We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, alongside a wonderful beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Ocean + Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Sussex
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, alongside a wonderful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

You can never go wrong with a Marriott, and Casa Manga certainly didnt let us down.
Stayed here over Christmas, and although the hotel was busy, it didnt feel crowded, and the staff especially at breakfast were exceptional.
Beautiful reception area with shops, bar and coffee shop overlooking the pool area and beach. Bedroom was large with a sun terrace looking out to the side of the hotel, but did have a view of the beach. Good amenities in the room, but if you want access to the fridge and mini bar you have to get a separate key from reception.
Stayed on a b&b basis, and the breakfast was amazing, with a wide choice to suit all tastes. There is a sports bar attached to the hotel which offers Mexican cuisine as long as regular choices all at a good price during the evening.
There is a spa/garage shop across the road for any supplies you may need, and the bus stops just outside the hotel taking you to the town with shopping mall and lovely waterside cafes and restaurants.
The beach is stunning with beautiful clear blue water, and you can walk for miles. It is quite a built up area with many hotels along the beach.
I would love to visit this hotel again, it was very relaxing and comfortable, and perfect for a beach style holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and beach rather than at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    768
    182
    82
    35
See reviews for
704
819
106
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 after getting a room on Priceline for $69 a night.

At $69, this is an astonishing deal – especially since I was upgraded to an oceanfront room that even had a large balcony. All in all, this is what you would expect from a Marriott. It’s a reasonably clean hotel. For what I paid, it was an excellent value. At the published rate, you can do better in Cancun.

My king-size bedroom was reasonably clean, though there was body hair on the sheets and in the sink basin when I checked in. The hotel didn't offer me a voucher for drinks or dinner, but did send a housekeeping crew up to immediately re-clean the room. The first night I stayed, I didn’t get an evening turndown service, but I did receive it on two of my other three nights. The toiletries were all re-stocked each day as well. The room itself was relatively large and quiet, which made relaxing very easy. Internet isn’t complimentary and is quite expensive. Unlike other hotels, complimentary bottled water isn’t provided either. I did, however, receive two bathrobes, though no slippers were provided.

Service was standard Marriott. I was warmly greeted by hotel staff when I walked by them. The only aspect where service was poor was the beach. In five days of using the beach, I was only asked once (on day four) if I wanted a drink or meal from the beach/pool bar and restaurant. I saw other guests also struggle to be waited upon. The pool area is very nice as is the beach. My only complaint is the hotel could groom the beach each night and remove trash and other debris, as walking on cigarettes is quite disgusting. It would also be nice to have more tables to accompany the beach chairs. While there are plenty of chairs, finding an available table was a rarity.

The hotel’s location is also superb. It’s a quick bus ride to Cancun’s entertainment district, where all the nightclubs are located. The bus costs US$1. This is the best way to get around the very safe Hotel Zone.

If money is an issue, skip the food and drinks at the hotel, which as if with other hotels, is very expensive and nothing to write home about. Instead, take the 20-minute bus ride to Wal-Mart (bus R-2) or visit one of the mini-supermarkets in the Hotel Zone to stock up on essentials.

Overall, the hotel lives up to Marriott’s brand. It offers an average experience that can be excellent at the right price (I wouldn't pay more than $125-$135 a night).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days thinking to enjoy the Mexican flavours rather than all inclusive. Big mistake. Food was expensive and not that good. When inquired about all inclusive add on we were told too late. Too bad!

At checking in, upgrade was suggested to an ocean view room and at first we declined. Then found we had a nice clean room overlooking the grass and little sunlight! We asked to change for upgrade, quoted a price and was clear and then they charged us more! When questioned prior to check out person gave us attitude and was of no interest in helping us! I would not book here again

Room Tip: If booking on Expedia make sure it is not a cheap room sell off
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel next door to the JW Marriott around the middle of the hotel strip. The rooms are smallish but nicely appointed, service is outstanding, hotel is very elegant and well kept, the food and drinks are excellent, the swimming pool, swim up bar. and heated spa are fantastic, the beach is large and beautiful. Almost perfection.

The only minuses are: the hotel should do a better job at cleaning the beach. This is very important, and the reason why I did not rate it higher. Other lesser hotels can do it, why can't you?. Secondly, the hotel does not recognize any significant benefits for premier Marriott Rewards members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cancun Marriott CasaMagna for 8 nights while attending a medical conference. The staff was friendly, accommodating and made us always feel like honored guests. On registering, we spend anoth $80/night and upgraded to an ocean-view suite (large room with sleeping area, didn't have a separate bedroom) and were happy having such a large space.. We also asked for the minibar to be emptied, and paid $5/day to use it as a personal fridge. Although small, it was adequate for our needs. The suite has a wet bar and a large, adjacent closet with enough room to store many suitcases and purchases. The room is large, the bathroom is big, two sinks, with a separate toilet "room". There's a combination safe, another large closet, and a large balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. You can watch the frigate birds all day, as well as the pelicans fishing.The bed and bedding were just incredible - very high quality indeed. There is twice a day maid service. (Be sure to tip the maids and the other help, since this is their main source of income.) Change your money at the hotel and not at the airport. The airport rate was 10.5 pesos/dollar and the hotel gave 12.3.
If I had one negative comment, it would be that, although the room was nicely appointed, the walls, trim, etc. need refurbishing. While the hotel entrance and public rooms are incredible, the suite we got seemed a throwback to the '80's. It had been painted many times, and the baseboards, etc. chipped and stained.The tub in the bathroom was very, very small and uncomfortable to use. This aside, CasaMagna is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very beautiful hotel set amongst amazing scenery. The water was so blue/green and the rooms very clean, very lovely.... views from the balcony wonderful. The bathroom was clean and lots of room. Everyone was very nice but the food at the hotel and the drinks are quite expensive. I would go across to the gas station to purchase beer/wine/drinks etc. and perhaps eat at other restaurants in the area. The pool area was large with lots of room. They have lots of beach chairs and the beach is wonderful. You can walk for miles!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful views. Sea is so blue and clear, lovely to walk up and down the beach as the hotel is situated right on the beach front. Staff very helpful and friendly, nice and clean hotel. Wonderful breakfast buffet in the mornings!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, as it is truly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.