We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultramar

Ultramar
Cancun: Hotel Zone & Puerto Juarez, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 242 6402
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Book a Tour
Ranked #50 of 220 Tours & Activities in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Amazing service every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Rode this ferry 4 times during our stay. Never disappointed. Never missed a boat, never hassled, always well advised and a smooth trip each way. I love this service

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    479
    117
    19
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reliable and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Quick trip from Cancun to Isla Mujeres via Ultramar. Well worth the $28.00 per person roundtrip. The Ultramar vessels are clean, comfortable, and visually appealing. The upper deck offers fantastic views, live musical entertainment, and snack and beverage service. The lower deck is air-conditioned and offers comfortable seats, snack and beverage service, and a restroom.
The vessels run frequently and the round trip tickets do not require you to select a return time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Isla by Ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Easy access to Isla Mujeres. Ferry runs often and the seating on the roof makes for good sightseeing. The color of the water is beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took the bus from Riu Palace Las Americas to Playa Tortuga and took a delightful ferry ride to & from Isla Mujeres. We rode the ferry two days on our vacation and one of the afternoons was a horrible rainstorm. We rode on the bottom, inside of the ferry and it was comfortable and very clean.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quick easy trip to Isla Mujeres”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very easy ferry trip to the island. Be sure to check departure times however. I met several people that did not and they had to wait a while for the next boat. Only $17 round trip pp so not too expensive. The bus route is only 9 pesos and will drop you off directly in front of where you buy your round trip ticket and board the boat. Live singers going both ways was fun. They also take a picture of you with the ferry in the background before you board the ferry. On the way back, they have it printed up ready to sell for only $10. Well worth it. The pic is awesome! They make it look like the cover of a travel magazine. Will definitely be using this ferry the next time I'm in Cancun.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultramar also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Ultramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.