We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow,! Attention to detail, great staff, great spa, gym and room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #19 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow,! Attention to detail, great staff, great spa, gym and room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow,! Attention to detail, great staff, great spa, gym and room. First time for us in Cancun and chose the JW so as to stay on points. Often when using points on airlines or hotels you are treated as a lesser guest but not at the JW! This place really is a full service resort. From our airport pick up through to drop off we felt well taken care of..even pampered. The on site pools, beach, restaurants, gym, etc make some of the best amenities at any hotel anywhere. Our room was Great.. Good view awesome bathroom and a very good and comfy bed. We used the beach, pool and almost all of the restaurants and everything was tip top. We organized a tour through the hotel to chichen itza and it was safe and very well run. We will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,247
    432
    138
    63
    36
See reviews for
546
616
34
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The pick up service at the airport set the tone for my stay. Quality service, very nice and spotless mini bus that was perfectly cooled. Luis and Luis both were very professional.

I'm staying in Club 91 at the JW. And I can't say enough how nice everyone is. Somehow they all know my name. The club always has amazing fresh fruit and other snacks and meals. The beverage of your choice is just a request away.

I'm on the 11th floor and my room is spotless. The patio is perfect and the view is stunning.

The pools are blue and cool and the service on the beach while at times slow is done with class. Ask if it's not on the menu - if they can they will make it. Who knew french fries and guacamole was so good in the hot sun.

I'm not sure why some haven't been pleased here. I'm not easily impressed. I've stayed at five star hotels from San Francisco to Rome and Monte Carlo. The JW is not pretentious. You can be you here. And do it in style.

Why not slip into an amazing hotel with service, style, comfort and no attitude. I will come back again and again.

As to the spa, being a dude I was apprehensive by being assigned a male massage therapist. However, JUAN CARLOS needs a raise. Book him now if you are coming.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a nice stay from April14-21st. The rooms are a bit tired looking and in need of a remodel. The bathroom is very nice with a separate shower. As far as restaurants, we really weren't looking to see how much we could spend, because most restaurants are very pricey. For example, we ate most breakfasts at the gift shop. There were 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 young teenagers. Breakfast came to about $20 a day for the 4 of us. They have basically, bagels, croussants, and a few different kinds of danishes, cereal, coffee, juices etc. If you desire a fancy breakfast like eggs, waffles, pancakes, and the whole nine yards you can go to the Sedona Grill. How much? $30 per person. So, $120 a day for breakfast buffet. To me, that's nuts; to you, it may not be. For lunch we generally ate at the Beachwalk, which is the restaurant by the pool. It's decent, average prices. We basically ate a late breakfast ( we're all lazy but thin ) and late lunch, so we usually didn't eat dinner. The restaurants obviously want you to eat there, so you won't hear much about outside restaurants. However, there was one diamond in the rough that we found. EXCELLENT food, and kind of expensive, but so are the hotel restaurants. It is called La Habichuela. Walk down the driveway and go to the right about 20 or 30 yards and there is a bus stop in front of Hard Rock Hotel. The buses come every MINUTE. Take either the R-1 or the R-2 bus. So you are traveling to the RIGHT after you walk down to the street. Tell the driver the name of the restaurant when you get in. It is about a 4-5 minute bus ride tops, and it costs 8.5 pesos per person, which is about 70 cents. If you take a cab, they'll charge you around $10 US. Take the busses everywhere. They are safe and cheap.
If you want something nice to do to break up the trip take the bus from the hotel in the same direction to the right and after about 5-6 minutes get off at Isla Dorado ( it is about 200-300 yards after the La Habichuela Restaurant ). It is a BEAUTUFUL outdoor shopping center with really nice stores and restaurants on the bay side. Mexican restaurants plus American restaurants also, plus there is also Aquamarine there, where the kids can do either Dolphin or Sea Lion swimming. The dolphins are $88 per person, and the Sea Lion is $65 per person. We did the sea lion because ( I'm cheap ) and it was just as much fun. You kiss them, pet them, hold your arm around them and take a picture with them. Take your own pictures if you can because the pictures they take are like 18-$25 each, which is crazy.
One last thing, don't use the Marriott transfer service for $16 per person each way. Use Entertainment Plus, also called USA Transfers. You can get a PRIVATE van for $65 ROUND TRIP ( plus a tip ). Very polite and very professional and on time and an organized company.

