We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Cancun Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Cancun Centro to your Saves list
ibis Cancun Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tulum y Nichupte, Cancun 77504, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Beware! The rooms are teenie-tiny, European style. The shower is like that on a cruise ship. If this does not stop you, then keep reading. We used this hotel as our first night since we got into Cancun very, very late and didn't want to pay an all-inclusive rate at the resort we were staying at the next nights. It worked out perfectly. The room was clean and modern, everything worked well. The buffet breakfast the next morning was very good and there is a small mall you can walk to across the street.
I would recommend as long as you are not claustrophobic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveToTravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Cancun Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Martin RODRIGUEZ
General Manager Hotel Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Bottomline, this was a good hotel to stay at in downtown Cancun to make an early departure from the international airport, very no-frills but good enough. While the price I received was low based upon a no cancellation or change policy, an honest mistake in scheduling was made due to working between two monthly calendars - one that started the week on Sunday and one that started on Monday. After exchanging several e-mails explaining the situation (always a fairly quick reply), we were told they would change the date if I would provide the security code on my credit card. I stopped into the hotel to give them the information and was told it would be impossible to change the date. I left the hotel and ended up making a second reservation over the internet. I also asked for contact information to the corporate headquarters. I never received another reply from the hotel and was not provided with the contact information I requested. They stay was fine but there seems to be little room for representatives to work with customers in a positive manner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin_D0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Cancun Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Martin RODRIGUEZ
General Manager Hotel Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here as a couple to get away from the Gran Bahia Principe
in akumal, this place is a good value.
clean and modern small room with a comfortable bed and a view on the
city..... i think about 30 mins of bus away from the beach
Got a great deal on a package of wine and a bottle
of don julio from the walmart nearby.... a short bus away :)
breakfast- not really the best here. we hit up the mcdonald's
which had different mexican(spicy!) options which were actually decent.

shower was good with the huge glass doors!
free wifi in room


there is a mall across the street called Plaza Las Americas mall
It is huge and you can find anything in there
a good grocery store in there with very good prices is Chedraui!

overall a decent stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybeachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Cancun Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Martin RODRIGUEZ
General Manager Hotel Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's not that this hotel isn't clean (it is) or that the staff aren't friendly or helpful (they are) or that the room lacked amenities (they were there), my problem is that the rooms are TINY and I'm not one to complain about the size of a hotel room. The room was so small that we had to block the door with our luggage to open it, the beds were somehow smaller than twin size and hard as rocks, and you could wash you hands without having to leave the toilet. As I said, the size of a hotel room rarely bothers me, but this was like nothing I had ever experienced before. When on vacation I prefer to have room to spread out and relax and that wasn't happening here. My recommendation.....if you made it to Ibis you can made it 5 minutes down the road to La Quinta. They don't have a restaurant in the hotel (there are several across the street), they don't have a car rental company (there is a car rental desk near the check in desk), but they do have large, well furnished, comfy rooms and bathrooms with all the same amenities as Ibis for about $10 more per night.....it's a no brainer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Cancun Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Martin RODRIGUEZ
General Manager Hotel Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Beach
Level Contributor
304 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

It is a hotel used more by locals. There is an Italian restaurant next door and also a market. Also just outside the door is a car rental agency and but company (to and from airport). The hotel has a modern if minimalistic look. The staff is very friendly and there is usually someone at the reception desk who speaks English. Breakfast is extra (about $6), but is a large Mexican spread including chilequiles and other delights. My biggest issue with the breakfast area, is that my clothes smelled greasy after I went to breakfast, so I started wearing old clothes to breakfast to solve that issue. The windows don't open. The rooms are very small with practically no space to put clothes. The room was cleaned really well some days and others not so well (dirty floor, no new towels, etc.). They did have shower gel, but no kleenex or additional soap or shampoo. i bought those things. There is a hairdryer. The shower is odd, since the glass door opens in, so you cannot turn on the water until you are inside. They you get a surprise of hot or cold water coming out until you can correct it. Not usually pleasant. The AC worked well, but when it cycled off, there was an odd "urine" oder around the whole room. Since the window doesn't open, I was then stuck with that odor. The hall ways were usually dirty. They have an area with an iron and ironing board. Oddly that is where the staff likes to stack room service dirty trays. I was there 2 weeks and one time saw the trays stack up with old food and debris for 4 days until removed. Thank heavens I didn't need to iron during that time. There is no pool. The pillows were horrible. LIke a sack of clumped rags. I couldn't sleep and had to go out and purchase a pillow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, We had take action to correct this issues in order to prevent future ocurrences.

Is our Hope you give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Martin Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is only a good choice if you are here to work.
Otherwise, pay more and find something on the hotel zone.

The good:
- very cheap
- clean
- friendly staff

The bad:
- hard mattress
- small room

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. It will help us to improve our services.
Hope to see you soon in Cancun.

M Rodriguez
GM ibis cancun centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Ibis hotel at its best. Nothing less and nothing more....just perfect for if you are a few days in the area.
The staff were very professional and knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at ibis Cancun Centro, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Cancun Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Martin RODRIGUEZ
General Manager Hotel Ibis Cancun Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#37 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oasis Smart
Oasis Smart
#41 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#111 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#52 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#62 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ramada Cancun City
Hotel Ramada Cancun City
#134 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Cancun Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Cancun Centro

Address: Av Tulum y Nichupte, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Cancun Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cancun Centro hotel is located in the city's largest commercial and financial district, a short walk from Las Americas shopping center, just 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the crystal-clear Caribbean beaches of Cancun. The hotel offers 190 modern and comfortable rooms, the "Rendez Vous" restaurant and a bar with a 24-hour snack service. There is free Internet whether you're on business or pleasure, parking and access for people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ibis Cancun Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cancun Centro Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing