We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Years Week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was ok, dated though and in need of updating. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Room was nice - ocean view overlooking the pool and the ocean. We were upgraded apparently, although I had booked two ocean view rooms (?) Beds were quite comfortable. Bathroom ok, functional but outdated. Safe in room is always welcome. Was not given a key to min-bar but probably just as well. As others have mentioned, food and drinks are expensive here. Great location. Could not swim at the beach in front of the hotel. Seems as though all the lifeguards pile everyone onto the sand bar to make it easier to keep an eye on the swimmers. Waves were quite rough most days of our trip and the cross current would make it difficult for families with small children to enjoy time in the water. Mikado restaurant at the hotel was not very good. Champions was really good - staff friendly and the one place you could watch bowl games or NBA games. Pool is needing an update as well. Beach lounge chairs are definitely in need of replacement. Not very comfortable, many broken. Gives the hotels beach and pool area a run down appearance. If the price if right though I would stay here again because the rooms were clean and comfortable and location was quite good. If JW price difference isn't that much and you don't need more than one room, recommend splurging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are glad to share that our lounge chairs are in the process of being replaced. We have shared your comments with our Maintenance Manager who is already making sure that our pool continues to be one of our guests’ favorite areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    690
    172
    73
    29
See reviews for
620
735
95
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here from Dec 24-Dec 31.
I e-mailed the hotel and they set us up with Prestige Transportation. It was about the same price $15/person as the others on the internet but can be charged to your room and goes straight to the hotel.

Pros:
The room was great and so was the room service. The ocean view with balcony are beautiful! They immediately clean your room and come twice a day. The pool area and the beach area are great. They provide beach towels which is a bonus. Proximity to bus, aqua world.
This property is joined to JW Marriott which gave you more restaurants and areas to hang out.


The cons:
I had read reviews about how expensive the food was. Yes we also had sticker shock. The food costed more than New York prices.

Champions - American most affordable
Mikado - Your average hibachi/sushi restaurant
Sasi Thai - Great outdoor restaurant. Pricey $$$. The food was average
La Capilla - Had buffet breakfast 280 pesos/person ($23dollars). Expensive for everyday but if you get a package with breakfast take it! It's worth a little extra and you won't have to eat lunch.

What to do:
The bus stop is right on the street. 8 pesos. R1 - downtown; R2 - Mercado 28. Was so much fun. Take it. If we had never left the resort, we wouldn't have realized how much stuff there is to do.

La isla shopping center - Super nice outdoor mall, plenty of restaurants
Coral Negro - Souvenir shopping center
Cancun Downtown - Confusing to navigate. We ate at Labne - fantastic experience.
Mercado 28 - Be prepared to be overwhelmed by the selling! Market with all the souveniers and be prepared to bargain.

Tours:
We did the express Chichen Itza tour. Well worth it! There are plenty of tours available through the agency on site and aqua world (by pool). Ranging from $40-$200

All in all, a great experience, can't wait to go back and stay there.

Room Tip: Stay on 5th or 6th floor Premium Rewards members get free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice hotel design and atmosphere and the price for the room was reasonable. If you plan on drinking or eating, go buy your own food and beverages though, the price of any extras is VERY expensive. Breakfast is $50 USD for two people. Two drinks on the beach was $23 USD. We looked at the menus in the restaurants and didn't even bother going because it would have cost a small fortune to even have an appetizer. Also, the internet cost was $15 USD per day, instead we went to Starbucks at the Isle shopping mall and got it for $2 for the hour that we needed it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice Hotel, good location, awesome restaurantes walking distance (CRAB HOUSE AND PUERTO MADERA THE BEST!!! across street from the Hotel) SASI Tai , great, Champion, fun! (at the Hotel) pricey at this time of the year (we got here on Dec 23rd and we r leaving today, Dec 31st). Great beach, no umbrellas though - you need to go early to the beach to save a shade . the hotel doesnt provide umbrellas. We got what was suppose to be the "greatest" room with a great view to the beach and the pool, but it was very small. (my husband is platinum Elite Marriott rewards.But we had a great time. The service at the hotel and at all the restaurants around here are awesome, friendly, happy! Muchas gracias Cancun!

