people who came to our ceremony - and everyone who talked to Marcie fell in love with her. I would rate BBV a 10/10 with not one complaint. Whatever questions we had, Marcie addressed them promptly and we soon found we could easily trust her judgment when it came to travel decisions.

Our wedding at MP was amazing, as well. We had Rose as our coordinator - who was very professional and had everything down to a 'T'. She was with us every step of the way for the wedding. Katie from Zuniga was in charge of our decorations - and the reception hall was everything we had asked for and more. We couldn't rave more about the three people we have mentioned above.

The staff at MP was amazing. Several members of our family who traveled to MP for the first time have already said they wanted to go back. Everything was amazing - from the food, to the people, to the location.

We had 2 different ceremonies for our wedding, a Hindu Ceremony and an American Ceremony. The staff worked with us to accomodate both cultures. Katie and Rose helped us figure out which decorations we could reuse for both ceremonies to save money - and everything came out perfect. The kitchen staff was also fantastic - they bent backwards to give us all the food we had requested to accomodate both cultures - and it turned out FANTASTIC! The wedding cake was one of the best I have ever had.

The only two downsides we had for our trip:the beach at MP is very seaweed infested. If you are a beach loving person - this may not be the place for you. MP's pools more than make up for the ocean water, however. They are gorgeous! For us, this was not a big deal - but some people may want to know this.

The other downside - the Groom's jacket got laid on top of a candle at some point of the night when the chairs were being taken away, and it got a hole burnt through it. We think it was a staff member who moved it by accident - and we understood no one meant it. When we told MP, though, they didn't want to do a thing about it. We were a little upset at how much we got brushed aside. Despite this, we still had an amazing time at the hotel, and understood it was a fluke occurance.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a destination wedding, especially if you are thinking of having a rather large group. The size, accomodation, food, pools, and staff are amazing. You never feel like you got swallowed up.

We would also highly recommend Marcie from BBV. Without her we would never of had the amazing wedding that we did. Her contact is marcie@beachbumvacation.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.