We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nefi is awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Make Your Own Tour

Make Your Own Tour
Porto savona #19, Cancun 77533, Mexico
+52 998 169 7714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 220 Tours & Activities in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In Make Your Own Tour we help you plan your vacation to the fullest in the Yucatan peninsula, with different activities such as archeological sites, natural wells, reservoirs, bays, eco-parks, etc. Our experience as tourist guides, lets us know what is best for you and your family. Also we do Private tours to Chichen Itza, Tulum, Coba, Ek Balam. Tour privato in italiano. Visite privee en francais. Privat-Tour in Deutsch. We can help you in different languages, just ask us for your language. Private tours in Cancun Private tours in Playa del Carmen Private tours in Tulum Visite privee a Cancun Tour privato in cancun
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nefi is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 tours with Nefi, #2 & #5. 2 was to Tulum, tankah private park, cenote dos ojos, and akumal. Tulum was beautiful and his tour was very informative we also had free time to explore on our own. The private park was awesome, zip lining, canoing, swimming and an authentic Mayan lunch( included), then snorkeling the cenote dos ojos was amazing make sure you go into the bat cave, then we went swimming with sea turtles at akumal. An incredible tour for those who want variety and to stay away from the tourist traps. #5 was chichen itza, ik-kil cenote, and ek-balam archealogical site. His tours are very informative and to the point, ik kil is a thing of beauty and a wonderful swim plus lunch, and ek balam was my favorite site. This site is not as well advertised like chichen and tulum. But well worth it, you can actually walk on the temples and sites and go to the top where only the high priest was allowed unlike chichen and tulum. Not as big as the other two but more hands on and it's not even fully excavated yet awesome awesome site. Nefi is a super nice guy, good English and free snacks and water, well worth the price, private transportation ( ac of course) informative tours and variety. I am not one to be corralled like sheep onto a big bus with an impersonal tour guide who makes money selling packages or some employee who could care less what Quality of your you get. Book Nefi or anger kulkulcan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make your own Tour - Nefi is your guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided that none of the standard tours fit our needs, so we contacted Nefi with Make your own tour. He was very knowledgeable, helped us figure out what would work best for our needs and we planned out an awesome day tour. We visited 4 different areas - Coba, Tulum, Cenote (underground rivers and caverns - including a bat cave), and also went snorkeling with the sea turtles. What a great day. The tour included a fabulous buffet, and a tour guide that had great knowledge of the best places to visit. All of the places we visited - we felt like we had the best of the experience - bikes to tour coba, different aspects to Tulum that we didn't get on a previous tour, very unique cenote snorkeling, and Nefi took us right to the sea turtles in the ocean. Great tour guide - you need to book with NEFI.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Like traveling with national geographic channel and discovery channel combined!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have gone on tours with Carlos two years in a row now. Once to Tulum and then to chitzinitza and ek balam. Carlos suggested Ek Balam and it was the best
Kept secret ever. Wasn't crowded.. We got to walk through inside and on the ruins!! Was AMAZING. Carlos is an anthropologist and his knowledge of the culture was priceless. He was very kind and our tour included a lunch which was fabulous also. As sn extra touch he stopped on the way home and bought us a sample of the best smoked meat in the country. Literally!! It was amazing!! I strongly suggest you call them for a tour you won't be disappointed!! It's a once in a lifetime tour. If I could give him TEN STARS I would!!! GO SEE EK BALAM!! Worth the drive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our trip to Cancun would not have been complete without our tour with Nefi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Our trip to Cancun would not have been complete without our tour with Nefi. He took care of all the logistics for transportation, lunch, park entry tickets, and even snorkel equipment for a bonus excursion to see sea turtles! At Coba, we bicycled between a dozen Mayan structures learning about the history and their number system along the way. Nefi assured us that the world wouldn’t end in 2012! The best part was swimming in a “private” underground cenota before other tourists showed up. Thanks to Nefi, our group of 6 received special attention and flexibility at a comparable price to larger public tours.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Nefi is a WONDERFUL tour guide. From the first time I contacted him, he was very responsive and helpful. He helped to plan a tour around our budget that worked with our schedules. We were even able to add another two couples to our tour last minute (we were in Cancun for a wedding) and Nefi was very accommodating! We toured the ruins at Coba, swam in a Cenote, and then added on a stop at Akumal last minute to swim with the sea turtles. It was an incredible trip.

Everything was planned wonderfully. We arrived at Coba before large tour groups, where Nefi had arranged for us to have bikes to ride around, and he did a great job of timing out his stops at different sites at Coba so that we weren't around huge crowds. He gave us plenty of time to climb the huge temple at our own pace. We stopped for a Mayan buffet lunch (also included in the tour), and then went to the cenote. If you have never been to a cenote, you must make sure to have Nefi take you! After the cenote, we had asked Nefi if he knew of a place to swim with sea turtles, and he stopped at Akumal on the way back towards Cancun for us to check it out. He had snorkeling gear all ready for us, and even hung out on the beach watching all of our stuff as we were in the water.

Nefi has extensive experience as resident tour guide at Tulum and has spent pretty much his whole like around the ruins. He also has an educational background relating to Mayan history, so he is incredibly knowledgable. He is fun, personable, trustworthy, timely, and a very great driver. Also, his English is excellent. I would definitely recommend him for any type of tour you're interested in doing in the area (he's also a master diver for those scuba fans out there, and has lots of options for helping to create the dream tour for anyone!). So glad we booked this for our vacation!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Make Your Own Tour also viewed

 

Been to Make Your Own Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Make Your Own Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.