We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a honeymoon but decent none the less” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Cancun

Save Saved
You added Park Royal Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Park Royal Cancun
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 12.5 | Lote 18, Fraccion 1-B | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not quite a honeymoon but decent none the less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I were gifted our honeymoon through a family member that is a Royal Holiday member. Overall it was a nice resort. Not what I would recommend for a honeymoon but we did have a good vacation.

Pros:
-Very clean (both rooms and resort property). The staff did a great job of keeping everything very clean and well taken care of
-One of the most beautiful beaches I have been to thus far. Soft white sand, turquoise water.
-Great buffet restaurant. I have Celiac disease (a sever allergy to gluten) but Antonio, one of the restaurant managers made sure to go through all the food selections with me each day to show me what was safe and what was not. He checked all the ingredients and asked when he wasn't sure about something. Oriental night was the worst for me (because of soy sauce on everything) so he had the chef make me a special dish.
- Great service by buffet staff and travel office: Between Antonio and our breakfast and lunch server Gabriel, they always made sure we had a smile on our face by the time we left. Gabriel got to know our favorite drinks and dishes and would bring them to us, without us even asking! He brought my husband bacon every day for breakfast... when bacon wasn't even out for breakfast! As for the travel agency women, they were so friendly and helpful. They were honest about prices and excursion popularity vs the experience and even went above and beyond to help me contact a local dog rescue Tierra de Animales that we went to go visit. They made phone calls for me to get addresses and directions and did a lot of research and soley out of being helpful, They didn't expect any money or tips.

Cons:
-Front desk and Royal Holiday staff. Very rude and unhelpful (especially the Royal Holiday staff) if they didn't think they would be getting any more money from you. There is a 90 minute presentation that you can do to receive some tequilla and $100 towards any of your excursions. For me it was worth it to have the money, we needed it to do all the trips we wanted, but it was barely worth it. I was exhausted and very irritated at the end of the 90 min presentation. VERY high pressure sales.
-Beds: We had an ambassador room. Simple, clean, not much in the way of decor or luxury, In fact my husband and I had to sleep in different beds because the beds were so small (our feet hung over the edge a bit). We tried to ask for a room with a queen or king but apparently they don't have any at this resort.

Trips:
- Swim with dolphins at dolphin discovery Okay. Picked this company because I felt they were the most humane and responsible with how they treated their dolphins.
- Coba Maya Ruins Cultural trip. Highlight of my trip! Learned so much and had a great time. If you actually want to learn something (and not in a boring way) opt for the cultural trip, not the adventure.
- Xplore: Okay.. my husband liked it more than me although I am not a huge fan of caves with bats flying around and pooping on me....
- Tierra de Animales: Arranged through facebook. We are huge animal rescue supporters back home and we went to visit and help wash dogs for a few hours. Was very eye opening.Was another highlight and we were glad we went.

Room Tip: Presidential only if your looking for any kind of luxury or romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    709
    645
    228
    85
    78
See reviews for
510
463
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ok, so I have reviewed this hotel before... But since my last review I have stayed at 2 other premium resorts in Mexico. They had flash, and lavish rooms - but really were just too impersonal, too many extra costs, and crowd after crowd seemed to be waiting for their "jersey shore" audition. Then I came back to the Park Royal and I have to say I will keep coming back!

The staff at this resort is unreal. First are the restaurant staff. These guys know your name, your drinks, what food you like... I think I might adopt Gabriel, or maybe he has adopted me. The bartenders (Mario, Leonardo, Benjamin, Manuel, Esteban) are not only fast at slinging drinks for an endless line of tourists, but they make it a personal experience. While I was there, most staff were speaking Portuguese to the Brazilians, had cheat cards with words in Russian, all while speaking Spanish and English.

I can not leave out the entertainment staff either. There were some new faces (John, Jovani) but Paco and his staff know how to make this place a lasting experience for all guests. They have games for kids, sports all day (we had people from other hotels coming just to try and join the beach volleyball). And of course there real specialty is the nights out. Usually a hotel will tell you were to go, maybe get you a small discount and a free taxi there - but this experience was way more. If there are groups that want to go to other locations, the team splits so both groups have a "tour guide" at the club. Truly a wild and safe experience.

Now the hotel still has a more rustic feel. The rooms and some common spaces are ready for a touch up. But I promise you, just the staff alone will leave you wanting to come back. I'm at 3 trips now.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been "time-sharing" through Interval International for over 20 years and are new to the Royal Time Share system so this was our first visit. We had a good visit...just a "notch" less than what we are used to. Having time-shared for so long, we usually enjoy chit-chatting and comparing stories with other time share veterans...but not here. We were about the only English speaking people at the resort. Many were from Argentina, Brazil, and South America. Not being snobby here...just a different experience.

