We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #17 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
pelham, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fabulous location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We switched from an all inclusive resort a bit north of Cancun because it was way too quiet for my 16 year old (and his parents) and the JW Marriott Cancun was fantastic! We had adjoining rooms on the 12th floor. Great amount of space, beautiful views of the sea and all the lovely colors. We have done a few Caribbean islands in past winters and this experience was right up with the best. Everyone ... from staff at restaurants, to cab drivers were extremely happy to assist and it is amazing the level of English spoken (my Spanish is quite rusty, but the attempt at using it was appreciated as well). The hotel is nicely situated and sharing restaurants with the adjoining Casa Magna (sp?) Marriott gave us great choices. The Beachwalk restaurant poolside, overlooking the beach was great for lunches everyday. Don't miss a long, but well worth-it, trip to Chichen Itza.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    478
    146
    65
    44
See reviews for
612
694
42
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have traveled to Cancun 8 out of the last 9 years the week prior to "Presidents Week" in the US. We have been very lucky with the weather in previous visits and once again this year, we experienced only 1 day where we had clouds for approximately 80% of the day. However, it didn't rain and the temperature in the 80's kept us out at poolside anyway. The hotel is meticulously maintained. Unfortunately, there was some minor construction or repair ongoing behind the Beachwalk Restaurant by the pool where we sat daily, but it was only a minor annoyance. I never quite understand why these repairs are scheduled for the busiest times of occupancy, but I guess some repairs are immediately needed. In any case, the staff is most courteous and helpful and very willing to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Most rooms are beautiful with a view of the ocean to some degree. My only warning about the facility is to be aware that Marriott houses large meeting facilities and on many weeks throughout the winter months they will host several LARGE groups for conventions, or company vacations. In fact, the week we were there, one group was leaving the day after we arrived and another (which occupied 95% of the entire hotel) came in the following day for a 5 day stay. We had only 2-3 days out of 8 that we were not surrounded by a large group. This is not to say that these groups are overpowering and excessively loud (which they are at the Casa Magna next door), but it's definitely not the time for families to visit the resort. You'd be smart to check ahead and see if any of these "groups" will be at the resort during your scheduled vacation. While it's a great deal for the Marriott to be completely occupied, it may not be to your liking when it's so overly crowded and it's not "kid friendly" during those weeks. However, our friends and we are used to the chaos and it's the best time for us to get away, so we try not to let it bother us.

Room Tip: Suites are nice, but obviously more expensive. Ocean view rooms are more than satisfactory and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We (my wife, two daughters 14 & 11 and myself) just returned from a surprisingly wonderful long weekend at the JW Cancun. Surprising because, in general, we are not fans of Mexico at all. We are Caribbean lovers, mainly St. Martin.

Open arrival in Cancun we were not impressed with the airport nor the 35 minutes it took to get through immigration. Then after getting our bags there was another 30 minute plus line for customs. It was disorganized, hot an humid and not a good start to our trip. After customs there was the typical Mexican barrage of people trying to sell us a ride. Sense we had booked the Club 91 level at the JW (best choice we ever made) we had transportation arranged. After looking at 150 plus placards we found the one that said JW, were pulled off to another area where we waited another 10 - 15 minutes for our van. From here out our trip was excellent. The van was great, clean and quick and we dropped a few off at the other Marriot (next door) then went to the JW.

With Club 91 you have private check in upstairs on the 14th floor. We were given a tour of everything on the way up and every single staff member was courteous and helpful. After check in we had a light lunch in the Club and headed down to the pool for a few hours.

The pool area and beach areas are great. Service is excellent for Mexico and everyone is friendly. Our 11 year old made friends and never left the pool unless we coralled her during our stay.

Club 91 had a full breakfast buffet, light (but plenty) lunch, afternoon tea (we never wen't) and dinner. Dinner is from a different restaurant each night. It is basically Tapas style but more than enough. Some families did it every time, others sent the teenagers and went out, other couples used it in the same manner. We ate dinner in two nights and went out (Lorenzillos and Gustinos) the other two. There are free drinks from 6-10PM every night but few took advantage as much as my wife and I did.

In our walks on the Beach we were really impressed with Cancun. The water and sand are great! It is a long stretch of hotels but most are all-inclusive mixed crowds and the JW is the nicest BY FAR.

We were not impressed with going into the Resort and dining area. There are crazy clubs and pushy peddlers which isn't our style. We will be back and will not leave the property other than to walk the beach.

BTW, I think I saved a couple hundred dollars over all by going the Club 91 route and know that we wouldn't have enjoyed the trip anywhere near as much if we hadn't!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was my wife's and my second stay at the JW in the last 8 months, our business association returned here they liked it so much. I was here on business and extended my stay. Brought the whole family including our twin 4 year old boys. The whole hotel property is wonderful. Our suite was nice, clean and larger then I expected. The pool and the beach are magnificent. Hotel staff is always helpful, pleasant and responsive to all your needs. The door men are friendly and called me by my name the length of the stay. Concierge service is great, we used it numerous times for dinner arrangements. We also like being able to walk to Marriott Casa Magna next door for casual dining and sports at Champs. JW also located walking distance from Aquaworld if you want to enjoy watersports.

Overall the JW provided two wonderful stays for me. They treated my family extremely well and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We traveled to Cancun to get away from the cold weather in Michigan in January and stayed at the J.W. Marriott in Cancun for five nights using Marriott points. We were not disappointed. We got upgraded to the 12th floor with a great view of the pool and ocean. J.W. and Marriott's Casa Magna are connected thus offering at least eight restaurants to choose from. Our favorite was an Italian restaurant named Gustino's. We also liked Mikado and the Beach Walk Market Place. No issues with security. We felt very safe. The hotel was only about one half occuppied so we had no problems obtaining beach or pool lounge chairs.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, UT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a great time at the resort. They were very helpful and attentive. The pool is great and the beach is one of nicest anywhere. The sand was white powder in front of the marriott. We walked up and down the beach each day, but the sand in front of the JW was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is definitely one of the nicest, if not nicest, hotel on the Cancun peninsula, and the location is great. While you are not close to the more touristy areas of Cancun (up toward km 12- km 4), it's a good thing. We ventured up to this area several times, and while there are malls and shopping up there, the hotels were crowded, cheesy, and just not our style whatsoever. Any of that is an easy $1 (or ~10 peso) trip away on the bus.

We did stay here on reward points, and stayed in the JW Oceanfront Suite. The suite was very spacious, but a bit awkward in design - it clearly had started as two separate rooms, but overall, was just fine. 2 great balconies and a large bathroom.

Service was top-notch. Everyone who works here clearly is expected to meet high levels of customer satisfaction, from the bell hop to the staff in the coffee bar/gift shop, to the restaurant staff.

Cons: Limited "normal" food options. This is an issue with this entire part of the hotel zone. There are some very good restaurants (Hacienda Sisal (down the street past the Ritz-Carlton) and Mikado at the Casa Maga Marriott next door to the JW) were our favorites. But, these are all relatively upscale restaurants. I personally do not prefer to eat like this at dinner, every night for an entire week, even on vacation :-)

Our only complaint about the hotel itself was that the last 2 days of our trip, they were hosting what appeared to be an annual sales boondoggle for a company called Aerotek, and they pretty much took over the place. The last day we were there, they rolled out speakers into the nice, quiet pool area, and "thump thump thump" house music at 10:30am (not my thing). We could no longer hear the ocean :-( I know these large events make a lot of money for the hotel, but I felt like I was a visitor to their party since there were so many of them.

Despite this, we had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.