We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katsu-Ya

Katsu-Ya
Blvd Kukulkan Km 13.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The lower platform bar area is great in the evening. Look for the wild crocs hanging out near the pier

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem It will quickly become your favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were searching for a place for our family to enjoy some sushi, but couldn't find any places that had a good to excellent rating AND were close to the hotel zone. Katsu-Ya didn't even come up on our search, but we stopped in anyway because it was across the street from the Royal Sands.
We had a late lunch there and the service, atmosphere and food were awesome. We were given an appetizer while waiting for our food and it was amazing. My wife and I and my two teenage daughters were in heaven when we left to go back and rest our full stomaches by the pool.
We all decided that we would go again for dinner on our last night, but unfortunately we forgot to call ahead and get reservations. When we arrived they asked if we had them, and my heart sunk because we had forgot. The host was so kind and asked if we would mind sitting outside on the patio/bar/lounge area. ARE YOU KIDDING! We were more than pleased with the offer and found the outside dinning better than our view inside for lunch. We were thrilled at how well they treated us even though we were still in our daytime clothes. The music and video screens were much to the delight of my wife and daughters as they danced and ate in their seats. My daughters thought they were so cool because they got to see what a club feels like.
So to conclude, I don't really know why more people have not reviewed Katsu-Ya, but my guess is that it isn't very remarkable from the street view, and most would find it hard to spot flying by in a bus or taxi. My recommendation is to try it, and you will agree that it should be on the top of the list here on Trip Advisor.

Cheers

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

food was not up to US sushi standards, service was lacking. great location on the bay.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As Great as last year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We always enjoy the Sushi here! We sat outdoors this time and enjoyed the ambiance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale Japanese Restaurant in Hotel Zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Katsu-Ya, open just over a year, is a visual delight. It has an expansive menu of Japanese dishes as well as the usual sushi. The buttered clam appetizer was to die for.

The setting and service were excellent. More importantly, the food was well done. After the clams, i had the mixed sashimi platter, my wife who likes sushi as long as it is cooked had an eel roll and another roll, our vegetarian friend had two veggie rolls and her husband had the beef sukiyaki. We all were pleased.

The place has a nightclub / disco but not much was happening. We ate outside overlooking the lagoon and it was a bit cool and very windy. I guess the party crowd was still recovering from New Year's eve.

I would give the place 4.5 stars but since .5 was not an option, gave it a 5.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsu-Ya also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Katsu-Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katsu-Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.