Rooms - Very clean and were cleaned thoroughly daily. Furniture, although not plush, absolutely fine. Spacious quarters in the two ambassador suites. One for my husband and I and one for our adult children. Comfortable beds and two large bathrooms. Our kids used the Murphy bed in the living area and said it was also comfortable. No kitchen facilities or coffee maker but a small refrigerator. Missed having coffee in room and an outside balcony to have it on. I like having them while I read in mornings and wait for everyone to wake up. Don't remember this from other visits to Cancun but YOU CANNOT FLUSH TOILET PAPER and I would rather do that! Also, they recommended that we not drink the water from the room faucet even though there was a sign there that said it was potable. They left us bottled water in the rooms for that reason.

Restaurants - Since we were not given the choice, we had to buy the all-inclusive plan which was super reasonable. It is because you only have two real choices:

La Veranda - is buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Loved the breakfast...plenty of fresh fruit and made to order eggs including omelettes! Service wonderful. But for lunch and dinner, the buffet changes themes every night but it gets tiresome and is a bit noisy.

El Mirador - is a reservation only Italian Restaurant that does not allow children under 12. We had absolutely no problem getting a reservation due to the fact that there were many families there with small children. It also was much quieter than the buffet restaurant for the same reason I guess and since it was not a buffet, less coming and going and noise of dishes, etc. Food excellent!

There is a "snack bar" by the pool which has burgers, hot dogs, nachos, cheese and so-so pizza.

Also with the all inclusive, they gave you free dinner at Senor Frogs which is just a crazy drinking place but fun to be there for a few hours. Drinks and gratuities are not included here and you have a limited menu to choose from (burger, bbq chicken, chicken fajitas or quesidilla) which was OK by us...we were all in the mood for fajitas! They also gave tickets to the movie theater which is located in the mall across the street -walking distance. We did not use those but nice to have them available.

Pools - lower level had activities, music and noise if you are into that...but we were not. We went to the upper level which was quieter but this one had no swim up bar but a walk up one nearby. The pools are small and have no way to enter except by jumping in or using a ladder. Keep that in mind if you are travelling with anyone who is older.

Beach - Beautiful! Even saw sea turtle hatchlings. Lifeguard and a few vendors but not that many as in other places in Mexico.

All in all a nice visit...perfect for us this time since we just wanted to be with our adult children who we don't get to be with as often as we used to. Since we wanted that, the all-inclusive limitation made it affordable since we were paying the tab. Everyone was free to eat and drink anything as long as we were in the resort. Will we go back? I dunno...maybe.

Room Tip: The presidential suites are the only ones with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and our friends booked a weeklong vacation from 6-22-12 to 6-29-12 at Park Royal Cancun. We had a blast eating, drinking, and enjoying the beach. Our waiters, bartenders, and housekeepers are so welcoming and quick with the service. We always felt pampered and had all of our requests met. The international food buffet that rotated on a daily basis kept things interesting. I thought their beefsteaks were the best option from the buffet, followed by the made to order omelets. When we felt like spending time by the swim up bar, we always had the choice to eat at the grill for burgers, fries, and hot dogs. The highlight was the beach though. The waves are strong and cooling during the hot summer days. We would definitely recommend this place and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get the building with the 2xxxx numbers. That way, you'll be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice family resort. The rooms are ok but the ones w/o balcony need a little upgrade. The restaurant, lobby, pool and beach area are very nice and clean. They have good entertainement at day and night. The staff is very polite. I was there in july and it was quiet.no craziness going on at the hotel, which was nice compared to the usual spring break madness!! Basically the week goes by really fast, not to mention the amazing weather:). I wouldn't not recommend this hotel if you're a bunch of singles, or else it's just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I booked my 4 nights through STA travel and when I got to Cancun the told me and my friend that there was ONLY 1 room booked. However on me ant my friends booking we booked 2 rooms after almost 3 hours waiting they told us that we will need to sort our rooms tomorrow with travel agent, called travel agent and they told us 2 rooms was booked and they were trying to call Royal park Cancun... After almost 5 hours of going back and fourth they had no rooms and the staff were SO RUDE AND JUST DID NOT CARE... never will I book at this hotel and suggest anyone else not to bother

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week with my family. The beach is spectacular very clean. The pools are amazing as well. Not many hotel activites for the kids but there was some. The bars were very accommidating and the food was good for an all inclusive. The staff was accomidating and tips go a long way. Personaly I would not go back again just because when I go on vacation I like to party. There is only one resturant besides the bufett which is very good but after a few nights grew tiresome.The rooms were clean. Overall it was a good family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Royal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Cancun

Also Known As:
Park Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Park Royal Cancun Hotel
Park Royal Resort Cancun
Park Royal Piramides Cancun
Park Royal Piramides
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 12.5 | Lote 18, Fraccion 1-B | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Cancun 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cancun Caribe Park Royal Grand is conveniently located right in the heart of the Hotel Zone next to the very exclusive, La Isla Mall. The International Airport is located only 20 minutes from the hotel and you'll be within walking distance of the best restaurants and stores.From the Park Royal Grand walk over to Cancun's excellent shopping center and discover places like Kukulcan mall, Flamingo mall, Forum mall, Coral Negro market, and Caracol mall.Souvenirs and bargains abound as you stroll through the stores in the heart of Cancun's hotel district. Whether you are looking for a new designer outfit for yourself or a gift to take home to your loved ones, you’ll find it here ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Royal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.