We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, and far from the madding crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, and far from the madding crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back last week from our first time to Cancun.
While I usually prefer small cozy hotels, I stumbled on a fabulous, irresistible deal on the hotel's website for Marriott rewards members. With internet and buffet breakfast thrown in, no point in looking further. The location is great for families and those not interested in hanging out with the insanity of spring break, clubs, etc, further up on the island. And even if that is your cup of tea, the buses run all the time up and down the Hotel Zone, for less than a buck each ride.
That said - the staff was lovely, the room was beautiful (the hotel is designed so that pretty much all rooms face the sea) and the food at the restaurants was very good indeed. I rarely have any complaints about hotel staff, possibly because I work hard to befriend them and appreciate them. That usually works wonders; if not, I know how to switch gears, too. I started by e-mailing the concierge with specific questions and requests and Veronica was very helpful with everything. I arranged the airport pick up by the shuttle van (a great idea, and reasonable at $16 each) and Veronica even had tips on how to avoid the crush of would be sellers of time shares who all but jump you as you are leaving the airport! The driver waited a few minutes to see if we'd get the last two of the requisite six riders, but when that didn't happen quickly, he left with the four of us.
I followed some of the advice of other TA reviewers and asked for an upgrade to a premium view. At first I was told only the suites had that and they were much more expensive, but eventually the (name forgotten) friendly staffer found two great options for us, one away from the side with the pool and Hard Rock Hotel (which is what we thought we wanted, based on reviews) and the other not. We followed her recommendation and took the pool side, based on the better view, and she was absolutely right. But note, the reason folks say to avoid that side, especially on the lower floors, is because the music from special events, and yes, there was a weekend-long wedding party, reaches way up and into the room, even with the window shut (although not too bad then). But the music (I'm told by law in Cancun) ended by I think it was 11pm, which is only a problem for the early to bed.
We were also not interested in all inclusives (offered as the Club at this hotel) because we hoped to be trying more local venues, as well. That said, we got a 25% discount on the hotel restaurants and they were really really good! Buffets are always hard for me since it is hard to eat sensibly at an all-you-can-eat affair, but we loved the fact that the breakfast included lots of traditional Mexican fare, as well as the usual (and very good!) waffles, omelette station, etc. The inside seating is very spacious and lovely and outside - well, facing the ocean again? How bad can that be? We ate at Gustino's three times, thanks, lovely hostess, Liliana! and they made three picky eaters very happy. One late afternoon early dinner/late lunch at Sedona Grill, also delicious. We also had great lunches on Isla Mujeres, and in Cuidad Cancun, so eating away from the hotel is not to be missed.
Very nice beach, didn't have a problem getting lounge chairs there or at the pool, although when it gets crowded you may not get your favorite spot, but that's okay... We looked at, but did not use the spa - it looked lovely, but why get on a treadmill when you can walk on the beach? (It would be great for rainy days, I'm sure!).
All in all a great stay at a lovely property. And Dave, the hotel rep for time share, the king of the not even soft sell but I'll sell if you are really interested sell, can provide more information in that regard. He was generous with his tips on trips in the area and we appreciated his friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    479
    146
    65
    44
See reviews for
613
695
42
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is a bit worn, poor service (asked for bill 3x before just leaving our room number with the hostess....) and almost anti-guest (we were asked to put away out golf ball sized battery speaker that was barely audible - then they started jack hammering around the pool). Almost every night we had to endure a wedding, corporate event, etc. - no quiet evenings listening to the waves at this property. I also felt like they would not be happy until they extracted every last cent we had. I have traveled a good bit of the world and this is probably the worst value yet. Other bizarre things were the baths had doors with glass that had some frosted areas but others in the room could easily see in, so if you took a shower, etc. ...everybody out! I coud go on, but to conclude, there are a lot of choices in Cancun, do yourself a favor, pick another one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper East Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this facility and decided to upgrade to Club 91. It was the best decision we could have made. The staff could not have been any better, any more courteous, any more helpful, or any more friendly. Daily, the food offered in the Club was top notch, beautifully presented, and a wonderful variety. All portions were in a "tapas" size. The "bar" was opened in the evening for dinner and late night offerings. It was a great experience and we would recommend it strongly. We certainly would do it again ourselves.

Room Tip: Every Club 91 room is outstanding. Great views and large balcony allowed us to relax and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall, it's a very good hotel, excellent location with sea view and comfortable room. However, it could be better and have some flaws. I don't understand Marriott still charging outrageous fees to use internet and toll free calls. This should be included in any room as a basic amenity. Kids under 18 are not allowed in the Spa. I believe they should at least allow kids in the indoor pool. During our stay, pools seemed to have an excess of chlorine, which caused skin allergy in my daughters. Double beds are narrow for 2 big adults, although very comfortable mattress. Dirty dishes and glasses were left by housekeeping in the corridor for several hours. We had to call to ask them to remove the dirty stuff after 1 day sitting in the corridor.

Room Tip: Front rooms have excellent sea view, better than the rooms with diagonal view. Rooms facing the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently at JW, planning to stay here till March 18. Traveling with twin girls (2yr) and son (9 yr). So far the stay has been pleasant but not wow. Maybe it is because this hotel is going through some pool maintenance and it doesn't look as pretty. The hotel is top notch, however there arent any daily resort activities to keep you entertained. It would have been nice if they had planned activities by the pool or perhaps movies under the stars etc. we recently (last winter break) returned from cayman island (stayed at Ritz) and our son got spoiled with all the attention he got there. With all that said, it is still a family friendly resort. Plenty of kids running around. Many good dining options. Sasi Thai resturant, connected via Marriott casa magna is a must try. I guess that is all for now. Will try to complete this review after we complete our stay. IM me if you need any additional info.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay in 2 years at this hotel. They aeed to have the same wonderful staff as before. The location is perfect, and the rooms are a very nice size. We had a Caribbean suite and it was more than larger enough for a family of 4. Check-in was quick and the staff was quick to get us into the room. The food was perfect and had many choices. The pools were as nice as many much more expensive hotels we have stayed at, and they never seem crowded and we did not ever have a problem finding seats. This was even during Spring break week. Spa was nice, and once again, staff was great in there as well. This really is one of the least expensive hotels we have stayed at and feels like one of the best. We will go back every year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the hotel is amaizing no doubt about it, but the staff.......very far from good: when check in take from 5 to 10 min. the lady who check me in (Julia) i belive is her name...... she just did not care about tell me nothing about the hotel, she was on the check in process and prefer to turn to a co-worker and have a little chat with him. when I wan to ask something she did not care, another staff member (another lady who i could not ghet her name) explain everything that i need (i check in on March 9 about 5pm or soo)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.