We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the incredible service and attention.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #24 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Naperville, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you for the incredible service and attention.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our first time to Cancun but as a family of four (with two teenage daughters) we've had beach vacations at Grand Cayman, Marco Island, Newport Beach and Hilton Head Island. We can't say enough about our stay at the JW (late March, 2013). It's a beautiful, spotless luxury resort in a wonderful location on a fantastic beach. Most important for us was the attention of Executive Chef Dominic and Sous Chef Valeria. One of our family members has a severe allergy to tree nuts and peanuts. We were very hesitant about traveling to Mexico (and have only been out of the country once - to British Grand Cayman - for this reason) but Chef Dominic assured us in advance (via email exchanges) that the JW chefs had the protocol and experience to handle our allergy. They consulted with us on every meal and even made special, off menu selections. For a full day offsite excursion to one of the Mayan ruins they prepared and packed a special box lunch for us. Those of you with allergies know how important it is to feel safe with food. Valeria and Dominic were incredible. Their entire team was terrific including Guillermo at Champions, Luis at the pool, our waiter (twice, sorry we forgot your name) at La Capilla, and many others. They all accommodated us and our special requests cheerfully. Thank you! Also thanks to the JW corporate management for allowing your staff to serve customers at such a personal and high level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,162
    409
    131
    62
    34
See reviews for
508
576
30
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the JW Marriott in Cancun from March 18-23. From the moment we arrived until the day we left, the service and amenities were impeccable and exactly what we would expect from the JW brand.

The properly was beautiful inside and out. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the door and check in counter with a smile. Check in was quick and our ocean view room was absolutely perfect. The gentleman that helped up with our bags provided us with the high level details of the hotel as we made our way to our room. Once in our room, he described all of the room features in detail and set the stage for the level of service we would receive throughout the week.

As a Marriott Rewards Gold member, my internet access for all devices was complimentary. The in-room mini-bar was well equipped with a fine selection of water, beer, soda, juices and snacks at prices you would expect from a resort hotel. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were luxurious. The view was unbelievable.

The resort itself was perfect for a couple on holiday from the bustle of corporate life. The pools and beach were clean and although it was during the spring break period, there were plenty of chairs in both areas until at least mid-day. The waiters were helpful and friendly and assisted with everything from drinks and food, to towels and recommendations for local points of interest. We found both the standard elevator bank and beach access elevators well labeled and conveniently located with minimal waits during most times of day. The breakfast buffet at the Sedona Grill was excellent and the extensive selection catered to nearly every nationality and taste. We also had dinner at the Sedona Grill during our stay and the Sweet Corn Bisque, Caramelized Gala Apple Salad and Tequila Sunrise Penne Pasta were all incredible.

Job well done JW Marriott. I look forward to visiting Cancun again soon!

Room Tip: There is really no bad room at the JW, as all rooms are either directly facing the ocean, or at an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was very nice, very clean and had lots of people available to help (concierge, doormen, etc.). The beach and pool areas were beautiful and well maintained. Most of the staff members were very helpful and accommodating.

The downsides were: No free Wifi, some of the poolside staff had poor English, the food and gift shop were extremely expensive and the beach is not as nice as the northern part of the hotel zone (really high surf and not shielded from waves at all). Also, there was no fan in the toilet closet and the toilet was extremely low. The ice machine on our floor was broken too.

While the location is not as good as several of the other hotels on the northern part of the hotel zone, there were plenty of restaurants (some very expensive) and gas stations near the hotel and it was very convenient for taxis and the bus.

Room Tip: I would not get the two double beds room- the beds are really small. I liked being on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I just eloped in this hotel and stayed for a week and it was simply amazing. Francisco our wedding planner made everything so easy we barely had to lift a finger to plan for our wedding.

We stayed in the club 91 lounge and it was worth every penny. All of the employees in the lounge greeted us by name every time we walked in and Martha (the club 91 manager) and Virdiana were very helpful and friendly going above and beyond for every request we had during the week. I would describe club 91 as a concierge lounge on steroids. Whether it was asking for a reliable car service, fun things to do off grounds, or asking for recommendations and reservations around Cancun the staff went above and beyond to make us happy. The food in the lounge was delicious,fresh and changed daily. The dinners were especially memorable as the food comes from a different restaurant inside the hotel nightly. We truly didn't have a bad meal.

