We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed more than All Inclusive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Save Saved
You added CasaMagna Marriott Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 174 hotels in Cancun
dallas, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We enjoyed more than All Inclusive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We go to Mexico every year, and have always stayed in an AI resort, usually in Riviera Maya. Now that kids are older we have to have two rooms, so we saw the $149 rate,which included breakfast, and took it. We were worried about being in the gringo tourist trap we heard Cancun was, but it has worked out perfectly!! In fact, we are still here now, and I felt compelled to write this review.
The advantages for an All Inclusive Resort: bigger pools, unlimited fare, entertainment, though we have often found the food and entertainment pretty tired at even the nicest AI resorts.
The advantages for Marriott Casamagna: beaches and water blow away Riviera Maya, Marriott beds (enough said), not as many drunks, not as much trekking over massive properties, dining options, free and reliable Internet (Marriott gold members).
We were very worried about breaking our string of annual All Inclusive vacations, but not any more. We have slept like kings, had more fun enjoying the ocean, an had some amazing meals (see Harry's Steakhouse). Yes, we have constantly been breaking out cash and signing hotel receipts, but the all-in cost is going to be about the same. Plus, not once have we been in a "cattle-call" situation, the way the AI breakfasts and swim-up bars sometimes felt. We bought some booze at the airport, and have avoided buying too many $12 mixed drinks and $7 beers from the hotel. One note; bring a tumbler or big thermal cup from home. They charge $30 for one of these at the gift shop, and they can help save a bundle.
I hope this review helps!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,173
    644
    157
    70
    27
See reviews for
593
681
87
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We just completed a 10 night stay at the Marriott Casa Magna. This is our third trip to Cancun in the last 12 years but the best resort . Hotel was not very crowded this time of the year so no waits. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our ocean view room was spacious and well equiped. We included the breakfast buffet with our stay and it was wonderful. There are pilapas on the beautiful white sand beach and most days the ocean was calm enough to enter. ( We live on the east coast so the waves are not a problem ). Between the Marriot Casa Magna and the JW Marriott which are connected there are 6 resturants at night or you can catch the bus to go anywhere along the Hotel Zone and downtown Cancun in front of the hotel. Aqua Water Sports is a 10 minute walk and you can purchase your activities at the pool . We have used Aqua in the past and on this trip. 7 Eleven, and a 24 hr market (snacks, drinks ,beer and liquor) and McDonaldsons across the street. I cannot say anything negative about this property and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent resort in a beautiful area of Cancun. Was worried about the destination, but felt very safe and secure. Loved the resort and the area. The beaches are gorgeous and the ocean is amazing. Would go back any time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a great stay here. good service, clean rooms and the beach is beautiful- very clean and blue. The beach was wavy and we loved being in the water. Breakfast buffet was great!
but if you want to take any day tours, plan ahead and book them online. we didn't and booked the chitchen itza tour through some agency in the hotel, which turned out to be an unpleasant and uncomfortable tour!

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are really awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed in this Marriott three times (twice on business and once on a holiday) and loved it every single time! Breakfast is delicious, all rooms have beautiful sea views, breakfast is superb and varied, service is great. I have not used the Spa as the weather was lovely every day but I have heard it is very good. The beach is right there in front of you. Cocktails and the beach service for drinks and food are amazing and not dear. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Let's start with the good points. This hotel is very grand and impressive indeed and the lobby is particularly breath taking. The facilities really are excellent and the pool, beach and bars are definitely first class. The spa is also lovely and the staff clearly knew their stuff. There is also a huge jacuzzi next to the pool over looking the beach. There is a shop/cafe that sells snacks etc and coffee and all of the staff were helpful.

The hotel is in a great location on the hotel strip and the conciege is especially good at helping you chose where to visit and giving you money off coupons from his magic drawer for most places.

The rooms are probably smaller than I would expect but with an amazing view and possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Hopefully the problem we had though will not affect you but it was concerning how badly the manager dealt with us as it maybe an indicator of how they would deal with you if you have a problem. We were situate next to the lift and on day 2 it started being maintained - we did not suffer noise for several days but after about 8 days we were woken up and genuinely felt like we were living right in the middle of a building site (drilling and hammering, whistling etc). We complained and they stopped and we were promised it would not wake us up again. It didn't for 2 days then would start up in the evening and they woke us up again 2 days later. Anyway you get the idea - I complained to the manager who i felt was quite frankly rude to me saying we could move and blaming me that none of his staff had brought our previous complaints to his attention. He also now offered to move us (huge pain to pack and re-pack) and only offered us $50 dollars compensation. When I asked if he thought that paltry sum was enough and how would he feel if his family were woken up early he essentially said he would have arranged for his family to get up earlier. Charming.

I'm not a complainy kind of person and never have on holiday before but I was shocked as the hotel gives the impression of being really first class and such hotels usually have what I would consider to be a better class of management.

Anyway rant over - let's hope that the hotel chain will not continue to let one manager ruin the experience as they have clearly spent a huge amount of money on this hotel and they have a fantastic establishment to show for it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at the Casa Magna Marriott in Cancun as part of a package. Check in was fast, staff very friendly and helpful. Got an 'ocean view' room that had a good enough view of the ocean. Room was very clean, a little basic, and all the room amenities were in place. No free wi-fi. Only one elevator out of two was in working order but the wait was minimal. Basic pool and jacuzzi area but of course the beach is just a few steps away. Restaurants a little pricey but overall a great stay and great experience. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan, Retorno Chac L-41 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and Marriott’s CasaMagna Cancun Resort. A legendary locale perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.