We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Save Saved
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I work for Marriott so I am partial to Marriott products but I also and VERY critical because I am a hotel manager.

The Marriott Casamagna was great! Everyone from check-in to check-out was very friendly and nice. We were on the first floor with a room that had a walk out to a back green patio area and the main door faced the pool. This was perfect for our group of 10 friends. It was nice to be close to the pool (but we had not problems with noise levels). At first we were sad we did not get a ocean view room but soon realize we preferred our location overview.The rooms were clean and looked like what they do on the hotel's website. We dined at a few places on-site as well as off-site. Champs has a great brunch about $22 USD (tons of fruit, hot items and made to order omelets). Sasi the Thai place did not disappoint as well as the bar right along the beach. The volleyball court was our favorite and where we spent most of our time. Just ask the pool desk for the ball and enjoy. All in all we had a great time and look forward to returning

For a money saving tips: go across the street to the gas station for cheap alcohol. On the other side of the McDonalds there is another gas station, this one has more of a selection than the first smaller one. Buy your water off-site too. The gift shop is of course very expensive but you can get 2 large liter bottles of water for $2 USD at the second gas station. Also the lobby bar has happy hour from 4-6pm (two for one drinks) and 10-12pm (25% off drinks).

Room Tip: First floor pool view rooms are great if you are at the hotel primarily for the beach. They are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    655
    161
    71
    27
See reviews for
601
697
90
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is our favorite. We are not overly fancy people ( just a little fancy!) and this property suites the bill. We have been 7 times this year alone. It is a little bit of an older property, but beautiful none the less. The rates are always reasonable and if you dig around, you can always find a package deal that makes it better. It is located right on the hotel zone strip, but a little bit outside the "shenanigans zone". I call this "grown up Cancun". The attached JW Marriott is a step up if you are looking for a more Posh resort and the adjacent Ritz Carlton takes that a notch farther. For us, the Casa Magna is just perfect. Here is a tip! The rooms on the 1st and 3rd floor have bigger balconies! The properties restaurants (out side the very predictable Champions sports bar) are all very good. The Thai place is my personal favorite. It is outside and situated for a great sunset dinner. The staff treats you well and the spa is fantastic too. Splurge and go for a couples massage on the beach! (Nice!!) Most defiantly book a rate that includes breakfast. That is an event in it;s self! Trust me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st and third floor have much bigger balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Magna from November 26-December 1. We got an AAA rate which included breakfast, and we couldn't have been happier. We used the Prestige transfer that the hotel offered for 14 dollars per person each way charged to our room. We were disappointed that we had to wait 30 minutes for the van when they had all our flight information. The bellman made sure that they were on time when we went back to the airport on the first. We were given an option to upgrade to a suite upon arrival, and we were tempted to take it. However, we were given a Marriott Platinum upgrade to a Premium Ocean View Room. We loved it! We were on the fifth floor, and the sound of the waves breaking on the beach made it hard not to doze off in the room. We loved waking up and then dozing to the waves in the morning. The room was large enough to have a table and two chairs, a love seat, king sized bed, plasma TV. The balcony had a table and two chairs for us to sit out on in the morning to read our paper and drink coffee (two complimentary coffees per day and newspaper for Platinum members). Breakfast was over at Champions Restaurant since LaCapella was closed the week we were there, but they had it set up very nicely. The food was sumptuous and very tasty. We loved the variety, trying different food items each day. Sergio, our waiter each day greeted us by name and was the perfect host for us, looking after all our needs...he also makes an awesome hot chocolate! He really helped enhance our dining there.
The bus stops right outside the hotel, and it costs 8.50 pesos, and it is really easy to use. Just put your hand out and the bus will stop for you. We asked the concierge how we would know if it was the right bus...he said if it stops, it's the right bus...if it keeps going, then it isn't! Very simple.
A couple of notes...There is a nice sized safe in the room free of charge. There is no coffee making machine in the room; however, we got the complimentary coffee each day, and we requested and received a microwave in the room. The mini refrigerator bar was a bit crowded, but we'd walk across the street and buy some beers, cool them down with ice (machines located on each floor), and stick the rest in the refrigerator. The pool and beach were both uncrowded. You don't have to go down at 7:00 A.M. to get a lounger! Both the sea and pool water were comfortably warm. The hotel lobby is fantastic. It has chandeliers and spectacular views to the sea. They set up a gingerbread display for Christmas along with a huge tree...all sorts of little details, that make this a cut above the rest.
We found all of the Marriott Casa Magna employees to be helpful and courteous. We loved their service here. They were so friendly. Marriott should be proud of their employees at this location. I've stayed 75 nights at a Marriott this year all over the world, and this is one of my top locales, and I'll definitely come back. Good job Casa Magna Marriott!

