We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott in Cancun.......very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Save Saved
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #25 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Marriott in Cancun.......very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, heated huge pool. Large deck area, great beach, numerous grass hut shelters with lounge chairs on the beach. Lifeguard on duty in front of beach. Great restaurants across the street. Taxi cab station, plus bus stop adjacent to hotel. Good pool bar, food, and great restaurants at hotel. Just out front door is Champions Bar. Good sized with numerous TVs. Rooms are marble floor, very clean, 2 doubles, or king sized. Didn't see oceanfront. Most rooms either have a view towards beach, and or beach plus pool! Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pesos. $$$ exchange from Dollars, Canadien etc done at front desk. Good rate, passport req for purc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,105
    607
    147
    61
    25
See reviews for
542
639
75
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we were a little concerned because the outside of this hotel looked very dated and unattractive. However, the minute we walked through the doors, all of our concerns were eliminated. This hotel is gorgeous inside with a very grand "Mexican/South American" decor. We booked the AAA rate for an Ocean View room with Breakfast but we were offered an upgrade to a suite during the check in process for an additional $30. We have no idea what our original room would have looked like or, where it would have been located but, the suite was ocean "front" with a small living room, bedroom, foyer and, large deck. The bathroom was the only small draw back as it was really tiny but, it had a really nice shower.

We had lunch at the Champion Bar which was really good (better than the states), dinner at the Thai restaurant (food was FANTASTIC) and, breakfast in the Argentina Restaurant (can't remember what they call it for breakfast). Breakfast was also very good with lots of options including an omelet bar.

I read one review where the guy said he was able to obtain a Prestige transfer to hotel for only $14 each way. I called the hotel to see if they had shuttle service but was told no and, no mention of the Prestige option. We paid $40 for a Taxi! My only recommendation for this Hotel is to include this information on their web site or, be more explicit.

The location of hotel is central to shopping within about a 15 minute walk.

We only stayed one night as we had a week booked at an all inclusive resort but we would definitely go back to this hotel and, highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I can't remember our room number but, we were on the fifth floor, ocean front with views of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I work for Marriott so I am partial to Marriott products but I also and VERY critical because I am a hotel manager.

The Marriott Casamagna was great! Everyone from check-in to check-out was very friendly and nice. We were on the first floor with a room that had a walk out to a back green patio area and the main door faced the pool. This was perfect for our group of 10 friends. It was nice to be close to the pool (but we had not problems with noise levels). At first we were sad we did not get a ocean view room but soon realize we preferred our location overview.The rooms were clean and looked like what they do on the hotel's website. We dined at a few places on-site as well as off-site. Champs has a great brunch about $22 USD (tons of fruit, hot items and made to order omelets). Sasi the Thai place did not disappoint as well as the bar right along the beach. The volleyball court was our favorite and where we spent most of our time. Just ask the pool desk for the ball and enjoy. All in all we had a great time and look forward to returning

For a money saving tips: go across the street to the gas station for cheap alcohol. On the other side of the McDonalds there is another gas station, this one has more of a selection than the first smaller one. Buy your water off-site too. The gift shop is of course very expensive but you can get 2 large liter bottles of water for $2 USD at the second gas station. Also the lobby bar has happy hour from 4-6pm (two for one drinks) and 10-12pm (25% off drinks).

Room Tip: First floor pool view rooms are great if you are at the hotel primarily for the beach. They are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is our favorite. We are not overly fancy people ( just a little fancy!) and this property suites the bill. We have been 7 times this year alone. It is a little bit of an older property, but beautiful none the less. The rates are always reasonable and if you dig around, you can always find a package deal that makes it better. It is located right on the hotel zone strip, but a little bit outside the "shenanigans zone". I call this "grown up Cancun". The attached JW Marriott is a step up if you are looking for a more Posh resort and the adjacent Ritz Carlton takes that a notch farther. For us, the Casa Magna is just perfect. Here is a tip! The rooms on the 1st and 3rd floor have bigger balconies! The properties restaurants (out side the very predictable Champions sports bar) are all very good. The Thai place is my personal favorite. It is outside and situated for a great sunset dinner. The staff treats you well and the spa is fantastic too. Splurge and go for a couples massage on the beach! (Nice!!) Most defiantly book a rate that includes breakfast. That is an event in it;s self! Trust me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st and third floor have much bigger balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Magna from November 26-December 1. We got an AAA rate which included breakfast, and we couldn't have been happier. We used the Prestige transfer that the hotel offered for 14 dollars per person each way charged to our room. We were disappointed that we had to wait 30 minutes for the van when they had all our flight information. The bellman made sure that they were on time when we went back to the airport on the first. We were given an option to upgrade to a suite upon arrival, and we were tempted to take it. However, we were given a Marriott Platinum upgrade to a Premium Ocean View Room. We loved it! We were on the fifth floor, and the sound of the waves breaking on the beach made it hard not to doze off in the room. We loved waking up and then dozing to the waves in the morning. The room was large enough to have a table and two chairs, a love seat, king sized bed, plasma TV. The balcony had a table and two chairs for us to sit out on in the morning to read our paper and drink coffee (two complimentary coffees per day and newspaper for Platinum members). Breakfast was over at Champions Restaurant since LaCapella was closed the week we were there, but they had it set up very nicely. The food was sumptuous and very tasty. We loved the variety, trying different food items each day. Sergio, our waiter each day greeted us by name and was the perfect host for us, looking after all our needs...he also makes an awesome hot chocolate! He really helped enhance our dining there.
The bus stops right outside the hotel, and it costs 8.50 pesos, and it is really easy to use. Just put your hand out and the bus will stop for you. We asked the concierge how we would know if it was the right bus...he said if it stops, it's the right bus...if it keeps going, then it isn't! Very simple.
A couple of notes...There is a nice sized safe in the room free of charge. There is no coffee making machine in the room; however, we got the complimentary coffee each day, and we requested and received a microwave in the room. The mini refrigerator bar was a bit crowded, but we'd walk across the street and buy some beers, cool them down with ice (machines located on each floor), and stick the rest in the refrigerator. The pool and beach were both uncrowded. You don't have to go down at 7:00 A.M. to get a lounger! Both the sea and pool water were comfortably warm. The hotel lobby is fantastic. It has chandeliers and spectacular views to the sea. They set up a gingerbread display for Christmas along with a huge tree...all sorts of little details, that make this a cut above the rest.
We found all of the Marriott Casa Magna employees to be helpful and courteous. We loved their service here. They were so friendly. Marriott should be proud of their employees at this location. I've stayed 75 nights at a Marriott this year all over the world, and this is one of my top locales, and I'll definitely come back. Good job Casa Magna Marriott!

