We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #20 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Needs an update ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum member and have stayed at many JW's and full service Marriott's across the globe for work. So I have a good idea of what to expect at a JW. This resort has very nice grounds, pool area, beach, and lobby area. However, the decor of the rooms and hallways are dated and in need of an update. And the beach chairs are very cheap. I know this sounds like I'm nit picking but trust me, you'll agree when you sit in them. The service was very good but not quite 5 star level. We opted for club 91. Feel it was worth the extra money if you do not want gourmet food. Convenient for getting water, sodas, and juices without being charged every time. We did have a few dinners and lunches off property. Everything is pricey at this hotel but you should expect that for a resort. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and will return. In my opinion, a 5 star hotel needs to have the "wow" factor across the board for everything. Not quite there at this hotel. Tip: Take the R2 bus into town and load up on snacks, and alcohol. There is Wal Mart in the center of Cancun where the bus stops and a liquor store across the street. You will save a lot of money. Very easy and safe. Approximately 1us dollar for bus each way. Request a refrigerator in room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,237
    432
    138
    63
    36
See reviews for
544
613
34
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We chose to stay here at the end of a trip to the Yucatan; the purpose was to enjoy the spa and all the hotel services and this was to the the R&R part of our entire trip and we booked the largest suite on offer in anticipation. Housekeeping: we immediately had to request a maid to clean the bathrooms as there were visible urine stains from the previous occupants. The concierge services were worse than non-existant. Impossible to book the kids club(!!!), the concierge gave us the full week's program but couldn't book it. No reason given. The spa: I was told to find the relaxation room on another floor where my therapist was going to pick me up. Well...I found myself in what has to be called a construction site with unmarked doors, cables everywhere, and finally had to turn back to the reception to insist on being shown the way. The food is ok, sadly not better than that. Also, you are charged extra for roomservice (in addition to the service charge), a fixed fee printed so small on the menu that you can't fail to miss it. I certainly won't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback in regards to the service you experienced on our property during your stay. First we want to apologize for the number of issues you experienced while here at the hotel. We will follow up on your specific case to try to make sure that these concerns do not happen to others. Thank you for taking time to post your review and we hope to see you here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent a 4-night getaway at the JW Marriott in Cancun and we had an absolute blast! It wasn't perfect, but it generally met all of our expectations. It's a beautiful resort inside and out. The exterior grounds are essentially one giant swimming pool with lounge chairs lining the whole thing. Our room had a nice view of the ocean (we were not on the Hard Rock Hotel side, following another Trip Advisor suggestion), had a very comfortable king-size bed and a nice bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly and was very accommodating; poolside, they made quite sure we always had drinks in our hands if we needed them! The atmosphere there is very relaxed, which is exactly what we needed. The breakfast buffet was great, and lunch from the Beachwalk was always great, too. Dinner at the Sedona Grill was good, but maybe a bit underwhelming.

If I have any complaints, they're somewhat minor. Everything there is a bit expensive. I don't have enough resort experience to say whether or not it was all overpriced, but food and drink definitely were not cheap. Also, we had one experience with the concierge where we felt like she missed an opportunity to give a couple of Cancun novices some good advice. We had a dinner reservation at La Habichuela (which was awesome) and the restaurant is outside the Hotel Zone in downtown Cancun. A friend had told us not to worry about riding the bus while in Cancun, so we planned on riding the bus to downtown Cancun, do a little shopping and then have dinner. This is where the concierge could have stepped up to be helpful. For starters, she could have told us that downtown Cancun is a dump and that there is no shopping there. Also, she could have told us that a cab directly to the restaurant was advisable. That's what the two nice Mexican gentlemen on the bus told us anyway. The bus was a bit sketchy, and the neighborhood surrounding our restaurant was even sketchier. It all worked out fine, but we certainly felt like the resort concierge could have given us better advice there.

Overall, we had an amazing time and this resort was exactly what we needed: comfortable room, friendly staff and great food. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Despite the rain and the storm the staff at JW made our trip a pleasure. The hotel is a great location with beautifully designed pool, the beach is fantastic and staff make sure all your needs are met. Club 91 is nice but we decided against it because we really enjoyed the restaurants at the hotel and we don’t drink. The breakfast buffet is fantastic it should be tried at least once. If you are Marriott elite member Platinum or Gold do not expect free breakfast or upgrade to the club level, or use of the spa.

Room Tip: The high floor rooms facing the pool have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I booked the JW Marriott for one night as a layover to fly to Cuba the next day. We chose it as it was one of few choices available through our travel agent where friends and family had kindly contributed to our honeymoon fund.

It was fine but only fine - I would definitely not want to stay longer and I don't get why people holiday in Cancun and/or choose places like this to spend their hard earned. The place is massive, kind of dated and is just another huge concrete monstrosity on the beach. Lifts were super slow, gym was very crowded and the restaurant we tried for dinner and breakfast was really just "meh". Also, you have to pay for wifi in the rooms (what is this, 1998?) which I think is ridiculous.

Pros were the view from each balcony was nice and the staff were lovely. We are in Tulum now though and the view and facilities are way better and the staff are just as great. So choose your own adventure.

If you want an all inclusive style resort with real non-Mexican, very American feel this is probably your place. Cancun and JW Marriot are not for us. Enjoy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are very sorry that our hotel’s structure was not to your particular liking. Our resort offers luxury facilities and amenities, and we regret they were not up to your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff’s service and the view from our rooms. We appreciate all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for a week and it could not have been better. We have visited Cancun several times before and always stayed at the sister hotel next door, Casa Magna. We just decided for this trip to try something different so we booked the JW Marriott and I am glad we did. Transportation to and from airport was great and on time. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was excellent overlooking the water. Bathroom had tub an desperate walkin shower. Several connecting pools are heated. Pool staff was super, friendly, conversant, very responsive to any need or request. Beach had great sand, lots of beach chairs and umbrellas. Located in middle of hotel zone, it was easy to get any where by bus or cab. This place just reeks of class. Only complaint would be quality of tv stations. But who watches tv in Cancun any way. We will definitely stay here on next trip to Cancun.

Room Tip: Any room above floor 2 is fine as all rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My sister is in a wheelchair and booked a wheelchair accessible room. At check in we were given a room on the 10th floor which was NOT wheelchair accessible. We were then given a room on the fist floor which is wheelchair accessible. However, whoever designed the room knows nothing about the needs of a person in a wheelchair. The shower has a very slippery marble floor and a narrow bench at the back of the shower that is so far from the shower head and the hand held faucet that it won't reach the person. This poor design could be corrected by providing a shower chair, but there is none. The bathroom also has no drawers, in an attempt to accommodate the person in a wheelchair, so the usual amenities are missing, ie the blow drier.I called the front desk to ask for a hair drier, I was told it was in the drawer to the left of the sink. Hello, there is no drawer. Anyways, an hour later no one had brought one. It took a trip to the front desk to personally complain. In addition there are no towel bars. Where are you supposed to hang up a towel? Our room is nice, but it is tucked into a back part of the hotel with no view of the beach ( only handicap room in the entire hotel with two beds). The lagoon pool outside our room is not filled with water due to repairs. This not what I expect from a 5 star hotel. It's nice, but seems awfully expensive for what you get. No coffee maker in room, coffee at the in hotel store only so so. Next vacation it's back to the Hapuna Prince Hotel in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Avoid Cancun in general if you are handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Business Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.