We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ultramar

Ultramar
Cancun: Hotel Zone & Puerto Juarez, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 242 6402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Attractions in Cancun
Type: Tours, Other
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived in playa and had never taken the ferry, I had looked online at a ferry schedule prior to arrival, it said they were basically every hour. A man from the ultramar counter came up, I asked him if they were the only company, he said they were the government boat (I took that to mean government controlled public transit). We didnt know you could buy 1 way tickets, they just sold us a round trip. It was about $60 for my husband and I (which was way too much). The boat was small, and overcrowded. We finally arrive and its raining, when we try to leave at 1:05 we are informed they have a 4 hour siesta so we have to wait. On the way back it was better, we sat on top, where there was a live band (this is the only reason I gave 2 points) that sang feliz navidad!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    432
    101
    14
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We use Utramar to get around to the islands from Cancun. Great service and very clean and fast. It is fun to see the entertainment on board. Also easy to rent a golf cart from the vendors. They are the best on the island.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best way to travel between Cancun and Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Be sure you go to Puerto Juarez and take the Ultramar Ferry to Isla Mujeres. The ride is smooth, air conditioning or open air seating available. Refreshment bar and entertainment. Very clean and comfortable. The alternative is basically a tug boat with no air and very choppy ride. Very dirty and uncomfortable. Schedule is every half hour from 5:00 am to 11:30 pm. The last ferry leaving Isla is 12:00 am.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok ride but price changed overnight?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

website still says us$17 rt from playa tortugas, but we were told today that fare just jumped to us$19 now. ride is a little rough due to smaller size of boat. The ferry boat goes to PJ looks much bigger, would've went with that if we knew the boats are different.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great to visit Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Cheap and quick service, the ferry terminal was a short walk from our hotel Riu Penninsula Palace. Even had a guy singing and tap dancing to entertain us on our 20 minute journey. We booked the golf buggy on the ferry for us to drive around the island.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultramar also viewed

 

Been to Ultramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.