We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JW the best but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
California, USA
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“JW the best but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

make sure you get a room away from the "All Inclusive resort" to the left
(on the right is another Marriott CASAMAGNA) the all inclusive can be very noisy with music and people.
we even could hear it from the Casamagna Mariott!
Lovely heaated pool (84F) and several hot jacuzzi's. (we also stayed at the Westin at the end of the hoteleria zone and everything was very cold there!)
Great restaurants, a McDonalds across the street and a hidden restaurant at the water walk through the 7 eleven type store) Moscitos! MeuterMedia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    455
    141
    64
    41
See reviews for
593
654
36
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The J.W. Marriott surprised us with its top notch service, competent concierge team, and seemingly relentless desire to please. As an Platinum Elite member of the Marriott Rewards program, my partner and I have traveled to many places across the globe, staying at some of the best Marriott branded properties. We have been to several cities and properties in Mexico but not Cancun. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the JW Marriott Cancun. The staff were impressively knowledgable and eager to share what they know about the area.

Club 91 is an absolute bargain and a must-do. The quality of the food amazed us. Our first two days of our seven night vacation was less than stellar with resort restaurant prices not worthy of the quality of the food in two of the restaurants we tried in Cancun. We decided to join Club 91 on day three, for US $125 daily per room, my partner and I moved to a room on the top floor where we had access to breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner, open bar in the evenings and dessert, all served in the private concierge lounge on the 14th floor with amazing Caribbean Sea views and concierge staff whose every ambition seems to be to create the best experience possible. The dinner "presentations" each evening were of the seven different restaurants that are part of the Marriott resorts on Cancun. The tapas or small plate presentations gave us the opportunity to taste a variety of delicious entrees each evening. Truly amazing and delicious every morning breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and dessert!

We will definitely return to the JW Marriott Cancun!

PS: As for feeling welcomed as a gay couple, the staff of the Marriott treated us like every other couple there. It was nice to see a few other same-sex couples among the guests too. Great job Marriott for knowing what inclusion of everyone is all about!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are staying here for a short three night break. This hotel is in the middle of the zona hotellera at 14.5km. It looks impressive and has a nice spacious lobby with passageway leading to the Marriot Casa Magna next door. There is a bar with a live singer at night. It wouldn't do to be too thirsty, though as you will have a long wait. There are restaurants but we only had breakfast and so cannot comment on the food there. (There is a great fish restaurant opposite Casa Magna called Fred's I really recommend). The breakfast is good with plenty of choice, from asian to mexican and continental. There is an egg station for a wide choice of egg dishes too. They also serve a decent cup of coffee.

There is a little shop selling daily needs along with pottery, clothing etc. the gym is very good with plenty of machines and plenty of towels, water and a juice bar. Cannot comment on the spa as its not my thing. There is a lot which should be right, but somehow, isn't. The atmosphere is staid and lacking life. There is more life next door and it feels more modern, which it is, as it is newer.
Our bathroom is lovely with lots of polished travertine, glass and light wood. It is also very spacious. The bedroom is in need of modernisation. It is fine, but not up to the bathroom. We have a balcony facing the ocean for which we happily paid extra. We have made more use of this than we thought as the weather is not good and the balcony is sheltered. There are several pools, but one of the largest, under our room is being repaired.

There is an option to pay extra for Club 91 for an all inclusive deal, I am glad we didn't do this as there are many good restaurants near by.

if you want to come to a nice hotel, swim in the pool, be near walking distance of good restaurants and have a very quiet night in, this could fit the bill.

In all, a good hotel but would we come back, no way.