Room Tip: Get a premium ocean view room (our room was #5090 and it was perfect), and sleep with the balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let me start by admitting this will as much a review of Cancun as it is the Casa Magna.

We just returned from a week long vacation at the Casa Magna. This was our first time in Cancun/Mexico. Casa Magna is a wonderful hotel. The restaurants, workers, location on the strip/beach, pool, rooms, atmosphere are all relaxing and spectacular.

To get from the airport to the hotel, do yourself a favor and set up a reservation with the hotel for their shuttle. It costs $14 USD per person per trip but is worth it and less then most 3rd party shuttle companies.

When in Cancun, do not be intimidated by the public bus to go up and down the strip. It is the easiest public transportation I have ever used. You flag them down, pay 17 pesos/person and push the stop button when you want to be dropped off. Cheap, easy and quick!

The beach at Casa Magna is spectacular. It is clean and the water is perfect. The hotel has a number of beach loungers and tiki umbrellas. You do not need to wake up at 6AM to "claim" a seat as there are always extras even mid afternoon. The pool is also spectacular with loungers and a swim up bar. They play trendy music all day and have the friendliest staff waiting hand and foot. The hotel also has a towel shack and allow you unlimited beach towels.

After settling in, you'll wonder where to eat in Cancun. Let me help you. The strip is littered with American chain restaurants but are more costly and half the quality as they are in the States. Be aware! Next you will hear about Carlos N' Charlies, Coco Bongos, Senor Froggs. Again be aware as they are very expensive and the food quality is terrible. We spent nearly $80 USD at Carlos N Charlies. This consisted of an entree, salad and 2 drinks. The food was so bad, we paid, left and ate somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and eat at resorts for the same prices. Do not miss Sasi Thai at the Marriott! Best Thai I have ever had.

Try to book your room with breakfast included as it is expensive for the buffet ($24 USD/person). You get what you pay for with the best brunch spread you have ever seen. You can also opt for cheaper option (yogurt parfaits, egg sandwiches, bagels, coffee) at the gift shop. There is also a McDonald's across the street from the hotel.

There is a Seven11 across the street as well. There you can buy beer, water, liquor, snacks and other small things for much less than you can at the hotel.

Do yourself another favor and stay clear of Aqua World's trip to Isle Mujeres. What a waste of time and money. They take you snorkeling in the middle of the ocean where the water isn't clear, there are no fish, and the waves crash over you into your snorkel. Not sure about anything else they offer because of our disappointment with the island trip.

The hotel rooms are spectacular. They have a traditional Mexican vibe with modern finishes. The beds are to die for. The bathrooms are very clean and modern. The balconies offer perfect views. The thermostat is spot on. The maids are personal and on the money.

There are two things that set this hotel apart from the rest. First is the water. You do not have to worry about showering with your mouth closed or brush your teeth with bottled water as the entire water system is filtered. Even the ice machines are filtered! Second is the security at the hotel. There is a security booth and attendant. You feel safe the hotel.

