We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #19 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Brookhaven, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean and Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was very nice, very clean and had lots of people available to help (concierge, doormen, etc.). The beach and pool areas were beautiful and well maintained. Most of the staff members were very helpful and accommodating.

The downsides were: No free Wifi, some of the poolside staff had poor English, the food and gift shop were extremely expensive and the beach is not as nice as the northern part of the hotel zone (really high surf and not shielded from waves at all). Also, there was no fan in the toilet closet and the toilet was extremely low. The ice machine on our floor was broken too.

While the location is not as good as several of the other hotels on the northern part of the hotel zone, there were plenty of restaurants (some very expensive) and gas stations near the hotel and it was very convenient for taxis and the bus.

Room Tip: I would not get the two double beds room- the beds are really small. I liked being on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,244
    432
    138
    63
    36
See reviews for
544
615
34
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I just eloped in this hotel and stayed for a week and it was simply amazing. Francisco our wedding planner made everything so easy we barely had to lift a finger to plan for our wedding.

We stayed in the club 91 lounge and it was worth every penny. All of the employees in the lounge greeted us by name every time we walked in and Martha (the club 91 manager) and Virdiana were very helpful and friendly going above and beyond for every request we had during the week. I would describe club 91 as a concierge lounge on steroids. Whether it was asking for a reliable car service, fun things to do off grounds, or asking for recommendations and reservations around Cancun the staff went above and beyond to make us happy. The food in the lounge was delicious,fresh and changed daily. The dinners were especially memorable as the food comes from a different restaurant inside the hotel nightly. We truly didn't have a bad meal.

The hotel itself is beautifully detailed and decorated and is in an excellent location on the main strip of Cancun. You can tell the hotel was designed with quality in mind as soon as you walk into the lobby vs the already run down looking Hard Rock hotel next door which was an eyesore and already had paint peeling off of it even though it only opened 6 months ago.

The pool and beach of the hotel were absolutely beautiful. The main/infinity pool which are all connected was steps away from the beach and each room has a gorgeous view of both. Besides Hawaii, this was the nicest beach I have ever seen.

Service everywhere was excellent and everyone we interacted with was very friendly. We are already looking forward to coming back to this hotel next year for our 1 year anniversary.
The hotel rooms themselves were well decorated and extremely comfortable. The mattresses were great to sleep in and we felt well rested every night. The bathroom was spacious and clean with our cleaning lady doing an excellent job providing a mid day room cleaning as well as nightly turndown service which I feel is getting harder to find these days.

Overall it was a wonderful trip and I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation as well.

Room Tip: Club 91 is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Once again - the JW Marriott did not disappoint on our Spring Break Trip. We stayed at Club 91, and it was excellent. If you visit this hotel - Club 91 is a must. We have a 12 year old son and he loved the breakfasts as well as the evening samplings from one of the many properties at the JW and Casa Magna.

We were picked up at the Airport and taken right to the hotel....we had a little wait waiting for another couple to land but then away we went. Being at Club 91 - you get to bypass the front lobby and go straight to the 14th floor. Although our room was not ready we had a wonderful lunch in the lounge and then changed and went to the beach.

Everyone by the pool is extremely attentive wanting to get you wantever you want. The pool setting is lovely - great for children or sitting and reading while just looking out at the gorgeous water. There is also an all adult pool with no children allowed if that is what you need.

The hotel is very clean - the spa area and workout facilities are also excellent. Nightly entertainment in the lobby is a nice way to wind down the day....

Room Tip: Club 91 really is a must in our opinion. From what we have been able to determine - all rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

But if you are looking for a nice place to stay read on. Nice, clean, above average JW property. It's a larger hotel, but it includes many small places to escape. There is the usual giant pool full of screaming kids BUT there is a separate adult pool. The chairs alone at the adult pool make it worthy! Big fluffy cushion make for a perfect place to watch the sun go down. Ask for as many towels as you like. While pool/beach service was sketchy at times, once we flagged someone down, they were very attentive, which is important to us. And you can easily find chairs at the beach. It's a large beach, ever changing with the weather, but pretty white sand and clear blue sea. Depending on the day, it can be smooth or very rough water, but you can generally walk out several feet into the water. Rooms are nice, nice balcony, semi private. Beds are like pillows!
Yes, wifi is not reliable, but relax, you are at the beach! This is not a cheap place, so don't come here expecting to eat/drink cheaply- go all inclusive. It's been an easy week here. Sure, things are slow, if you have been around the world to other beach places, they all run slower. If you can't relax and go with the flow, stay out of Mexico. Very nice place for couples, but families seemed happy too. Better stay than at the Ritz, which is very limiting in space and food. There are plenty of places to eat, nice or casual. The people who work here want you to be happy, but that decision is yours! Miles of white sand to wiggle your toes in, or take a long walk. Been to a lot of hotels in Cancun, this is one of the best options. Food here is like all food in Mexico, never tastes like your favorite place at home. Great pick!

