We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Event
Ranked #15 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay at this beautiful cancun hotel.

Hotel/Property itself: The hotel and property is beautiful. It's right on the ocean with its own beach. The pool is amazing there; especially the infiniti pool right on the ocean. You have access to all the facilities and restaurants in the adjacent casa-magna hotel. So really, you are getting two beautiful hotel properties. I really recommend the Spa. We got a couple of massages and they were amazing plus you get access to hot tubs, steam room and sauna.


Restaurant: You have a choice of 6 amazing restaurants on both jw and casa magna property. We had breakfast at the sedona grill which was amazing. We also had dinner at the thai restaurant in the casa magna is beautiful and the food is amazing.

Rooms: the rooms are beautiful with a balcony and an ocean view. we were fortunate enough to have a room with an ocean and a lagoon view. this alone made up for the rooms, but the service and room itself was amazing

Service: the service (as expected) was amazing. The service was amazing, everyone that walked by us always smiled and greeted us. We really felt at home.

Overall, this is an awesome and very family friendly hotel. It's not your prototypical cancun party hotel which is amazing because you don't always want that atmosphere when you are on a family trip. It is very conveniently located in the middle of the hotel zone. There is a bus stop right in the front where you can use the local cancun bus transit for $0.50 per person.

Highly recommend this!

Room Tip: if you have a mar riot elite/gold/platinum membership, ask for a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    584
    181
    75
    58
See reviews for
780
866
49
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Exceptionally great service
i bought club 91 card to not think about food. club 91 food-buffet -extraordinary!
most rooms does have a ocean view with light breeze from sea in the evening.
beach is ok but very clean . i went to ritz beach nearby to swim.
pool is nice and the view from pool to ocean is great.
you can order transportation service as part of club 91 card.
it is 10 min ride from airport.
JW made my 5 days escape very relaxing and 5+.

Room Tip: most of the rooms are having ocean view from balcony. with open balcony door -you hear waves at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay with family. Great location, great condition, super service, right ont he beach, multiple pools, great gym and multiple restaurants between the JW & adjacent Casamagna (another Marriott). Concierge service was great. Definitely sold us on this property for the next time. All rooms face the sea!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott in Cancun is first class. Why? The service is beyond excellent. Most notably- VALERIA VALENCIA- Sous Chef extraordinaire! From delivering amazing gluten free treats to whipping up chocolate covered strawberries she continues to amaze and spoil us with delicious treats. The 91 club is an indulgence that will enhance your stay with 5 presentations daily of culinary treats along with evening cocktail service. The service is impeccable. The 91 Club concierge staff remembers your name, your preferences and spoils each guest with pleasure.
The workout rooms faces the water, the spa is relaxing and the staff helpful.
The beach is gorgeous, the pool is heated which makes it a popular place to be and there is an abundance of beach chairs and fresh towels. The pool attendants will move umbrellas, chairs, set up your towels etc.
the restaurants have pricing that is competitive with their neighbors so when in Cancun be prepared to part with your dineros!
We have stayed all over the world and the JW Marriott Cancun is an excellent choice for a family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been to a couple places in Cancun with the family that were very good but for a couples trip I would recommend the JW. The beds were awesome, the food was great, and the atmosphere was very good. Not loud, and family oriented. More for couples and business travelers. Had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were staying next door at the Hard Rock but after three nights of zero sleep, we decided we needed to go somewhere else. We packed our bags in the middle of the night and headed on over to the JW Marriott. We wish this would've been our first choice. The staff greeted us promptly and were very friendly and outgoing. The hotel was clean and pools were beautiful. We felt like refugees coming over to the Marriott and they took care of us so we felt like normal humans after our first night sleep. We stayed at the Marriott the remainder of the trip and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and lagoon so we could watch the sunrise and the sunset over water...it was breath taking! Our room came with the breakfast buffet and highly recommend. There were plenty of choices and the food was very good. If you are planning a trip to Cancun, stay here!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the premium oceanview to see the ocean and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Friend and I returned after our great experience last year. I have been there several times before but girlfriend and I needed a "get-away". Booked the 3 nights, get 4th night free with $50 per day room credit. A real deal again! Also took advantage of Club 91. Pleasant place to have breakfast, lunch and dinner and drinks in the evening. There was always something different to eat although we looked forward to guacamole, salsa and chips in the afternoon. Service was very attentive. Spa facilities were also included in the Club 91 price which was great during the 2 days of rain. Shuttle service back to the airport is also included in the price.

Room was always clean - only issue was VERY small trickle of hot water in sink. Took forever to get hot water.

Yes, we will probably do this again next year same time (providing we get the same special) but it is a very beautiful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.5 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.