We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timer in Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #18 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Timer in Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My first time in Cancun was wonderful and I would definitely go back for another relaxing weekend on the beach. The JW Marriott was a beautiful resort with plenty of pool space and beach! The staff went above and beyond to bring you any and everything you needed. Food was EXCELLENT! Rooms were clean and spacious. I would definitely reccommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation by the sea. I also received a facial in the spa while here and it was amazing. We did some dinner's off the resort-"Harry's" was the BEST! Catamaran sail through Albaros Tours....their staff was fun and the day excursion was a blast!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,280
    441
    139
    63
    38
See reviews for
575
624
34
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice experience from Jan 3 - Jan 11 2013, service personnel were very nice but the resort had some issues. We upgraded to a better view right below the all inclusive 14th floor. Unfortunately the sound directly above us was consistently interrupting our tranquility with chairs and foot noise. The hot tubs both inside and out were not the typical temp you would expect but much cooler. Could not find a HOT hot tub to save my life. Service at the pool was fantastic but front desk service seemed very slow. Overall...very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We appreciate your review. We have forwarded your comments to the appropriate Department Heads to make sure that a pleasant temperature is consistently kept at all times in our hot tubs and that our Club 91, located on the highest floor, does not interrupt the tranquility of the below floors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall the JW is a nice property and you get the feel of a 5 diamond when you walk in. We arranged transportation form the airport and it was on time and quick. Nice driver...advise this as the way to go. When checking in the front desk was somewhat cordial but didn't get the warm fuzzy as I have with the Ritz. The bellman on the other hand was great. Showed us around the hotel on the way to our suite. Once there made sure the room was satisfactory and it was. Great suite with large wrap around deck area right on the ocean. The temperature of the room and cleanliness while there was excellent. We would leave a note with a request and when we came back it was done.

One area that was below standards were the restaurants at both the JW and Marriott. We ate in the Sedona Grill, Japanese, Thai and Champions. We should have eaten off property...it was that unsatisfying. My wife ordered a dish with lobster at the Sedona Grill and sent it back twice as it was well over cooked and rubbery. At the Japanese restaurant the food was overcooked. I had filet and it was cooked well done and the vegetables were well overcooked. Needless to say this was a real bummer and all we anticipated was staying property- no buses, taxus- just great service and good. Well the food let us down but the service did not. In spite of the food the knowledge care and attention we received from the staff was excellent Whoever is in charge of training the service staff at this hotel is very good.

The adult poolis great. It's peaceful with no loud music and great service. Drinks are pricy but view and service offset the premium.We were there at the end of the January and the heated pool was warm enough to swim.

End of the story- great property, beautiful ocean, friendly and exceptional service, bad food

Room Tip: What ever you do get ocean front room. The ocean is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. Our Chefs work hard to please the personal taste of each of our guests; we regret that your experience at our restaurants was not up to your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef for future improvements. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the rest of our facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second January visit and we were really pleased both times.

The biggest standout for us was the employees. They smile and greet you in a very genuine way. We feel there is a very friendly, welcoming, service oriented vibe you get from the employees. One morning we were going out for a walk and I was eating a banana in the lobby while I waited for my husband to ask a question at the front desk. As soon as I finished, a manager quickly came to take it from me and dispose of it. Attention to detail is very obvious at this property. Employees are everywhere cleaning, painting, scrubbing, etc..

Two differences I noticed from our trip a year ago. The first is that the pool is heated to a higher temperature. It was great! We were able to go in the pool after dark and still feel very comfortable. The second is that there is now a Hard Rock Hotel to the north of the JW. It's definitely a different crowd and vibe than at the JW. Strobe lights at night, Barney music from a children's activity and "Achy Breaky Heart" being sung live in a Spanish accent. We couldn't hear it if we closed our balcony door, but it definitely detracts from the peaceful vibe at the Marriott. Ask for a south facing room if this sounds unappealing to you.

We opted for Club 91. For us it was a great value. If you want to get out and try lots of restaurants, are a picky eater, or enjoy huge portions it's probably not for you.

Don't come here looking for lots of kids' activities. There definitely are children here, but they are entertained by their parents rather than organized kid activities.