Room Tip: Get the breakfast included, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If your visiting The JW Marriott and you purchase the wif for your 2 devices .. well couple of things to realize it isn't.. it doesn't work everywhere despite that you pay for all over wi-fi it isn't.. but if you wanna go the beach I suggest you go the beach turn right and keep walking to the end of the beach that adjoins the hard rock hotel and sit under the beach huts on the beach. there are 2 rows of them the forward one nearest the hard rock has the best reception and its free! yes its free to log onto with your Ipad phone whatever !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is a complete step down to what luxury hotels ought to be. They try to display the usual hospitality gestures which are never considered. For example, as several reviewers have mentioned, the concierge emails as soon as you make reservation to make arrangements for the transportation to and from the airport, but the same concierge disregards any special requests that are made, including make a note of your arrival times. In our case, we arrived into Cancun airport at 9:15AM. Upon arrival to the hotel, we are told that our rooms would be ready at 4:00pm!!! When we asked if they were 100% occupied, they said yes. But, when I went online (at that same instance), I was able to secure reservations for multiple rooms. After talking to manager on duty, we were able to resolve this and expedite the check-in and were given a room at 1:00pm. We had purchased club 91 access and had to wait since they were in between service. We were traveling with children ages 4 & 6, and the staff wasn't even courteous to ask if the kids would like something to get started while they served lunch. We just had to sit and drink water!!

The rewards members dont get complimentary internet access, as a matter of fact, this hotel charges for everything. No complimentary water, no coffee/tea makers in the rooms, so you are charged for tea and coffee too! What a shame! When there are so many options to live here in cancun, why should anyone consider a place that doesn't cater to their guests for what they pay for??? This will be our last stay at any marriott hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We do our best to receive our guests before the 4PM check-in time, however, in high occupancy seasons this might not be possible. All our Platinum and Gold Rewards Members receive complimentary Internet access as part of their benefits, and we are glad to announce that we will be offering free Wi-Fi in our Lobby and public areas to all our guests as of next month. We are very sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and be sure all your comments have been taken in consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I think I am rather picky when it comes to hotel accommodations. My stay at the JW Marriott in Cancun was amazing! I was contacted one week prior to my stay by Daniela that wanted to help with any questions and helped me make spa appointments, she also asked what time would I arrive from the airport so they could do their best to accommodate my early arrival.

Outside the airport curbside we met the driver from the Prestige transport service, this was a great deal at $16.00 per person each way. Once we arrived at the hotel which was about 11AM we only had one person in front of us checking in and once we got to the front desk our room was ready and because I am a gold member they upgraded my view to full ocean view instead of partial which was great. I cannot imagine getting a bad room at this hotel. Once you check into the hotel I suggest asking about discounts I was given a "passport card" that gave you a discount at any of the restaurants for dinner at both the JW and Casa Magna the discount starting at 10% off and worked up to 30% off. This was a huge savings.

If you are a gold member you receive 10% off all purchases in the gift shop of food, t shirts and souvenirs. A little pricey but not that bad. They had the most amazing gelato in the gift shop! And it was also good for a quick breakfast.

The staff was lovely and so kind I never ran into anyone that was not willing to help. The staff remembers you which is nice. We met tons of nice people at the resort as well. The restaurants were all very good. Some reviews said they were too pricey but really I don't think they were when you go out to dinner to 5 star restaurants what do you expect to pay? The only restuarant that I did not think was amazing was Sedona Grill I did not think that they had enough choices. The breakfast at Sedona was great and a few days was included in our room rate. Gustino was amazing at the JW and Mikado, La Castilla were amazing next door at the Casa Magna. The hotel is connected by a hallway. The beachwalk had decent food for for beach food and the service was great by the pool. The lobby bar also had snacks and great drinks after dinner.

The spa was top notch. I can honestly say that I had 2 of the best massages at this spa. I don't think you are overcharged either, our rate for 2 of the days included a 25% off all spa treatments over $50 so that was a savings. I kept an eye on our bill closely and kept all receipts and compared to when we checked out. There was only one issue they charged me 3 times for Prestige and we only used 2 back and forth to airport.

The staff that i dealt with was great Marco took our bags up, Gilberto was by the pool and Daniela helped with all questions. Consiege was great making all reservations for dinner! The only thing that I did not love was the bathroom, it was beautiful and spacious but the doors were see through. They had frosted panes with see through spots in both the separate bathroom and main door. I thought that was strange but the rooms were great the balconies were amazing and spacious!

Some friends we made at the hotel had the club 91 all inclusive and did not love it because you are confined to the 14th floor for all your meals and drinks. The value was good but the idea was not. I think if the hotel wanted to have an all inclusive option they should have bracelets and be able to identify people that way instead of just a floor where you have to eat bfast, lunch and dinner and drinks.

Very safe hotel and as long as you are smart and travel in pairs downtown you are fine. The flea market that is what the locals call it you can def skip its way too aggressive and you can get the same prizes and things at the airport.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for high floor all the rooms show the pool or ocean you cannot get a bad view. som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.