Little things to keep in mind on your vacation. If you use your credit card for payments, always know what currency they are charging you before you sign. Buy water/snacks from the Seven 11 across the street for beach/pool days. Ask for no ice at restaurants away from the resort. Buy extra sun lotion before going to Cancun. There is a lotion monopoly on the strip. You will pay between $25USD-$45USD anywhere on the strip for lotion. Buy what you think you'll need at home, then buy 1 extra bottle (when will it go to waste right?). Be prepared for people to try to sell you things. Coco Bongos, Carlos n' Charlie's, Senor Froggs, etc all have guys going around with cameras and charge for your picture, they all have girls coming around trying to give shots (why would you pay for shots when it's all inclusive to get in to these places and you have unlimited bottle service?).

Ok so to recap...The resort is amazing. Comfort, safety, food, staff are all the best in Cancun. Off the resort has its pros and cons but do not be afraid to venture (even to downtown Cancun).

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time. Very pleasant staff. Our ocean view room was breathtaking. The $50 resort daily credit came in handy. We enjoyed Champion and the dinner at Sasi Thai was delicious.

We would definitely recommend this resort and return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

this hotel was incredibly beautiful both from the interior and exterior. it was my 1st time going to cancun , i was a little skeptical of going due to the insecurity that mexico is going through . but , i couldnt have felt any safer then what i did. hotel is close to the center of cancun or better yet "party central" busses pass by every 2-5 minutes steps away from the hotel .got to say i enjoyed the warm whirlpool which is next to the main pool is open 24hrs .room was really nice and accomidating , i had an amazing view with a balcony .overall the hotel is great in a great location and mostly suited for families , wouldnt really recommend and you are traveling solo. its very quiet and relaxing indeed , just depends what are u are looking for . if you want a party chic hotel stay at the ME by Melia Cancun

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked our trip at Marriott CasaMagna for a friend’s wedding. We stayed for 5 nights from 11/21 – 11/25th.

Marriott Casa Magna Hotel is beautiful - a Spanish inspired architectural style hotel compound with sprawling hallways, marble floors that surrounds a large pool, an outdoor cafe and the garden grounds. They also have a private beach with aqua blue water that will take your breath away.

When we first arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly staff. Everyone seemed so eager to help! Our room wasn’t available when we checked-in (we arrived earlier than expected) so we ended up waiting for half an hour and grabbing some food at the outdoor restaurant.

The menu they were serving by the pool area is mainly bar food style appetizers and sandwiches. To my surprise, the hotel didn’t offer any tacos, burritos or Mexican apps which I found odd. The closest to a Mexican food was a seafood quesadilla and the two Margaritas we ordered. We also ordered a plate of fried calamari, deep fried with coconuts, which we quickly devoured after travelling for 6 hours and eating airport food. A couple of margaritas later, we were able to drop our luggage off to our room and we took a quick shower so we can meet our friends by the beach.

ROOM

Our hotel room was located on the 2nd floor on the left side of the hotel compound when you’re facing the beach. The room came with a king size bed, which was requested ahead of time. The room itself is spacious enough for a couple. It was clean with the exception of the tub, it was a little grubby. Our room came with the usual necessities you expect from a hotel. The décor doesn't really beg for a description. It reminded me of a Raymour and Flanigan showroom floor that any Grandmother would appreciate but it certainly wasn't my cup of tea. We had a garden view overlooking the garden, the wedding gazebo and the ground for JW Marriott hotel which was right next door. It’s safe to say that the view itself is nothing to write home about.

Tip: If you like a good view, ask for hotel rooms that are located on the 5th or 6th floor. No matter which side of the hotel you are in, you will have a great view of the water.

Food:

The hotel offers 4 different restaurants in the premises. They have Japanese, Argentinian and Thai which we weren't able to try and Champions, the sports bar that shouldn't be called that.

The breakfast at the hotel is above average. The breakfast spread can be bought either a l a carte or buffet style. They had a very diverse selection but it’s unfortunately hit or miss. Some food was better than others. The nachos were amazing so was the waffles with nutella and the sushi. However, it’s the complete opposite when it comes to the tacos. It was hard and overcooked. The eggs are better off ordered to be made than eating the one in the buffet section.