Definitely try Savio's Bistro by La Dolce Vita across the street from the Casa Magna. We were able to make reservations on OpenTable.com and had some great seafood. The place looks like nothing from the outside but it has a beautiful outdoor, lagoon view, dining area with super food and service.

Drinks are expensive as they are at most resorts. At the pool bar we paid about $26 for two specialty drinks. Use caution.

Pool area and beach are both fabulous. Don't miss the beautiful indoor pool as well. Don't be afraid to use the bus either. It's $1 or even less if you use pesos. There are more tourists on the bus than locals and the drivers are friendly.

We'll be back. This property is wonderful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

make sure you get a room away from the "All Inclusive resort" to the left
(on the right is another Marriott CASAMAGNA) the all inclusive can be very noisy with music and people.
we even could hear it from the Casamagna Mariott!
Lovely heaated pool (84F) and several hot jacuzzi's. (we also stayed at the Westin at the end of the hoteleria zone and everything was very cold there!)
Great restaurants, a McDonalds across the street and a hidden restaurant at the water walk through the 7 eleven type store) Moscitos! MeuterMedia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The J.W. Marriott surprised us with its top notch service, competent concierge team, and seemingly relentless desire to please. As an Platinum Elite member of the Marriott Rewards program, my partner and I have traveled to many places across the globe, staying at some of the best Marriott branded properties. We have been to several cities and properties in Mexico but not Cancun. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the JW Marriott Cancun. The staff were impressively knowledgable and eager to share what they know about the area.

Club 91 is an absolute bargain and a must-do. The quality of the food amazed us. Our first two days of our seven night vacation was less than stellar with resort restaurant prices not worthy of the quality of the food in two of the restaurants we tried in Cancun. We decided to join Club 91 on day three, for US $125 daily per room, my partner and I moved to a room on the top floor where we had access to breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner, open bar in the evenings and dessert, all served in the private concierge lounge on the 14th floor with amazing Caribbean Sea views and concierge staff whose every ambition seems to be to create the best experience possible. The dinner "presentations" each evening were of the seven different restaurants that are part of the Marriott resorts on Cancun. The tapas or small plate presentations gave us the opportunity to taste a variety of delicious entrees each evening. Truly amazing and delicious every morning breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and dessert!

We will definitely return to the JW Marriott Cancun!

PS: As for feeling welcomed as a gay couple, the staff of the Marriott treated us like every other couple there. It was nice to see a few other same-sex couples among the guests too. Great job Marriott for knowing what inclusion of everyone is all about!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are staying here for a short three night break. This hotel is in the middle of the zona hotellera at 14.5km. It looks impressive and has a nice spacious lobby with passageway leading to the Marriot Casa Magna next door. There is a bar with a live singer at night. It wouldn't do to be too thirsty, though as you will have a long wait. There are restaurants but we only had breakfast and so cannot comment on the food there. (There is a great fish restaurant opposite Casa Magna called Fred's I really recommend). The breakfast is good with plenty of choice, from asian to mexican and continental. There is an egg station for a wide choice of egg dishes too. They also serve a decent cup of coffee.

There is a little shop selling daily needs along with pottery, clothing etc. the gym is very good with plenty of machines and plenty of towels, water and a juice bar. Cannot comment on the spa as its not my thing. There is a lot which should be right, but somehow, isn't. The atmosphere is staid and lacking life. There is more life next door and it feels more modern, which it is, as it is newer.
Our bathroom is lovely with lots of polished travertine, glass and light wood. It is also very spacious. The bedroom is in need of modernisation. It is fine, but not up to the bathroom. We have a balcony facing the ocean for which we happily paid extra. We have made more use of this than we thought as the weather is not good and the balcony is sheltered. There are several pools, but one of the largest, under our room is being repaired.

There is an option to pay extra for Club 91 for an all inclusive deal, I am glad we didn't do this as there are many good restaurants near by.

if you want to come to a nice hotel, swim in the pool, be near walking distance of good restaurants and have a very quiet night in, this could fit the bill.

In all, a good hotel but would we come back, no way.

Room Tip: High up facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.