The hotel itself is beautifully detailed and decorated and is in an excellent location on the main strip of Cancun. You can tell the hotel was designed with quality in mind as soon as you walk into the lobby vs the already run down looking Hard Rock hotel next door which was an eyesore and already had paint peeling off of it even though it only opened 6 months ago.

The pool and beach of the hotel were absolutely beautiful. The main/infinity pool which are all connected was steps away from the beach and each room has a gorgeous view of both. Besides Hawaii, this was the nicest beach I have ever seen.

Service everywhere was excellent and everyone we interacted with was very friendly. We are already looking forward to coming back to this hotel next year for our 1 year anniversary.
The hotel rooms themselves were well decorated and extremely comfortable. The mattresses were great to sleep in and we felt well rested every night. The bathroom was spacious and clean with our cleaning lady doing an excellent job providing a mid day room cleaning as well as nightly turndown service which I feel is getting harder to find these days.

Overall it was a wonderful trip and I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation as well.

Room Tip: Club 91 is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Once again - the JW Marriott did not disappoint on our Spring Break Trip. We stayed at Club 91, and it was excellent. If you visit this hotel - Club 91 is a must. We have a 12 year old son and he loved the breakfasts as well as the evening samplings from one of the many properties at the JW and Casa Magna.

We were picked up at the Airport and taken right to the hotel....we had a little wait waiting for another couple to land but then away we went. Being at Club 91 - you get to bypass the front lobby and go straight to the 14th floor. Although our room was not ready we had a wonderful lunch in the lounge and then changed and went to the beach.

Everyone by the pool is extremely attentive wanting to get you wantever you want. The pool setting is lovely - great for children or sitting and reading while just looking out at the gorgeous water. There is also an all adult pool with no children allowed if that is what you need.

The hotel is very clean - the spa area and workout facilities are also excellent. Nightly entertainment in the lobby is a nice way to wind down the day....

Room Tip: Club 91 really is a must in our opinion. From what we have been able to determine - all rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

But if you are looking for a nice place to stay read on. Nice, clean, above average JW property. It's a larger hotel, but it includes many small places to escape. There is the usual giant pool full of screaming kids BUT there is a separate adult pool. The chairs alone at the adult pool make it worthy! Big fluffy cushion make for a perfect place to watch the sun go down. Ask for as many towels as you like. While pool/beach service was sketchy at times, once we flagged someone down, they were very attentive, which is important to us. And you can easily find chairs at the beach. It's a large beach, ever changing with the weather, but pretty white sand and clear blue sea. Depending on the day, it can be smooth or very rough water, but you can generally walk out several feet into the water. Rooms are nice, nice balcony, semi private. Beds are like pillows!
Yes, wifi is not reliable, but relax, you are at the beach! This is not a cheap place, so don't come here expecting to eat/drink cheaply- go all inclusive. It's been an easy week here. Sure, things are slow, if you have been around the world to other beach places, they all run slower. If you can't relax and go with the flow, stay out of Mexico. Very nice place for couples, but families seemed happy too. Better stay than at the Ritz, which is very limiting in space and food. There are plenty of places to eat, nice or casual. The people who work here want you to be happy, but that decision is yours! Miles of white sand to wiggle your toes in, or take a long walk. Been to a lot of hotels in Cancun, this is one of the best options. Food here is like all food in Mexico, never tastes like your favorite place at home. Great pick!

Room Tip: Get the breakfast included, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If your visiting The JW Marriott and you purchase the wif for your 2 devices .. well couple of things to realize it isn't.. it doesn't work everywhere despite that you pay for all over wi-fi it isn't.. but if you wanna go the beach I suggest you go the beach turn right and keep walking to the end of the beach that adjoins the hard rock hotel and sit under the beach huts on the beach. there are 2 rows of them the forward one nearest the hard rock has the best reception and its free! yes its free to log onto with your Ipad phone whatever !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.