Champions

A wasted space that the hotel didn't know what to do with. This is a sports bar it wished it look like a sports bar. It’s an open space with numerous flat screens dedicated to every sports channel imaginable. The seating is very uncomfortable, the food mediocre and the ambiance non-existent.

Tacos across the street

There’s a taco joint right across the street from the hotel that every hotel guest should try. It’s not the easiest place to find considering they only have a small sign and they’re located under a staircase of another store. It’s only open from 9-3pm.

You can order from the small window under the staircase. You can either take your taco to go or you can enjoy it on the small alcove “dining room” next to the window. They offer deep fried shrimp or fish tacos or grilled calamari tacos. All of them were delicious as expected but we preferred the shrimp and fish.

Taco Grill at the MALL

We went here on our first night. It was decorated to look like an authentic Mexican joint in the middle of a desert but instead its inside a MALL. I was a little suspicious in beginning as to the quality of the food but I was wrong.

The tacos were great! We ordered tacos for 4 people (it’s on the menu). They brought out this huge plate which had a little bit of everything - fajitas, steak, pork, chicken, grilled onion, slices of soft tacos, salsa and 3 other sauces for those who like their tacos HOT! The downside was you had to construct your own but in end, we were completely satisfied and a little overwhelmed. Let’s put it this way, our hunt for authentic tacos subsided after our dinner that night.

Activities:

We didn't do much as far as activities are concerned. We went para-sailing the last day which we found while hanging out at the beach. They had better deals than what the hotel offered so we took it. It’s $50 USD per person to para-sail. (If you have plans to go out that night, they also had an unusual package of parasailing and CocoBongo – a downtown club ala Las Vegas with shows and bad music).

The experience was great! The men took us on a jet-skii (free jet-skii experience right there) and dropped us off on a boat in the middle of the ocean. The staff was friendly and they gave us ample instruction on how to keep you from slipping off the harness - the only thing keeping you from falling to the deep dark water of Cancun.

The para-sailing experience was scary cool. You can see the whole hotel strip from where we are and whenever a wind blows, we kept going higher and higher. It felt like we were up there forever because other than the beach view, there’s nothing else to see but the vast landscape of the ocean. It’s very peaceful, yes, but it gives your mind time to think of nasty things that can happen while you’re para-sailing. Its good but I won’t be inclined to do it again.

Beach

Cancun water is gorgeous but rough! I have to agree with most people who said the same thing. It’s fun for those who like to wrestle against the waves and are not intimidated by it. Unfortunately, I’m a scared swimmer who’d rather have the calm waters of a pool.

Luckily, CasaMagna has a large pool with a wet-bar and a hot tub attached to it. There was one day where we ended up spending half of our day playing water volleyball, and drinking. We were more than satisfied that day.

Transportation

You can take the bus to the mall or anywhere else on the strip but taxi is recommended if you’re going out or coming back late at night.

Weather

We went in November during Thanksgiving week and a light sweater is highly recommended, especially at night.

Miscellaneous

- Check your room bill to make sure all of your room expenses are accounted for. You never know.

Our over-all stay was filled with sun, drinks and conversation. All of our good friends were staying in the hotel so it made it easier not to leave the premises at all, with the exception of the occasional trip at the mall. Our main activity was to drink Pinacoladas and Coco Loco (rum, gin, tequila with coconut, mint and lime) all day long.

We end up doing much of our activities on our last day when the wedding celebration was over. We went Parasailing and had dinner at Isla Mujeres which felt more like being in Mexico than being in Cancun. It’s safe to say we were disappointed putting off Isla Mujeres until our last day.

If you want to relax and have a resort type vacation, this is the place for you, if you want to experience Mexico, you maybe better off elsewhere.

Room Tip: 4-6th floor hotel rooms with ocean view on either side of the hotel have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.