We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing!!!

Restaurant Ameafes - the Brazilian restaurant, was fabulous - Yesnia, Hostes, Efrain Cavich, Angel and Uriel Azamat are a credit to the complex.

Every part of our holiday was incredible, we didn't have to lift a finger! Pure luxury, cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,087 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6,404
    2,164
    764
    439
    316
See reviews for
3614
2948
42
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,783)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Moon palace was amazing, best service I have ever had and I have been all over the world. This hotel is very nice, really nice rooms, lots of choice to eat. all the staff say hello and everyone trys to help u in everyway they can, will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to Moon palace and stayed at Sunrise. What can i say other than it was outstanding. The staff couldnt do enough for you. Always happy and willing to get what ever you want. The rooms spotless cleaned everyday beds turned down at night. Food entertainment again EXCELLENT. swimming pools spotless and the drinking bar and food resturants outside also spotless. Always cleaning and keeping it tidy. Met alot of loverly people. We went for a Wedding beautiful. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone will find it hard to get another hotel to this standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent five days at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort in Cancun earlier this month. Overall, this is a nice place and at a glance it seems fantastic but there are definitely some areas that could be improved upon. Upon our arrival we were welcomed and the service and greeting was excellent. We were a little disappointed when we got to our room to see that we had two full beds instead of a king bed when it was just my husband and myself. You would think based on the names on our reservation that we would automatically be placed in a room with a king bed. The room looked fabulous though and was clean. One of the things I was most excited about was the HUGE hot tub in our room but when I ran the water in it late that afternoon, the water was completely brown. Evidently the tub in this room had not been used for awhile. I was very disappointed that I couldn't take a bath that day. We had to run the water continually for hours to get it to begin to clear. Once we saw that it was improving, every time we were in the room we ran the bath water until eventually it cleared and we could use the tub.

Our toilet broke on the first day but maintenance responded quickly to fix it. Our maid service was very inconsistent. They came every day but some days we would have enough towels and other days they wouldn't leave hand towels, or one day it might be they wouldn't leave wash cloths. They also took one of our robes and didn't replace it until we called and asked for another one. It was just very inconsistent and annoying to have to constantly call and ask for more towels or robe or whatever we needed. These should have been replaced automatically every day.

The resort and pool area is huge which can be both a pro and a con. I wish they would have had more locations where you could pick up towels for the pool. A little more lighting around the pool area would be nice as well so you could swim in the evenings if you wished. We never saw anyone in the pools at night time.

The food overall was good although we were very disappointed in our steaks at the Barracuda restaurant. They were all well over-cooked and we had a hard time getting exactly what we ordered. But all of the other restaurants were good.

If you want to spend much time on the beach this is not the resort to go to. Because of it's location, the beach area is small and the water is filled with sea weed. Not a pretty beach area.

The spa was fabulous although I was slightly disappointed in my massage but my husband said his was fantastic. The pool area at the spa is very quiet and relaxing and Alexander at the bar was fantastic!

We were a little disappointed in the grounds upkeep. We've spent a lot of time at the Royal Resorts and the upkeep at those is immaculate. We were surprised to see trash laying around.

Overall, it was a nice relaxing vacation although there are definitely ways the resort could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. We will take this into consideration and we certainly hope you come back and give us a better opportunity to serve you. Norma Granados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonpans
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just come back from our two week honeymoon at Moon Grand, Moon Palace. Our room and facilities were excellent, spacious and very clean. The food display and choice in the many restuarants were exceptional for people with a normal diet. Unfortunately for myself, who is coeliac, the choices were very restricting and repetative, especially for starters and desserts. This was a little disappointing after being reassured by our tour operator Thomsons that the hotel catered for a gluten free diet. Although there was a very large selection of fresh bread and pastries daily, none were gluten free. I think the hotel could have benefited from more evening entertainment. I would like to give a special mention to Pablo the Gym Instructor for his professionalism. He certainly put me through my paces.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from wonderful holiday at Nizuc, Moon Palace. We went to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and cannot say anything bad really, everything we expected and more! Staff were very attentive and helpful but the phrase "MY PLEASURE" can get a little annoying! A big thanks to carlos in main buffet restaurant and also jaqueline in lobby bar, who arranged a special meal to celebrate our anniversary.

Would gladly go back tomorrow, if we had the money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I live in Hawaii and look for an International location to vacation once a year. We visited Moon Palace three years ago and have been back every year since. I can't begin to explain how high quality the level of service is at Palace Resorts, Mexico. Palace Resorts in Cancun has no competitor where service is concerned. If I had only one vacation left in my lifetime it would be here at the Moon Grand.
The two restaurants to visit are La Trattoria and Los Corporales. The food and service at these two restaurants are clearly "top shelf." The atmosphere at Corporales combined with live music projects the ultimate Mexican dinning experience.
Those who have never been to Moon Palace... You have no idea what you are missing. Those that didn't have a good time... I urge you to try your stay again.

Room Tip: Moon Palace is divded into three resorts Sunrise - Currently transforming into a resort trageting y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers 2,433 accommodations with double Jacuzzi, 24 hr. room service and balconies. The excitement begins with two large lagoon-style pools with Jacuzzis and swim-up bars. The state-of-the-art Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, disco, 13 restaurants, 12 bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Amex and Otel so you can book your Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.