We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I know how chain hotels can be very cookie cutter sometimes, but this Marriott is really beautifully done. The lobby is huge and well appointed. The rooms are also great with a beautiful view of the ocean. The private beach is perfect and never crowded in the 3 days we were there, and the pool was also quite nice.

The hotel was able to check us in earlier and gave us an upgrade in the process, but the staff overall was just very nice and very competent. Good concierge. Also, you can just walk over to the JW Marriott next door if you want to try more food options, the hotels are connected. Best part: its not in the middle of tacky bars and tourist shops etc. so walking around is pleasant. That said, its close enough to the malls etc. so you do have options...just not as soon as you step out of the hotel. Also who goes to Mexico and goes to a mall?!

Room Tip: Spring for the room with ocean view. The $20 is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    695
    173
    75
    29
See reviews for
624
741
99
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Reading, MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have bed a guest at the Casa Magna 4 times and have never beed disappointed. It is elegant but not pretentious or stuffy. The rooms are large and well equipped.

The buffet breakfast is to die for. The breakfast will keep you fortified until dinner

Beautiful views of ocean or gardens or lagoon.

I cannot wait to return

Room Tip: All the views are lovely but ocean view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Great food and awesome people! Must travel south to Tulum to experience culture. Very beautiful beach. Hotel is grand and magnificent. Love the restaurant right outside of hotel. Chef is the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently travelled in Jan 2013 as a couple. We loved the resort, my boyfriend who is very picky about food, service, rooms etc couldnt say enough good things about this place. We decided to choose the "escape inclusive" aka all-inclusive and thought it was well worth it. I advise you to consider doing this option as all meals, buffet for breakfast and sit down lunch and dinner also room service was included as well as all drinks including tequilla and other liqours. It averaged about 100 dollars extra per person but when you add up breakfast (25 dollars) drinks 10-15 dollars each and dinner at least 100-150 per couple it was worth it. Plus we had some meals sent to the room and ate on our patio which was wonderful. All tips are included, it even states on the bill, just make sure you get a bill each time you sign as we forgot once and they chased us down haha. People are great. Huge, clean, accomodating resort. We had a problem with our room type fault by the travel compancy not them, and they upgraded us in compensation for our inconvience. Other hotels near by didnt look nearly as nice, next door at JW marriot looked ok, Hard Rock looked nice. The other side oasis and beyond looked like a spring breaker party area. Marriot and other side toward JW marriot more quiet and mature crowd. Excursions are expensive here and are limited, try to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wow, that is the noise you make when you first enter this hotel. I think you will struggle to match the public areas of this hotel anywhere else in the World. The foyer has huge height ceilings and marble everywhere.
I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and it has matched my expectations and beyond every time. The rooms have always had fantastic views down the beach, been extremely clean and the staff have always been very friendly.
It also worth making a point about the fabulous breakfasts at this place, tremendous, sushi, tortillas, burritos, egg station, bacon, pancakes, sausages, pastries, fresh juice, fruit etc etc. You name it and it is probably in the Breakfast Buffet. I love Dim Sum and they have Dim Sun :-)

My only gripe with this hotel would be that the lifts are so slow and the wifi occasionally dropped for a few hours on my visit. All rooms also lack coffee making facilities and this may be because this is sold downstairs in the lobby.

Overall though a great location along the beach strip and a truly breathtaking hotel. This is no shrinking violet, this place is full on luxury in the public areas. The rooms have great views and are really nice but aren't quite at the 5 star standard the rest of this hotel promises.

When I return to Cancun I will be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Casamagna at the end of Jan/beginning of Feb. Our only complaint was the weather, but we hardly think that is Marriott's fault. :) I had stayed there years ago and it has held up well. We liked the pool and got an upgrade to an oceanfront suite for $50, which was great! We didn't eat at the hotel once because we have some favorites in and around town. Fred's across the street is awesome, but pricey. Also, for our money, any of the taco stands and in particular, the Surfin Buritto, are the perfect meal when in Cancun. Also, if you find the drinks too pricey, the 7-11 across the street sells foam coolers for $5 and 6 packs of beer for about the same. You can drink all day for less than $10 apiece. The staff here is really nice and helpful as well. Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are affordable - but ask which floor they are putting you on first. Higher is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful. The common areas have large ceilings, chandeliers and marble. The rooms themselves are a bit outdated, i.e. furniture, old tile, etc, however the view and location is very beautiful you don't want to spend any time in your room!

The service is top notch! No complaints. Even at the pool, the service was very quick and the staff was very friendly! I was very impressed. The ocean/beach is beautiful and clean. The property is also very clean and well-maintained.

The restaurants and room service are also excellent. There are many different choices of restaurants: Tai food, sushi/asian, american sports bar and steak house. All of the food was very good but pretty expensive. There is definitely something for everyone here!

The spa was very nice, however the massage was a bit on the light side. I have definitely had better but nonetheless it was relaxing.

Room Tip: Ocean front! The only bad part was the room was a tad noisy due to the air conditioning going on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.