We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a great vacay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great vacay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My mother, younger sister and i took a girls trip for my sisters last college spring break. We wanted to be close to the action but not in the thick of thousands of wild spring breakers. This resort was perfect. The staff were all very helpful and polite- the porter even found us a Styrofoam cooler to use when we asked about getting an additional fridge to keep water, soda etc.
We spent our days under a cabana ( no charge!) and the staff was always visible if we wanted to order food or drinks. We did head down to an amazing brunch buffet twice featuring authentic Mexican fare at the steakhouse - a must! But be prepared for a nap after if you indulge :-)
Between the Marriott and the JW next door, there were many great restaurants to choose from. Our faves were the Italian restaurant (wow!!!) and the steak house. Across the street was a convenience store, McDonalds and Papa Johns in case anyone you need some quick snacks, water, beer etc.
We took the frequent buses a few times to the nearby mall and markets- it was easy and we felt safe.

We really enjoyed our girls vacation and recommend this resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    676
    167
    70
    29
See reviews for
611
721
92
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Really did not want to leave. Fantastic rooms, great service, beautiful scenery and beach. Friendly staff and 1st class service. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, so much variety and option enough to keep you full all day long. If you are stuck on Hotels to choose from in cancan area then no need this will exceed all your expectations and with a wide range of restaurants on site no need to even leave the hotel. Great shopping centre close by if u fancy something different other than sunbathing one day. In addition they offer great water sports and activities to do!! A must stay for any traveller. Thank you for a perfect holiday Marriott CasaMagna will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First off, the location of this hotel is excellent. It is smack in the middle of hotel zone, with a delicious taco stand (tacos de mariscos) right across from it, along with three convenience stores, a few seafood restaurants, and of course McDonalds/Papa Johns. The bus that runs up and down Cancun's hotel zone strip stops right in front of the hotel, and is extremely clean, safe, and cheap (less than a dollar per ride) and provides easy access to the malls, flea market, other hotels, restaurants, clubs, bars... basically everything you need! The Casamagna Marriott itself is absolutely beautiful, with a huge open reception area with a breathtaking view of the ocean and pool. The beach is gorgeous, great water, clean and large pool with poolside bar. There's more than enough beach chairs/lounges, and you can walk all the way up and down the beach with no problem. We realized quickly that dollars are almost as common as pesos in this area of Cancun, so you don't need to change too much money at the airport - you can get around almost everywhere with dollars/credit cards, and carry a limited amount of pesos. There is an entertainment staff outside the hotel pool that can help you to organize any trips - we did jet skiing and a booze cruise through it and loved both. It's possible to bargain a little bit if you are a big group. The area is very safe at night as well, definitely recommend the bus as a fast, easy, and cheap mode of transport to clubs/bars and restaurants. Overall we had an amazing vacation in Cancun at the Casamagna and would definitely love to go back!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have an ocean or lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, extremely clean and well cared for. The rooms are pretty standard but nice and comfortably sized. All the rooms have large balconies and the hotel sits well back from the road so it's quiet even tho it's part of the resort strip. Hotel staff is very helpful and courteous. The pool is large and the beach is clean and spectacular. I would give this hotel a 5 rating except for the extremely high prices of drinks and food. Even tho both are delicious, I object to being gouged "just because they can."
One small point which could make up for a lot, would be putting coffee pots and coffee in the rooms. These aren't provided and neither is a free cup offered in the lobby. Having to pay $3 + for a first cup of coffee when the shop opens in the morning is just further gratuitous taking-advantage-of-the-customer.

Room Tip: You just need to decide if you want an ocean or lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spring Break Destination 2013. The hotel is starting to show its age however it has been maintained very well. We stayed in a junior Caribbean suite on the sixth floor with a wonderful view. Our room was clean and the fellow who did the daily cleaning left us a nice note the first day. We almost went with the all inclusive package however not knowing what the food would be like we decided against it. The couple we went with chose the all inclusive and all I can say is next time we will definitely go all inclusive. The food was great! The food and drinks are expensive! The only complaint is there is one hot tub that was full most times as the weather was a little chilly. Beach is great and staff is friendly. I was surprised how much everything cost- this is Mexico after all. One last note, we felt completely safe in the Hotel Zone. Wouldn't advise going downtown after dark.

Room Tip: Go for the Carribean upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for three days in March. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel. As a solo female traveler not interested in a party atmosphere, I felt very comfortable here. This was not a party hotel at all though there were a few college kids around. It was mostly families and couples, and not a wild a crazy place, thank goodness. I found the staff very friendly and helpful, and quick to answer questions. I am not so good with Spanish, but I tried, and got a few Spanish lessons! (Of course, everyone speaks English, so no worries for people who don't know Spanish). Upon check-in the porter took me to the elite desk which was immediately staffed with someone (though I felt bad as others were waiting in line). Check-in was very fast. I stayed in a Caribbean suite, and it was lovely. The Caribbean suites have a balcony that wraps around both both the bedroom and living area, with two doors to the outside. There is a table and chairs, and a lounge chair. The views of the sea are needless to say excellent. You can close the bedroom off as there are two doors leading to it, so that is nice if you traveling with others and need some privacy. There was lots of closet space in the room, and the bathroom was well appointed if a tad on the small size. I ordered room service breakfast every morning and enjoyed it on the balcony. Room service was always prompt and accurate. The food was mostly very tasty. I recommend the Thai restaurant right in front of the restaurant--lovely atmosphere and service, and tasty food. The sushi place is excellent too. There is a small beachfront lunch place called Bahia Club that served decent food. You have privileges at the JW Marriott next door, but I did not visit it even though I suspect it was more upscale than the CasaMagna. My room fee included $100 a day resort credit that could be spent on food, spa, and anything other than the gift shop--they simply added the full credit to the bill making it easy to manage. I was on this vacation to relax, read, and forget my responsibilities for a few days after some wonderful travel around the Yucatan, and this resort provided exactly that. There are a couple of things I wish they would change: 1) the internet did not work all that well. It would cutout randomly. But maybe they just wanted me to turn off devices on vacation. 2) no coffeepot in the room--they must want you to buy their expensive coffee 3) they did not give me an accurate time for pickup back to the airport. The Cancun airport is very busy, and expect to wait in long lines, so give yourself a couple of extra hours than usual to get to the airport. It all worked out, but the hotel should know how much time people need to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Caribbean suites have a table and chairs to enjoy food on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Enjoyed spring break trip with kids (18 & 22). Hotel was very clean and all the staff were very helpful. Room are basic with a step up in luxury linens and towers. Pool staff were great even without any organized pool side activities during the day. Pricing of drinks 200% of normal US rates, but it's Cancun right?

Food options plentiful in hotel and XOOX or 7-11 convenience stores. McDonalds also across the street and a welcome breakfast option to the $24pp buffet at the hotel. ATMs in lobby dispense dollars and pesos. Enjoy the Casa Magna and be all the tourist you can be in CANCUN!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with and you'll have two rooms plus a300+ square foot deck over looking the blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.