We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphinaris Cancun

Dolphinaris Cancun
Blvd. Kukulkan km.25 Zona Hotelera | at Wetn Wild Water Park, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 8813030
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$109*
and up
Ranked #11 of 56 Attractions in Cancun
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Worlds' best dolphinariums !Dolphinaris . . . A place for you. A place for them. If you’re looking for the best place to swim with dolphins in Cancun this is the right place for you!At Dolphinaris, we provide people of all ages the opportunity to make their dreams come true. We see the evidence of this every day as we watch the faces of our guests when they meet one of our dolphins for the very first time.Located next to, but not part of the water park Wet ´n Wild and easy to get to with public transportation Dolphinaris is the best attraction for swimming with dolphins in Cancun! * We are a multimillion-dollar investment and the most advanced dolphinariums in Mexico, only in some places in the U.S.A. have the same technology we have, providing you the best quality in all aspects unlike other dolphinariums that only use a simple fishing net at the sea beach, where in addition to swimming with dolphins, you swim with algae, waves, ocean currents, ship oil and gas, you also swims with the dolphins waste, exposing you to severe skin or vital organs infections. Avoid all that... next time choose dolphinaris!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the previous review...SAVE your money! They only care about taking your money. The people who work there are rude and mean especially the dolphin trainers. This is my second time in doing it in Cancun and my last. I highly recommend finding a different place to swim with dolphins. Do not use Dolphinaris.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you feel that our trainers were rude to you. We do not tolerate our staff being rude to our guests on any level and we will take the necessary actions. Dolphinaris main goal is for our guest to leave with an unforgettable experience. We hope you give us another opportunity to show you that we are the best dolphinarium in the industry.

Thank you and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    461
    172
    64
    70
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dolphins - Ugly prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Wish I would have read this before booking the trip. Not allowed to take cameras/mobiles inside The do have a couple of people taking snapshots/videoing your time with the dolphins but these are very very expensive. The guy selling them offered us our photos at a knocked down price along with a copy of our experience with the dolphins on DVD. We were there for just over a hour so very disappointed to discover when we got back home to the UK that the DVD only last 15 minutes, which also included members of the group. Not so bothered about the other people being on the DVD but disappointed that two thirds of it was missing!!!! Just hope that the money goes to the well being of the dolphins and not in the pockets of the owners of this place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear visitor,

We appreciate your feedback about your visit. Here in Cancun Dolphinaris, observers are the only people who can take photos of your swim from the observer area. This is so our guests can enjoy the one on one time with the dolphins, as well as the safety of the guests and the dolphins. The dolphins are very curious and get easily distracted by unfamiliar objects near or in the pool area.

The professional photographers are here to capture all your unforgettable moments with the dolphins. Unfortunately we don’t offer the full session in a DVD form. We only capture the main swim ride activity. The rest of the dolphin interactions are captured on photos. We invited to visit our live chat for further information.

Thank you for your visit and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience until you want a souviner picture.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My three kids had the best time interacting with the dolphins. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The price to swim with the dolphins was fair ($89 each). The session lasted an hour and my kids are still talking about it. Their group was in an area we couldn't see from the observation area, so I definitely wanted a picture of each of them. I totally understand paying more for a souviner photo, but the photo prices are outrageous. One photo on a CD is $29. Three photos are $69. Really???? If you want all the photos on a CD its $349 USD - WTF! I can buy a nice camera for that amount of money. My kids wanted a photo so bad, but didnt want us to pay that amount of money. I wanted a picture of each of them, so after explaining to the photo rep that you can buy a full CD of pictures at Walgreens for $2.99, he still charged me their special price of $119 for 8 pictures. And the 8 pictures are on a CD that I have to go home and print. PLEASE lower your photo prices. Its outright robbery. Dont ruin a great experience by making a memorable photo too expensive to buy. Its not fair.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear visitor,

We are happy to hear your children had an unforgettable time swimming with our dolphins. Our team strives for our guests to leave with a smile on their faces and a lifetime of memories.

In regards to the photos, our professional photographers are here to capture all your amazing moments with these beautiful mammals with the option to buy. The photo and video department offers several different prices and package for our guests to choose from. We are working on improving the prices of our photos to give our visitors more options for purchase.

We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for your preference in Dolphinaris and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience.. Lovely staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff split you into small groups which was great and the Dolphins were beautiful, so well trained to do little tricks :)

The only annoying part was the people trying to force you to buy more photos, then skulking off when you stuck to the package you had already picked. The photos were SOOO expensive compared to the UK attractions but worth having the memory.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear visitor,

We are pleased to hear you and your family had such a wonderful time here swimming with the dolphins. Our team strives to give our guests the best experience and for our guests to leave with lifetime memories.

In regards to the photos, the photo and video department offer our guests several different packages and prices for the photos, which are optional for purchase. We are working on having more affordable options to choose from.

Thank you for your feedback and come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Zenia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Take my advice and save your money - this place is over-priced and over rated. Visited last week with 10 year old and 5 year old. On arrival we were told that our 5 year old would not be able to do the belly ride as she was not tall enough. Asked for her to be measured but they refused. Asked for a refund in price difference as she would only be doing interactive programme, they also refused as we had booked with an agency at hotel. The girl dealing with us was rude and un-helpful.
Despite the bad start we were determined to enjoy the experience. From the start we found our trainer dis-interested and unfriendly towards our group. Everything is timed to within seconds, in fact the trainers all seemed to set stop watches at beginning. The actual interaction with the dolphin was a good experience, however this comes down to nothing more than a few minutes per person out of the hour and believe me you will not get even a few extra seconds in this place! Each part is timed and the trainer mentioned several times that we needed to move on. I felt the entire process was a bit of a 'production line', the trainer just basically went through the montions with each member of the group.
The photographs are a complete joke! The cheapest price advertised is $29 for one photo. We paid $69 for three photos. There are various members of staff in photo area offering different discounts to customers. We later met other people in our hotel who had purchased all photos (I presume that would be about 50?) plus the dvd for $100! Overall it was definitely NOT the experience of a life-time for us at Dolphinarius and also very expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Cancun, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your feedback, our guests experience during their visit is very important to us. We apologize that the experience was not what you expected. Also that you felt rushed to do your activities! The programs are very organized and scheduled in order for our guests to be able to enjoy all the activities with the dolphins.

In regards to your child not being able to do the belly ride, the age limit for this program is 6 years old, no matter the height. It is for the safety of the child. Also if you book thru an agency you must request your refund thru the same agency. We can only process refunds that were made with us. We invite you to visit our website live chat in the future to understand all the different programs, activities, requirements and prices. Dolphinaris does not tolerate any staff member being rude with our visitors and we will take all actions necessary. You can be sure this information is forwarded to the correct department.

The photo and video department offers several different packages and prices, which are optional for purchase. We are working on improving our photo prices to make them more affordable for our guests.

Thank you for your feedback and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Cancun also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphinaris Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.