Room Tip: Get a premium ocean view room (our room was #5090 and it was perfect), and sleep with the balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let me start by admitting this will as much a review of Cancun as it is the Casa Magna.

We just returned from a week long vacation at the Casa Magna. This was our first time in Cancun/Mexico. Casa Magna is a wonderful hotel. The restaurants, workers, location on the strip/beach, pool, rooms, atmosphere are all relaxing and spectacular.

To get from the airport to the hotel, do yourself a favor and set up a reservation with the hotel for their shuttle. It costs $14 USD per person per trip but is worth it and less then most 3rd party shuttle companies.

When in Cancun, do not be intimidated by the public bus to go up and down the strip. It is the easiest public transportation I have ever used. You flag them down, pay 17 pesos/person and push the stop button when you want to be dropped off. Cheap, easy and quick!

The beach at Casa Magna is spectacular. It is clean and the water is perfect. The hotel has a number of beach loungers and tiki umbrellas. You do not need to wake up at 6AM to "claim" a seat as there are always extras even mid afternoon. The pool is also spectacular with loungers and a swim up bar. They play trendy music all day and have the friendliest staff waiting hand and foot. The hotel also has a towel shack and allow you unlimited beach towels.

After settling in, you'll wonder where to eat in Cancun. Let me help you. The strip is littered with American chain restaurants but are more costly and half the quality as they are in the States. Be aware! Next you will hear about Carlos N' Charlies, Coco Bongos, Senor Froggs. Again be aware as they are very expensive and the food quality is terrible. We spent nearly $80 USD at Carlos N Charlies. This consisted of an entree, salad and 2 drinks. The food was so bad, we paid, left and ate somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and eat at resorts for the same prices. Do not miss Sasi Thai at the Marriott! Best Thai I have ever had.

Try to book your room with breakfast included as it is expensive for the buffet ($24 USD/person). You get what you pay for with the best brunch spread you have ever seen. You can also opt for cheaper option (yogurt parfaits, egg sandwiches, bagels, coffee) at the gift shop. There is also a McDonald's across the street from the hotel.

There is a Seven11 across the street as well. There you can buy beer, water, liquor, snacks and other small things for much less than you can at the hotel.

Do yourself another favor and stay clear of Aqua World's trip to Isle Mujeres. What a waste of time and money. They take you snorkeling in the middle of the ocean where the water isn't clear, there are no fish, and the waves crash over you into your snorkel. Not sure about anything else they offer because of our disappointment with the island trip.

The hotel rooms are spectacular. They have a traditional Mexican vibe with modern finishes. The beds are to die for. The bathrooms are very clean and modern. The balconies offer perfect views. The thermostat is spot on. The maids are personal and on the money.

There are two things that set this hotel apart from the rest. First is the water. You do not have to worry about showering with your mouth closed or brush your teeth with bottled water as the entire water system is filtered. Even the ice machines are filtered! Second is the security at the hotel. There is a security booth and attendant. You feel safe the hotel.

Little things to keep in mind on your vacation. If you use your credit card for payments, always know what currency they are charging you before you sign. Buy water/snacks from the Seven 11 across the street for beach/pool days. Ask for no ice at restaurants away from the resort. Buy extra sun lotion before going to Cancun. There is a lotion monopoly on the strip. You will pay between $25USD-$45USD anywhere on the strip for lotion. Buy what you think you'll need at home, then buy 1 extra bottle (when will it go to waste right?). Be prepared for people to try to sell you things. Coco Bongos, Carlos n' Charlie's, Senor Froggs, etc all have guys going around with cameras and charge for your picture, they all have girls coming around trying to give shots (why would you pay for shots when it's all inclusive to get in to these places and you have unlimited bottle service?).

Ok so to recap...The resort is amazing. Comfort, safety, food, staff are all the best in Cancun. Off the resort has its pros and cons but do not be afraid to venture (even to downtown Cancun).

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time. Very pleasant staff. Our ocean view room was breathtaking. The $50 resort daily credit came in handy. We enjoyed Champion and the dinner at Sasi Thai was delicious.

We would definitely recommend this resort and return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott
Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.