We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1/2 day of fishing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charter Fishing Cancun

Charter Fishing Cancun
Boulevard Kukulcan, Z.H, K.M 6.5 | Marina Aquatours, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 200 3240
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a reliable fishing company and we offer a completely personalized services with reasonable and competitive prices. Our boats are eqquiped for sport fishing, with capacity for 8- 12 passengers. For us, safety comes first, that is why we have all the necesary equipment, insurance for passengers and all fishing licenses that requires mexican goverment. The captain and the crew are life experienced. We are hard working and honest people.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great 1/2 day of fishing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked a 4 hour charter last minute while on a family trip to Cancun. Fernando (the owner) was prompt with email responses and was very informative. We caught 9 barracuda and 2 horse eyed jacks. My 13 y/o and 11 y/o reeled in multiple fish and this was a highlight of the trip! Crew made suggestions to fit our group and the conditions of the day- very attentive and aware of our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    9
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Professional great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Myself and my family recently visited Cancun and had previously looked at various companies to go fishing with. Fernando was very informative, honest and responded to my email very quickly. We had an 8 hour trip on the 38ft boat with 3 of us on board. I was impressed to learn we had a captain and 2 crew on board for the day trip who all went out of their way to ensure we had a good catch. After catching live baits we quickly moved on to trolling and caught our first fish which was a Jack Cavalli then a Wahoo both of decent sizes. My 8yr old son and my partner also caught numerous Tuna. In total we caught 11 fish of different species.
Thanks to Fernando and all the crew that made the day what it was, look forward to seeing you all next year.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I chose Fernando based on all the reviews and suggestions on Tripadvisor. He answered all of my questions via emails before booking our trip in a prompt manner and I could tell immediately that I liked this guy. Everything ran perfectly smooth and we thoroughly enjoyed out time with the crew. There were 3 of us and 3 crew members so it was a one on one experience. The crew was fun and accommodating above and beyond our expectations. Our time went by too quickly and we would have loved to have stayed out all day with this crew. Thank you Fernando and crew - hopefully, we will be back in high season and book an all day trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trolling on Cap. Ferrat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After emailing various fishing charter companies, we chose Fernando's company based on reviews and communication. There were 8 of us in Cancun for a bachelor party and we wanted a larger boat with lots of deck space. We booked Cap. Ferrat for a 6 hour trip on August 23rd. For the price and size of boat it was a good value compared to other companies. Fernando arranged transportation for us to and from the dock which was included in the price (other companies charge extra). We were picked up at 7:15 and shoved off from the dock at 8am. Fernando made sure to stock the boat with beer and even brought requested ingredients to make ceviche with some of the fish we caught. Sailfish season was nearly over so we elected to go trolling in shallower water. We caught our first barracuda within 30 minutes of leaving the harbor. We trolled for a good 3 hours after that and managed to catch bonita, tuna, grouper, trigger fish, baracuda, and jack crevalle. After trolling we switched to bottom fishing for the last 2 hours and caught more grouper along with a snapper. As we requested beforehand, Fernando and his crew let us hook our own fish which makes the fishing experience more rewarding. You are responsible for the rod & reel if you lose it hooking the fish, but that is understandable. We hit a couple rain storms while we were out but it wasn't really an issue. Half of our crew was more concerned with keeping their breakfast down because they stayed out too late the night before. :) Fernando's crew handled everything well and even took care of the guys that got sick, while we made fun of them. Once we got back to the dock the captain fileted the fish we wanted to keep and made ceviche for us while we enjoyed some beers. We had a great time on the Cap. Ferrat and would not hesitate to book again with Fernando.

Cheers!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honesty and professionalism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would definitely recommend Charter Fishing Cancun for anyone vacationing in Cancun or Playa del Carmen. Fernando is very professional and seems to really love what he does. He goes out of his way to make sure his clients needs are met.
We did some research on the web about the fishing companies based in Cancun and sent some e-mails asking about what we could expect to fish on the dates we would be in Cancun. Fernando was very honest. He told us that the billfish season was over and that fishing was running slow, that it would be hard to catch bill fish. However, at the end of our trip, we caught 3 snappers, little groupers, bonitos and a very decent mahi.

We will be using them again next time we go to Cancun and would recommend them to anyone who wants a memorable Cancun experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charter Fishing Cancun also viewed

 

Been to Charter Fishing Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter Fishing Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.