Room Tip: If you are Marriotts Platinum eleite or Elite Status, book the cheappest room and you will be upgrat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay in early December for 5 nights. It's a great time of year to go-very quiet, reasonable prices, no need for restaurant reservations or reserving pool/beach chairs at 7am. Upon check in, Raul at front desk offered us an upgrade to a better room-I said no, then my husband talked me into it. As a platinum member, we were going to get upgraded to an ocean front room anyway, but for $59 extra per night we got the best room in the whole hotel-Room 3022. It was a corner suite with a HUGE wrap around balcony-facing the ocean and the pool, separate living room. Worth every penny. They sent up a mini fridge to us for no charge, since the fridge in the room is filled with minibar items. Mentioned we were there for our anniversary and they sent up a bottle of champagne and we came back to our room after dinner the first night to rose petals scattered around our room and bed, including a bubble bath.

Internet was very spotty by pool, which was somewhat of a bummer, but minor overall. Happy hour in lobby bar, but not at swim up bar-2 for 1 drinks from 4-6pm. Pool area was very relaxing, but got a little boring for us at times-personal choice. No worries, we just would get up and walk the beach to entertain ourselves. Two doors down is the new Hard Rock Hotel(next to JW)-definitely had more guests there and more energetic atmosphere. At times, we were jealous of it when we walked by on the beach, but it just depends on what kind of stay you are looking for. We still loved the Marriott. Ocean water was rough during our stay so did not swim in ocean except during our snorkle excurion-took jungle tour. It was fun to drive our own boats, but snorkling was poor compared to other places in Caribbean we have visited.

Opt for a package at hotel that includes breakfast, because it would be $24 per person otherwise. We had a large breakfast each day, so we usually skipped lunch and instead shared an app by the pool in the afternoon. Drink and food service on the beach as well. Plenty of palapas. Small, but nice clean gym. Italian restaurant next door at JW was AMAZING! Also ate at sushi restaurant at Marriott-it was okay. Only had a few rolls, which were good, but way way too spicy-could not eat one of them. Even my husband who is obsessed with hot sauce thought it was too spicy. Entire hotel staff went above and beyond. Went across the street for sunset on lagoon side-beautiful!

Recommend going across the street to pick up some snacks and drinks-several places to choose from for booze, food, etc. Also a few restaurants - only had apps, so can't speak to how good they are, but were fine for our needs.

Bus picks up in front of hotel-took to shopping area one day-very easy, safe and cheap. Always had taxis waiting for you at hotel too. Arranged pick up at airport prior to arrival-direct drop off at hotel, no other stops and charged it to our room. Took taxi back to airport when we left.

Would highly recommend this hotel to couples, families, but not for those looking for crazy Cancun spring break experience. If you can, try to get room 3022-it was worth the extra $ and truly made our stay memorable. We loved spending time on the balcony in the late day, getting the last of the sun after the pool area was shady, having our own happy hour-perfection!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel has a perfect set up for beach and pool, we would go out early in the morning and get a free cabana to spend time in the sand all morning: blue blue water, white sand. There is food and drink service which was wonderful, and then we had lunch in the beachside restaurant. Food was good, I tried a different meal every day and had a great selection. Tropical drinks just taste better in Cancun! Pool and hot tub were nice, and had a swim up bar. Free beach towels.
Spa was only ok. The massage was amazing, but things didn't seem very well run, stocked or set up for pampering.
Lobby is so nice, the Christmas decorations made us feel at home and in the holiday spirit. Lots of couches and chairs for quiet times.
We ate at the Champions, breakfast buffet, and had room service, just ok.
Rooms were older, redone. Very clean and nice. Our bathroom had a seperate room for toilet and the bath was in its own alcove. You could have 3 people using it at once which was nice.
We went across the street to get groceries, drug store items, and fast food. Bus is amazing, easy to use. Internet worked great.
Cons----So expensive!! No free breakfast, only 2 cups of coffee free a day, I brought my own coffee maker and booze.

Room Tip: We liked the 4th floor on the south side overlooking the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very Nice Hotel , with wonderful beach , pool and very good caring staff . But the downside is they charge so much for Internet 20 dollors per day ..and the upgrade cost is too much. For the Price you pay you expect they give atleast the internet free but its not .. If they code they provide didnt work they expect you to buy one more code (for single user ) $20 . Be prepared if you are planning to go online from the hotel .
Restaurants inside the hotel are good but very expensive . There are no night activities in the beach and is very quiet in the night . This hotel is good for senior and family not much for the couples ..ready to pay for every service you use ..

Room Tip: compare all the hotels at the range and check the amenities ..at the end of day name doesnt matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.