Room Tip: Get a high floor. All the rooms are ocean view so don't pay extra for what they tell you is a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for 12 nights, sadly ending tomorrow and the staff made us so very welcome each and every opportunity. You can use and charge to your room all restaurants and bars in both the JWand the Marriott Casamagna hotels. Gift shops also have bakery and fruit for sale if you can't face to much food early in the morning. Great service from Saul, Edgar, Gadiel and the team in Beachwalk who also offer beach meal and drink service. Amazing holiday, thank you. Howard

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stay: Thursday, April 4th through Monday, April 8th 2013

Arrival: We used USA Travel for our transportation and would recommend them. No hassles and had our own private van. We used the link from the J.W. Marriott website to book our round trip airport transfers. When you arrive at the airport go directly outside. Do not talk to anyone in the airport because they will try to tell you they are your transportation but really just want to sell you a time share. The ground transportation personnel are not allowed in the airport and have to wait outside. The people inside the airport are only pesky salespeople trying to pose as someone else so walk past them and go outside to look for your ride. Note: If you book Club 91 rooms, the hotel will arrange your round trip transfers for you. They will e-mail you to obtain your travel information a few days before your departure. A day before you check out of the hotel to go home, the Club 91 concierge will obtain your departure information and arrange your transfers back to the airport. I don’t know if there’s a charge involved. We made our own arrangements before we realized they had this service.

Our bell hop Eduardo was a very nice young man. We were escorted to the 14th Club 91 floor and checked in at the Club 91 Concierge desk. We were lucky enough to have our room ready although we were prepared with our swim suit carryon bag just in case. The Club 91 staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. A shout out to Adrianna, Valeria, Martha, Viridiana (good luck with your concierge classes), Smith, Isreal, Roxanna, Chef Luis, Sergio and Selena Pena.

The Club 91 option (either with Marriott points or for I believe $125.00 per day per room) is worth it given that the hotel is not an all inclusive and charges U.S. hotel prices for food and drinks. With Club 91 you get breakfast, lunch, tea (Mexican style) dinner and alcohol from 6 – 10). It’s located on the 14th floor and if you sign up you get private access with your room key.

Our room was luxurious. We were in 1405. The bathroom had a beautiful marble floor and the tub was encased in marble surround. The separate walk-in shower was also made of marble and had a seamless glass door. The vanity was thick granite with double sinks and plenty of shelf space for cosmetics and toiletries. A hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion are provided in addition to q-tips, cotton balls and a sewing kit. Plenty of thick towels, two robes and slippers are also included. The view from the large balcony was incredible. It looked onto the beach and ocean and to the pools below. The main area of the room was a sofa, the most comfy bed I’ve ever slept in, a chair and ottoman, a desk, dresser and mini fridge (not complimentary but well stocked). Hint: There’s an OXXO across the street from the Casa Magnum that sells liquor, wine, beer and snacks. Shout out to the wonderful housekeeping staff Yuli and Nelly. We had twice daily service. I misplaced $30.00 and it appeared on the bathroom vanity by one of the housekeeping staff – untouched. I was very impressed and grateful. We did leave tips for each of the housekeeping services daily. They did such a great job and it was so nice to have someone else to clean and leave fresh towels. The bed lines are changed every third day unless you ask for a more frequent service.

