We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb atmosphere, lovely resturants, gourmet food, beautiful beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris

Save Saved
You added GR Caribe by Solaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Cancun 77500 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb atmosphere, lovely resturants, gourmet food, beautiful beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The recently remodeled all-inclusive resort has the "feel" of the Mediterranean or Santorini Greece. We had a balcony suite overlooking the Caribeean beach that had a small kitchenette, kingsize bed, flat screen TV, wonderful tile shower and free Wifi . Room service was available but the resturant overlooking the beach was so much fun! Gourmet style mealsin three resturants were varied, delicious, and served with dignity. The resort staff are extremely friendly and the facitilies (from outdoor courtyards to indoor lounges) are well maintained and extremely clean. The beach, pools, whirlpools overlooking the ocean and spa facilities were fantastic. The resort trips were interesting (underground river) with transportation into city bars and shopping. Great vacation with friends; planning our return trip!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony suite overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    608
    214
    138
    101
See reviews for
421
532
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the GR Caribe in the beginning of May. We really enjoyed the trip. The room was pretty good the beds were very comfy. Housekeeping staff did a great job even though my teen daughter’s suitcase exploded every day all over the room. They went far above and beyond tidying. Room service was fine and a nice option to have especially when one of the family got too much sun. Food throughout the resort and the sister resort, Royal Solaris, was pretty good. Bogavante restaurant was the best! Spa was very nice. The grounds were great. It was nice having the option to stay at the quiet calm GR pool or go over to the party zone Royal Solaris pool depending on our mood. We met a lot of nice people from around the world.
I would say the VERY BEST FEATURE was the Staff. Omar at the front desk was so accommodating and courteous. The bartenders at the GR were great and were more than willing to visit even with our non-existent skills at attempting Spanish. The waiters’ at the restaurants were extremely good. I only wish resorts in Canada and the States had the level of service you experience in Mexico. We stay at the Fairmont a lot in Canada and although the service is better than most other chains is still doesn’t come anywhere near Cancun’s service. The only negative of the whole trip was the time share presentation we were talked into. Even though the first two ladies were at least very polite about the whole thing, the CLOSER was downright hostile when we didn’t go for the deal. Just say no and don’t even consider the presentation unless you are in the market for a timeshare. The 90 min max they estimated was well over 2 hours and very unpleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Upon arriving- we found 2 dead crabs in our room! Our blinds were broken and stayed down! The walls had cracks and smashed dead bugs on them! We found a huge dead roach by the children's bed- the lamps did not work- the television did not work! I was rinsing the kid's swim suits out in the sink and the sink fell out of the basin! It started to rain and the window leaked the rain water inside the room. Then it got bad.... the water flooded our room! It came in through the door! Our entire floor was flooded! Our kids were on the beds watching the staff workers fill buckets of water! Our bath tub did not drain and our sink fell out- flooded room- dead crabs & roaches! REALLY!
Please pick somewhere other than here to spend your time & money!

Not once were we asked if we needed a drink at poolside nor beach side!
Beds were a total nightmare! Hard- stiff- terrible sheets!

This was a terrible Father's Day trip for our family!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I just got back from a wonderful trip in Cancun Mexico and the GR Cribe was my place of stay! I couldnt be more happier witht he choice I made. The Staff was so nice and friendly, always asking if we wanted drinks (i miss that so much) and the food was awesome. There were so many options we never ate away from the hotel. People complained about the bed being hard...well the bed is a bit firm but it didnt break my sleep. However on the last day a couple moved in next to us and decided to argue all night and that did break my sleep. Also the water in the shower was fine as well. Turn the knob to "C" and it got hot instantly. Our room was perfect. Balcony over looking the ocean just beautiful. Although the people that we went with had to change rooms 3 times before it was right. LOL There luck wasnt as good as ours I guess. But I would definalty reccomend this hotel to anyone. Great place for the money. The staff was always cleaning and smiling.. All around I would go again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Just got back from a vacation in Cancun and couldn't be any happier with the GR Caribe. Some of the reviews complained of a hard bed. Truth is they are not so bad! If you keep yourself busy and enjoy everything Cancun has to offer, you will sleep like a baby. Peope can't expect hotel beds to feel like their own. The room is spacious clean and has everything you need to make yourself at home. We had no issues w/ hot water as others criticized. A couple times the water temp would change from hot to warm but no major issues whatsoever. The staff at the GR was phenomenal! Diego who is one of the waiters is exceptional!!!!! Please tip him good for all the hard work he does. See it for yourself. The lobby is beautiful and has great music. We never struggled finding seating in the pool area. This hotel is great for relaxation. Definitely not a party hotel. Perfect for couples or families.
Really there were no cons. What I would suggest is to have breakfast next door at the Solaris. Its practically the same but the Solaris has a few more options. The pool area at the solaris is also bigger but everything is fantastic at the GR. You get access to both when you book at the GR but not the other way around. Feel free to ask me any questions if you're looking to book here. Otherwise, best of luck in your travels.

Room Tip: Book at the GR to also get access to the Solaris.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I can't believe the reviews I have just read......we just returned from the most luxurious Mexican vacation we ever had - don't know where these people stayed, but it could not have been here! We originally booked at the Royal Solaris and thanks to Alberto at the front desk, we were able to upgrade to the Caribe. Much more elegant setting with access to the gourmet restaurants located on that side. Pool was fantastic, food in every restaurant was excellent - waiters were wonderful (Carlos, Victor, Diego). Room was spotless and spacious , bed was comfortable, shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. Nightly entertainment at the Royal Solaris was phenomenal - these kids put on a great show every night! The spa was as good as any high class spa here in the states and much more reasonably priced (Terri was fantastic). My only slightly negative comment is about the time share people - they do come right over to you as soon as you check in, but if you stop them before they engage you in a conversation, you will be fine. They do call the room, however, if you politely decline they will not bother you again. Overall, I think this was the best vacation I have ever been on!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

My Brother and I booked a week in March (2011) at the GR Caribe. We arrived at midnight on the Friday and checked in. When we went to our room we opened the door and were overwhelmed by the smell of sewage. We opened the window and called the reception who told us they couldn't do anything that evening.

We then started to notice other things about our room. First, My brother noticed that the room door had been recently forced open, we could tell because the frame was cracked all the way around and the section of the door frame that holds the locking mechanism had been replace with a new peice of wood, This repair we feared would not hold back anyone who wanted to enter our room. Secondly, our bathroom sink was cracked and was leaking on the floor. Thirdly, one set of bed sheets seemed clean but had several large stains. We slept with the window and one eye open that night.

In the morning we spoke to several people at reception with our concerns and we thought they would move us to another room. Instead they told us they would fix what they could. We asked to talk to a supervisor, when she arrived she gave us attitude and basicly said that we couldn't be moved and so on. We asked for a refund and decided to find another hotel. They said they would refund 6 out of seven nights. In the end they refunded only 5 out of 7 nights.

In conclusion, I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. The room was awful and the management's inability to find a solution was unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Cancun 77500 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#34 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Lobster dinner included (one per adult, per stay, min 4 nights stay), imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GR Caribe by Solaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.