We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CasaMagna Hotel Cancun Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% with VISA
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CasaMagna Hotel Cancun Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a beautiful Hotel and sits next door to the Marriot JW hotel. The CasaMagna is designed to give the feel of a Mexican hacienda with covered verandas with plants and fountains. We were upgraded to a corner suit room with an enormous balcony that wrapped around and had lounge chares as well as a table and 4 chairs. The beach was great and the morning buffet which lasts from 0630 until 11:00 can easily suffice for lunch as well as breakfast. There is a 7-11 across the street where you can get wine and snacks and a great seafood restaurant called Freds(doesn’t sound like much but it is fine dining). We took the bus for transportation on the strip. It was 80 pesos and runs every 4 or 5 minutes. We went on the catamaran trip to Las Mujeres and it was fun but if you are looking for snorkeling this is not the trip. The best snorkeling was with Aqua world. If you just want to snorkel than the group trip is the best deal. You are taken to an anchored two level boat and can go snorkeling as long as you want in a great area. Many people take the jungle tour which goes to the same area but you get to drive your own two seater boat. The snorkeling is for just about 40 minutes and the cost is more.

Room Tip: The ocan front rooms have a slightly better view but teh ocean view rooms also have a good view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    816
    193
    87
    35
See reviews for
799
885
112
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Casa Magna for one night following my trip to Riveria Maya since I could not get a flight. After staying at an all inclusive resort, I was a bit disappointed with the service at the Marriott. The room was beautiful with a beautiful balcony and ocean view room.

The beach was way too rough to swim. Impossible. The pool was okay. It was very clean but the service was lacking. After sitting for 15 minutes at the pool bar I was finally offered a drink and it was not very good. I asked if I could have rum on the top of my drink like any resort does because Rum is so cheap - he told me that the Marriott was not an all inclusive resort. So I didn't bother with another drink. They were actually a bit on the rude side which was strange to me since the service at Playa Del Carmen was spectacular.

The pool was very boring. All couples and children running around. There was no music, no entertainment, and furthermore since it was windy - they didn't allow the pool umbrellas to be raised, so therefore no shade.

I didn't visit any of the restaurants.

I went to the lobby bar and had buy one get one free mojitoes. $13.00 for two. I don't think that was the best deal.

I am thankful I didn't spend a whole week there. I was bored to death.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We regret that our pool’s atmosphere was not up to your expectations. We work hard to please both our guests that prefer a more relaxing atmosphere and those who want to participate in some recreational activities without inconveniencing one another. We do have an Activities Program which may vary depending on the weather, the guests’ preferences or the time of the day. We sincerely thank you for sharing your comments with us and be sure they have been taken in consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful designed hotel, in a great location. Easy to get around.
The staff are friendly and helpful. If anything sometimes they tried to be too helpful, with phonecalls wanting us to collect our welcome gift, and housekeeping checking on us. Otherwise our staff was great. It is such a beautiful location. I would stay here again. The breakfast was also an excellent option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the CasaMagna Marriott in Apr 2013. We stayed there for 6 nights, and we found the bugs in room in the last night. The front desk changed room for us, and the toilet makes very loud noise. The whole vacation was ruined after the seeing the bugs in the room.

Here is the bugs that we saw in the room:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT_Ni3pr978

There was one review mention the loud noise in the toilet, and I thought it was fixed. Apparently, it was not.

Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
In spite of the thorough cleanliness and fumigation procedures that we follow, we might find that it is extremely difficult to eliminate all insects in a tropical area such like ours. We are sorry that this happened to you and we sincerely thank you for having reported this during your stay. That helped us to take immediate corrective actions and of course we will keep a close eye on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two days whilst on business in Cancun. The hotel is a large property and primarily used for leisure.

There is not an executive lounge for Marriott Rewards members at this property.

My room was clean and well presented. It was larger than a normal US Marriott room and had a table and dining chairs as well as a sofa.

The bathroom is outdated but clean and well maintained. Amenities are Bath And Body Works, nothing special but do the job.

Mini bar is well stocked with lots of products.

Hotel has a lobby bar, pool bar, sports bar, Thai restaurant and a Japanese restaurant. There's is also a well stick hotel shop which has a fresh cake counter, clothing and souvenir section.

Breakfast is a buffet which is well stocked and has an egg station, which was really good. Furniture looking a bit worn out and need of renovation, but nothing too terrible.

Staff friendly with a good understanding of English.

Wifi available in all the rooms and public areas. Free to gold and platinum rewards members.

Modern gym with plenty of equipment. Spa and kids club also.

Car hire company also on site if you want to explore the local area. Not much to see though. The property is located on a long thin island that is hotel after hotel. It has been built specifically for tourism (mainly from the USA).

Great for business or if you want a week in the sunshine, but not much else to see or do.

Overall, for me, great property for business travel. Will be back later in the year. There is a JW Marriott next door, which looks great!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is friendly and accommodating stayed for 6 days.

Decent room with fairly quiet beach compared to some of the more "party" oriented properties. It has a great breakfast buffet. If you can get the inclusive deal, get it because it is a much better deal than just getting the room and paying food separately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahnville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Marriott CasaMagna was absolutely wonderful. The hotel has a beautiful and comfortable pool area with several places for food and drinks. The lobby has an elegant, but comfortable lounge area with delicious food and drinks available. The Italian Restaurant was delicious and fun. The staff inside and outside of the hotel were kind, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable and pretty. The maid service was excellent. The hotel has an "old world" look and was very peaceful. My sisters and I hope to stay at this hotel every year.

Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the side wings with a view of the beach. They are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#16 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.