We basically stayed at the property the entire time although we did venture to the Casa Magna for happy hour one night (between 4 and 6) for two for one Mojitos and also took a walk to the OXXO to pick up a few things. So our trip was about rest and relaxation. We took walks on the beach about twice a day. You can walk for miles in each direction and the beach is soft and easy to walk in bare feet. We liked the adult pool and give a big shout out to Edwin and Hector. Ask for a Pie Eye Pineapple drink. See photos. The other pools including the infinity pool were connected by smaller waterways connected by bridges. The children we and seemed to be having a wonderful time. I liked seeing the families having a good time. The property was accommodating to couples and families. There was an issue with reserved chairs as early as 6:30am as far as I could tell. I wish the staff would help to enforce the first come (actually occupying the chairs) first serve policy but I understand the touchiness of the issue. The beach seemed to always have pallapas available however.

The Beachwalk is a great place for lunch. We loved the Crab Cake (probably the best I’ve ever had) and the oysters and chicken flautas. You can sit out on the patio and look over the beach and ocean which are feet away. One other afternoon we had lunch by the adult pool. The wait staff and/or bartenders will give you a menu from which to order and serve you pool side. One evening we had dessert at Gustinos and it was incredible. It was a chocolate Tiramisu. We will go back there for dinner next time we go.

One day my husband rented a wave runner which was 60 dollars cash for 30 minutes from a vendor not affiliated with the J.W. but just on the beach in front of the property. He had a great time but you have to be careful of the parasail boats and other jet skiers in the same waters.

The J.W. Marriott has a great store on the lobby level. It has everything you could need if you don’t want to leave the property including souvenirs. There is a peso and a dollar ATM’s. A word of caution, some taxi drivers are giving old pesos (circa 1995) as change which are no longer worth anything. So the best thing to do is to have exact change in pesos since that’s all taxi drivers take so we were told. See the hotel desk or concierge for more information. The hotel staff can also make arrangements for tours to many locations in the area including Isla Mujeres, Chichen itza, Shopping Malls, Talum and Xel Ha. We have been to the Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita in Puerto Morelos and Ie me about the differences. We took a tour of the Spa and Fitness area. We did not take advantage of either but both were very impressive. The Fitness Center had great equipment and an indoor and spa. The spa menu was extensive and about the same prices as an upscale U.S. spa.

I would go back to the J.W. Marriott again. Please make sure to tip everyone who makes your stay pleasurable. They all work very long hard hours. We basically took $300 of 1’s and 5’s to tip the drive, bell boys, wait staff, bartenders, Club 91 staff and housekeeping. Our service was excellent and the food and drinks were stellar.

Room Tip: If on the 14th floor ask for an even numbered room. Odd number rooms face the Hard Rock and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived apr 6 after the spring break rush. We enjoyed most of the restaurants but didn't try champions or Sedona. You have got to have the coffee and cheese bear claw in the deli! We found the service to be excellent and polite. Recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford ct
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had to write this review after reading a negative review written a few days ago. My wife and two children 9 and 7 , just returned from the J.W on Tuesday April 16th. Both our room and most important our beds were awesome. The bed was a true Marriott custom bed fund in all their properties and is second to almost no one. But, what get me laughing and I just showed my wife the other post was getting chairs by the pool. I was there the exact time as this person and can fully assure you, that pool area is massive, NEVER did we have a problem finding chairs, let alone always four together. It is insane how many they provide , on top of the hundreds of chairs with massive tiki umbrellas 35 feet away on the beach. Everyday, we went around 830am to an incredible breakfast, usually next door at the Marriott Casa Magna in the Brazilian Steakhouse restaurant , back to room around 930/10ish and then to pool. All six days....plenty of places , nooks and spots to lay out. Also, I don't think I ever saw more than 40% of the beach chairs being used down by the water. The entire experience, the people the staff, food ( Gustino's was amazing ) , room , bed, and best of all , the silence. This is such a quality built hotel, never could we hear anything from anyone. Two words........HIGH END ! Great vacation and can't wait to get back. One last thing if this helps anyone. We used a company called USA Transfers to go to hotel and back to the airport.....it was very flawless and immediately on time. I paid like $60 round trip which is for a shared transfer and was even given a private shuttle for my family....both ways. Great service from them as well

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded room! Grande Ocean Front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.