We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Restaurante

Peter's Restaurante
Ave. Bonampak | Between Sierra & Robalo only 200' from Hotel Zone entrance, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 251 9310
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peter's Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 571 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Robalo y sierra
Description: Peter's Restaurant...Where flavors & feeling meet...Peter really likes and wants to Cook and please his guests with a memorable lunch or dinner in a cozy setting with personal attention from himself, his wife Claudia and son Eder. Small, cozy restaurant where one feels at home while enjoying an excellent dinner. Interesting menu with a different flair in dishes and preparations, Good Wine list with also options by the glass.
LA, Calif
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Since Peter's restaurante opened it has been on the top of our dining choice when we come to Cancun each year. This year we made sure we went twice as we had to try some of the newer dishes. Peter's quality and excellence would hold up to any 5 star restaurant in any major city.

Peter is a gourmet international chef and his dishes are creative endeavors. A couple of examples: beef brisket with sauerkraut with a tangy sauce, baby back ribs with an outstanding tamarin sauce, veal chop stuffed with spinach and cheese. The salads are wonderful with local fresh ingredients. The desserts are unique and delicious.

The location on Bonapak outside of downtown is easily reached by bus. It is a small intimate experience enhanced by the welcoming by both Peter and his delightful wife, Claudia.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    58
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed our experience at Peter's, especially the attention to detail and that the restaurant is run by the chef/owner and his wife. Peter comes to your table to answer any menu questions and then checks back with you once you have your food...how nice to have that kind of customer service. His wife, Claudia is also very involved and very charming. Prices are moderate and the quantity and quality are excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss Peter's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I went to Peter's after it was recommended by the Royal Sands Concierge staff. Very small and no view, but the service and food was immaculate. Mushroom ravioli with truffle sauce appetizer was fantastic. The smoked salmon with some sort of magical sauce was the best my "fish eating spouse" has ever eaten. I had a very tasty bone in veal chop and an excellent Chilean Chardonnay. Peter came out and greeted us and explained the menu in detail, then prepared each dish himself. No tourist food here.......quality, value and personal service. I recommend very highly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and treated as special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there a couple of nights ago during the worst of the tropical storm that passed thru Cancun. Much of Cancun flooded and this shut down schools and restaurants. Peter kept his restaurant open (despite a flooded bathroom) and served us an awesome meal. Both he and his wife were so gracious and kind. They met us at the door and attended to our every need. The food was great and it brightened an other wise gloomy and rainy vacation. This is a great place and is owned and run by a great couple. Small restaurant with only 8 tables and all the patrons are made to feel special by Peter and his wife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our best dinner all week...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Four of us went to Peter's on "hearings" of a good place to go. It's a quiet restaurant with 8 tables, that we loved. The Shrimp Fettucine was outstanding! The KeyLime Pie was amazing! Peter came to greet us at our table and thanked us for coming. We forgot out leftovers on the table and the waiter ran out of the restaurant to give it to us, and then, he found our wallet on the table and literally chased us down the street in our cab to give it back! What a savior!

The best dinner we had all week in Cancun, and we will definitely be back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Restaurante also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Peter's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.