We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Thedford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband (then boyfriend) and I stayed here in 2009 (sorry for the tardy review) and thought this resort was fantastic. It was immaculate, rooms were very clean and like new. The beds and bedding are like heaven on earth...truly the most comfortable I have had staying in a resort...
CasaMagna had just started offering all-inclusive at the time, and even so, there very few kinks they needed to work out.
We found the food excellent at all the restaurants, and the atmosphere was perfect for couples.
The beach was amazing; you could walk forever.
The only downfall was the weather! We saw the sun twice while we were there...and it was cold. AND it rained ALOT.... we found out that when we were there, was the worst week to go...3rd week in January.
One day that it didn't rain, we went to Chichiniza (spelling?), and was the highlight of the whole trip... It was absolutely mindblowing. We had an excellent guide...if we were to go back, we would certainly go again....it is One of the 7 Wonders of the World!!! A MUST SEE....but you need a good guide to get the whole picture. :)

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    693
    173
    73
    29
See reviews for
622
739
96
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent an extended weekend at the Casa Magna over the MLK holiday, and was not disappointed at the great value I received for my money. I was in a premium room, which is still a relative bargain for the view, to be honest. The room was typical of a nicer Marriott: comfortable bedding, fresh/bright colors, a good-sized bath, and all you'd expect in a room at a hotel like this (good TV/cable, minibar, that sort of thing). It was clean and well-kept.

The resort restaurants were really very good. I particularly liked the sushi restaurant, as well as Le Capilla, both of which had many vegetarian options for me. Not so, however, at the poolside and beachside bars, nor at the sports bar, which was a disappointment. I also ate at the two main restaurants at the adjoining JW Marriott, which were good as well. The service in Gustino and the aforementioned Le Capilla was particularly good, but generally good in all the restaurants. Room service was not quite as reliable, and I'd recommend against it based on my experience.

The facilities are great! The pool is lovely, the beach great, and the spa was very nice too. Plenty of lounge chairs for everyone, though get there early if you want a beach front umbrella area. The atmosphere was very lively - lots of people enjoying the bars in the evenings, poolside/beachside parties on weekend nights. I can tell you the JW Marriott next door was very different - sedate and quiet. You'd almost not know anyone was staying there.

It's not cheap, compared to some of the all-inclusive options, but this is a quality vacation - better food, drinks that aren't watered down, more variety. I've done inclusive trips, and the food and drink left much to be desired. Not so here. But you will pay for it.

I was there for a solo break from the world. Not a lot of other solo travelers, but I didn't feel conspicuous.

Would I go back? Definitely. In fact, I'm already thinking about a return trip at Thanksgiving in November!

Room Tip: Ocean view can mean a partial view. If you want a straight-on view, you are going to want a beach/p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great hotel "Above Average" compared to most in Cancun. The rooms are spacious and overlook the ocean with a large balcony. The place is very clean and secure. They have an American themed sports bar in front called Champs had has all the collage and pro sports channels from America in high definition. The food is typical American food (we live in Colombia so that's why we eat at American restaurants when visiting other countries) most of which is fried. They have the usual selection of 4 beers in pony kegs that most places have these days in Mexico tourist areas. The beach is very beautiful and likewise the pool.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Casamagna is a great hotel. Very friendly staff always smiling with their "Buenos dias/tardes/noches!".
The hotel is super clean! Amazing beach, pool and hot tube.
Drawbacks - poor WiFi coverage around the pool and beach. For $15/day it should be far better. All of the restaurants, bars and store are a bit pricy.
I would definitely come back but probably would consider AI option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Marriott is a well-kept hotel, but nothing special. No special service or food offered. The beach area is lovely, the lobby spacious, but the rooms are average. Everything is clean and well cared for, but the things I take for granted (newspaper at the door, coffee-maker in the room) were missing. We arrived at noon, before check-in, and were told that our room wouldn't be available for several hours but that we could upgrade to an ocean view for $30 a night. We chose not to, and we had to wait for our room. When we got to our room, we observed that many of the surrounding rooms were unoccupied and ready, so I think we could have been given an equivalent room at noon but were "punished" for not upgrading. Prices were higher than New York prices---at the restaurants, at the shops, etc. I wouldn't choose to stay here again, but it was a last minute stay for only 4 nights that was convenient to book.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate your review. We do our best to accommodate our guests before the 4PM check-in time, but sometimes this might not be possible. The upgrades offered at the Front Desk are very good options that many of our guests enjoy, but it is always up to our guests if they choose to upgrade their room and we are committed to make their experience memorable to them all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

No surprises here -- exactly what we expected, and that's what you want in a vacation. This is a terrific hotel. The rooms are wonderful, the food is great (especially the breakfast buffet at La Capilla, which came with our package), the service is impeccable, the pool and beach are perfect for Cancun. The CasaMagna is just the right size so it's never too crowded and that you can get whatever you want when you want it and with no stress. It was our first time here, but we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Worth a few extra bucks to get a premium ocean view room. Our had a direct (not angled) view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed here previously, and this stay is no exception - great location, great rooms, and efficient staff. The situation on the beach is outstanding, and all the friendly staff work so hard at making sure your stay is an enjoyable experience. On this occasion, unlucky with the weather, but still nice to see the ocean from the comfort of a well kept room. I feel the only slight let down is the Champions sports bar attached to the hotel - it really feels a bit soul less , a bit like a Formica staff canteen, and could do with being a bit warmer and cosier, but you are located right on the strip, so many decent food and drink options are around. I personally love the breakfast selections, eclectic mix of local fayre, sushi, and the usual obligatory stuff. Also had a bit of a wifi problem which couldn't seem to be resolved, but on the whole, will be back !

Room Tip: Most rooms, even the side facing ones, offer great beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.