We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #21 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are Marriott Platinum and expect a lot from upscale Marriott properties -- we were very pleased with the JW Cancun. All staff members were very pleasant and courteous. A room maintenance issue was solved within 10 min of my call. Housekeeping essentially comes twice a day. The evening turndown service is more like a normal daily service. It is especially nice to come back to a "fresh" room after dinner. The Club91 staff is OUTSTANDING. Virdiana, Martha, Roxana, Adriana and all other Club 91 personnel display just the right mix of courtesy, service, personality, and humor. We were always pleasantly greeted by name on each Club91 visit. The Spa was great for relaxation and exercise. Upper level spa access is included in Club91. The outdoor services staff were also very helpful. The transportation inbound from Prestiege was the only irritant in our stay. We read several reviews about noise from the adjacent Hard Rock but never had a problem. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 14th Floor -- Low odd number
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,235
    432
    138
    63
    36
See reviews for
543
612
34
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently chose JW Cancun for our spring break destination. Lovely hotel; adjoined with Marriott's Casa Manga for many dinner options on property. Lovely pool and private beach. Room was well appointed and spacious enough for 4 with a perfect balcony view over the pool. Kids menus, easy access to transportation, and friendly service. We would definitely return to this spot for a Cancun visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having been to Cancun 5-6 times now, wanted a hotel on the main strip as I like that side of the beach better. We really liked the JW Marriott. Very good service and wonderful people/personnel. We were a little bummed that they did not have an all inclusive option but the food and drinks we ordered were wonderful. We went in Nov. 2013 and felt like we had the resort somewhat to ourselves as it wasn't over packed at all. Wonderful beach w/plenty of huts for shade. We also liked that it was pretty tranquil...vs. all the music/pool games you find at other resorts. Really good health club in the spa. Great gift shop that includes a section to get a sandwich, ice-cream, etc... Would definitely go back to this property if ok w/non-inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel and service was everything that you would expect from JW Marriott from what we could tell. My husband and I stay at Marriotts (platinum level) whenever we travel and this property did not disappoint - for the most part. Although very uncharacteristic for a Marriott property, the website did not warn that the hotel was undergoing MAJOR renovations. We would have chosen to stay at the Marriott adjacent if we had known. The JW's lobby has been relocated and is quite underwhelming. You feel as though you're checking into a Courtyard...or more like a Fairfield!! Parts of the hotel are cordoned off with yellow construction tape while undergoing renovation. The lazy river was completely closed down. There was no peace to be found within your room or the hotel during the day due to loud noise. We requested the manager on 2 separate occasions, but he was not available. We really wanted to switch to the Marriott, but since we were only staying for 4 days we gave up trying.

Again, if you go after the renovation then I am sure this hotel is at the same caliber as other JWs. Just make sure that the reno is completed (again, it doesn't give any warning on the website).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I took my 2 teenage sons here during springbreak as my husband had business conflicts and could not take the time off. I had never been to Cancun so I wanted a good safe option but I wanted to be pampered, while my boys could be off on there own on the property. We opted to upgrade our room to an ocean front suite. It was huge, with a small kitchen and table with chairs, as well as a little living room and separate king beedroom. On first blush, the room was amazing. But the longer we stayed there the place was very worn down and needed to be seriously updated. The carpet looked dirty, the couch swalled in the middle and the balconies had peeling paint and chipping plaster. The service was spotty as well. The pool area is beaustiful as is the beach, but there is very little attention payed to guests by the pool staff and the beach staff were no better. Once again, I had to be the caretaker of everything from getting the towels, pulling chairs together, searching for the waiter, on top of carrying the families supplies. This is not what I expected from a "5 star" hotel. The property is gorgeous, with crystal clear water and powdery sand beaches. The natural setting is perfect. It is right next door to a Sheraton, which is nice as it increases your options within the contained hotel properties. I just think with a little hospitality therapy with the staff and hiring some extra maintenance people to take care of the wear and tear of the rooms, it could be a 5 star property, but not yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed at this resort twice before and made a reservation with their toll-free number for a third visit. Unfortunately, the same thing happened this year as last year. The email confirmation did not agree with the terms the agent specified over the phone. There is a bait and switch going on, so please read your email confirmations immediately so that you can cancel your reservation if this happens to you. Marriott's office said they have to believe the written email confirmation in the case of a discrepancy. The conversation I had with the agent was just minutes before I read the email so I remember and wrote down exactly what was promised. As this same thing happened the year before and they asked if I got the agent's name, I definitely got her name this time. They say the conversations are recorded but they didn't bother to review the recording. There was a considerable difference in money as well as room type between what was agreed to and what was written on the email.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very sorry that you had discrepancies with the information given by the phone reservations agent and the received confirmation. We have forwarded your comments to the appropriate Phone Sales Managers to ensure that all the information given from our properties is accurate and that the e-mail confirmation includes all the necessary details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is the top of the top along with the Ritz. I had an a view to the sea and to the pool - breathtaking! You can sit on your balcony, sipping ice cold champagne and look into the light blue sea breaking the waves and clear white sand...oh, and what an excellent service!!! And I haven't even mention the Spa yet! Women's paradise! You can go easily 15-30 min before your time, change into a fluffy white robe ... treat yourself with relaxing music, aromatic candles and variety of organic teas+flavored waters, all in that in a waiting room. And when it's your time for a procedure tall sexy tanned men guide your way ... where do you see a service like that in a hotel spa? :)
PS, they also have excellent italian restaurant and indian in the complex ...

Room Tip: Sea view + pools are the best of the best !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.