We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal for the $ in El Centro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda de Castilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda de Castilla to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 17 sm. 64 mz. 23 lote 9-14, Cancun 77524, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best Deal for the $ in El Centro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights for around $22 U.S a night. Room was large, clean, good A/C, TV. Bed was comfortable, staff was very ice. The property itself is in good shape, the neighborhood is a little shabby, however it's relatively convenient. 10 min walk to El Centro, 15 to the ADO. Lots of cheap restaurants nearby, and cheap taxi to about anywhere you want to go. If you are looking for basic, inexpensive accommodations, It's hard to beat!

Room Tip: Upper floor facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
43
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

bad location, they said free breakfast didnt get it, they finally took off one breakfast, coffee extra, service fees extra, this place is way out in bad area, hard to find, nice hotel but bad location, while i drove to airport to pick up my friend, police robbed me, so, stay on the other side of this across tulum, not this side other side,,,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I booked Expedia's 3-star "hidden hotel" and was booked here. Even though I wanted to stay downtown I was initially concerned because it's not close to anything - restaurants, shops, transportation, etc. I decided to treat it as an adventure and walk as much as possible - 10 minutes to catch the bus, 20 minutes to the Isla Mujeres ferry, and so on. There are also taxis on hand if you don't feel like walking.
There is a simple restaurant on-site with good, inexpensive food.
The wifi is decent, although it did cut in and out occasionally.
I shower at night so didn't experience the cold showers others have mentioned.
The staff spoke enough English that communication wasn't an issue.
I, a solo woman, never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood. But I will admit I didn't walk after dark. I'm adventurous, not stupid.
I can recommend this hotel for those who are on a budget, adventurous, or don't mind not being in the middle of everything.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is in Downtown Cancun about 7 miles from the Resort hotel & beaches area. Taxi costs 120 Pesos to beaches but coming back taxis will charge 200 Pesos to leave resort area. You can walk to main road & take the RR-1 (Route 1) bus 9.5 Pesos one way to the Resorts/beaches this same bus will take you back downtown. Plenty of inexpensive restaurants downtown. This is a nice quiet hotel, no frills, has onsite restaurant & bar (Did not try) and swimming pool. TV, strong Wi-Fi. The beds are kinda small & hard mattress but locals are short people...so. Downtown area is safe to walk around at night because there is plenty of people walking around. Only two issues, one the daily room rate is $30.00 day, Hotels.com charged me $55.00 day so will be calling them about this also there is no hot water, just lukewarm so had to take quick showers. Frontdesk people are nice & there is usually a few taxis waiting outside...good hotel for budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is probably the best value in Cancun. It's about a 10 minute walk into town but the bus in is just minutes from the hotel door. The staff is kind and speaks very good English. The pool area is beautiful and the restaurant serves up delicious breakfasts with smiling service.

The room is a beautiful midrange room for budget hostel prices. Great Value!

Room Tip: Room 201 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Pro:
1) Friendly staff
2) Free wifi, free computer in the lobby

Con:

1) We spent 2 hours on the road to find this hotel. The address appears in Google map is not accurate, we follow the map, but failed to find it. I suggested Expedia list the accurate longitude and latitude.
2) We also use iPad/Android navigation app called Navigon to search for the hotel name, as well as address, but nothing found. So I am just curious how other people find it.

In summary, we drove in Cancun Downtown, spent 2 hours, asked 5 local people (including 3 staff from other hotels, who can speak English), and eventually we found it in the middle night.

3) Nothing interesting nearby, if you are going to the best beach, you will need 20 mins taxi.

4) No hair dryer in room and even the whole hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only stayed one night between flights. Friendly staff. Slow, but working and free computers in lobby. Close to ADO bus station for 15 minute walk during the day. Otherwise negotiate a 25 pesos taxi ride from ADO. Slummy area of town. Take a flashlight for night. Just a basic room. Clean and quiet. I opened window to get fresh air rather than use air-conditioner. If safety is of concern, ask for a room away from roof access. Work was in progress at hotel (until about 10 pm) so some noise down the hall. Pool is cold and very small....no way to swim and no ambience for sitting around relaxing on the couple of plastic deck chairs. Picture of pool is misleading. I gave it 4 and not 3 stars because it is cheap for Cancun. I got it at Xmas time for under $45.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Castilla

Address: Calle 17 sm. 64 mz. 23 lote 9-14, Cancun 77524, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda de Castilla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda de Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.