Room Tip: High up facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary at the JW Marriott Cancun Jan 13-18th. We had read many reviews on Trip Advisor and now wonder how anyone could write a negative review of the place. Our experience was that the property was very luxurious, the staff was incredibly outgoing, and the food was delicious. We stayed on the property nearly all 5 days, except for a snorkeling day trip, which we booked at the hotel. The restaurants were great (Beachwalk, Mikado, Sasi Sai). We especially enjoyed ordering lunch from the Beachwalk poolside every day. The gym was really nice and never over-crowded. The indoor pool was great for laps. The bed was really comfortable. Every JW Employee was happy and helpful. The only negative I can point out is the prices of food at the on-site restaurants and gift shop, though this is on-par with other resorts I've been to (non-all-inclusive). Also, the breakfast buffet at Sedona Grill was awesome. We had a great time and definitely hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just got back from spending 9 nights at this hotel, yes hotel, NOT resort. I was utterly SHOCKED after my experience here that they had received the AAA 5-diamond award in 2012. In my humble experience (having worked for the Four Seasons Hotel brand), this place should not have received even 4 diamonds! Our check-in experience was one of the worst. We were arriving to Cancun around 1pm, so being as we were traveling with a toddler, I knew to call ahead and request an early check-in and for our minibar to be emptied out. We arrive.....NO ROOM READY. OK, fine. They weren't even at 50% occupancy, but again, ok, I'll deal.They said an hour. We'll go grab lunch.
We ate lunch poolside. The food was nothing to remember. It was certainly edible, but not a step above that. After eating, we asked for our check so we could get back to the check-in process and get our kid down for her nap. After 15 minutes of waiting, we asked again. Then again. 30 minutes went by and finally our check arrived. We go back to the front desk.
I ask about our room situation and this is the woman's response, "It is going to be an hour. We'll send a maid now." Well, we have already waited the hour we were told to wait. We go and puts around on our iPads in the lobby and I go back an hour later AND GET SCOLDED BY THE GUY AT THE FRONT DESK FOR INQUIRING! He hands me the keys in such a rude, abrupt way, I had to confront him and ask why! We were never told how to get our luggage that had been checked when we arrived, we were never told about any of the amentities of the hotel. When I asked, he again RUDELY, pointed to the bellhop and said, "Over there!" In the states, this man would no longer have a job. If I have EVER treated a hotel patron like that, I would have been fired on the spot. I never complained to the manager, but there were enough of his colleagues around for someone to step in.
We soon came to find out that really NO ONE at the hotel is taught to smile or be friendly. The door staff were great, the lounge singer was amazing, but aside from them, the waiters at the pool were unfriendly, the people in the gift shop/deli were THE WORST, and the concierge was utterly unhelpful (we tip well, so we knew it wasn't that).
On to cleanliness......I think the housekeepers do the best they can. It appeared they were understaffed because we only had them clean our room every other day and they never got to it until very late in the afternoon when we were returning from the pool. The jacuzzis had a file (I took photos) that made you want to puke. It was like a yellow bubbly substance. SO gross! The pools, the bathrooms, the everything just needed a major facelift, probably a few million. Eeek. OH-----you like sleep?? You won't sleep here. The beds must be from 1970 and they put a down comforter on the mattress to make it appear "plush." No thanks.
I would never....and I mean NEVER ever go back to this place. I would suggest you look elsewhere if you are even considering it. I understand it sounds like a cheaper option when not doing an all-inclusive (we couldn't commit to an all-inclusive because we like fine dining and variety), but expect to pay $10 per beer and then some. The food options for lunch were pretty terrible, so we would opt for the deli and spend $11 on a bag of Lay's potato chips. We would have been better off doing a super new contemporary all-inclusive and still eating out every night. Oh well, you live and you learn, but if I had read an honest review like this one, we would have never booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are really sorry that your particular experience at our property was so far from the service we are known for and we sincerely apologize for this. We always do our best to check-in our guests before the 4PM check-in time, but sometimes this might not be possible, especially during peak season. Our guests have always praised our Associates’ friendly and attentive service; we apologize that your impression was completely different; we have forwarded your comments to the involved areas to make sure a prompt and kind service is performed at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love Cancun and always stay at either the jw or casa magna Marriott. They are in a great location, right across from the aqua world water sports facility. The jw has a very nice scuba diving pool where you can do a resort course or refresher. And the staff is top notch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a pleasant visit to Cancun, enjoyed the beach and view of the beach from the hotel, and were amazed by Chichen Itza. However, we experienced a number of problems.

1. Front Desk

The front desk staff are nice but there aren't enough of them. Check-in took about 20 minutes waiting in line, check out was slowed by a problem with the bill which required three phone calls to fix. This is the management's fault.

2. Housekeeping

Upon checking in, we found two candy wrappers and three orange seeds on the carpet. Turn down service was irregular. One of the sinks was perpetually clogged. Bad training and supervision.

3. Construction quality

On the first two nights, an impolite guest upstairs or poorly insulated floors woke up repeatedly. Must be a flaw in the construction or renovation of the building. Particularly annoying since we paid extra for a suite.

4. In-house travel agent

The "hotelbeds" travel agency is recommended by the concierge and has an office on the main floor. We booked our day trip to Chichen Itza through them. Mistake!

a. "Deluxe" tour includes only a ten minute stop at the lovely little village of Vallalodid, but a 90 minute stop at a tourist trap, ostensibly a sinkhole for swimming but mostly a very bad souvenir shop preceded by touting "Mayan cartouche" jewelry by the tour guide on the bus.

b. "Deluxe" also means free alcohol served on the bus starting right after lunch. Not what I had in mind.

c. "Deluxe" also means Mayan alcohol in small flasks is sold on the bus, and passengers are expected to assist in distributing the bottles.

d. "Deluxe" means being picked up late, taken to the Wet n' Wild water park parking lot, and being made to wait in the sun for another bus for the actual tour.

e. "Deluxe" means being kicked off the bus in the evening to transfer to another much shabbier old bus to be taken the last ten minutes to our hotel. Ick.

f. The sheet from the concierge indicated $119 per person for the tour but they ripped us off for an additional $12 or so per person with some exchange rate scam.

Aside from the lovely beach, the only part of the hotel that gets five stars is the food and beverage.

We are Marriott regulars and one of us is a former US employee of the brand. We were very surprised at how weak the whole place was, and will stay somewhere else when we return.

However, on balance, we had a nice trip and we will not let this particular experience put us off Cancun for a future trip. It's a good place.

Room Tip: For a good room......try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We agree that these problems should not occur. We appreciate your review and your pointing out on the areas that we need to look more closely. Your comments have been shared with the proper Department Heads for immediate improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.