We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Restaurante

Peter's Restaurante
Ave. Bonampak | Between Sierra & Robalo only 200' from Hotel Zone entrance, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 251 9310
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peter's Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 624 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Robalo y sierra
Description: Peter's Restaurant...Where flavors & feeling meet...Peter really likes and wants to Cook and please his guests with a memorable lunch or dinner in a cozy setting with personal attention from himself, his wife Claudia and son Eder. Small, cozy restaurant where one feels at home while enjoying an excellent dinner. Interesting menu with a different flair in dishes and preparations, Good Wine list with also options by the glass.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We tried Peters last week and went back this week. The specials were truly special. Everything is cooked to order and very creative, not only beautiful to look at, but everything was outstandingly delicious. The cocktails were excellent. It's a small but lovely atmosphere and the husband and wife team cook and serve and come to your table personally. Wish we had discovered this earlier. Can't wait to return next year.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    74
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ratatouille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We set up a lunch through Open Table at Peter's after reading the amazing reviews and must say that those were well deserved. First of all Peter's is slightly off the beaten path but in location only... As two foodies from NYC, we are both highly discerning. The unassuming location is adorned with framed newspaper articles and awards that reveal in non-English languages that the owner, chef and cook, Peter, is an award winning chef of a Michelin-starred restaurant and formerly of the Ritz Carlton as well.

When I asked Peter (who visited our table 3 times during our meal) about the motivation for the transition from being a high flying executive chef to a chef/proprietor of a 28 seat haute-cuisine gem off the beaten path (it took us 30 minutes to find the place by foot!), he explained that his ascension led to a life of more & more paperwork, and less & less following his passion: creating phenomenal cuisine.

It is seldom in life that one has the opportunity to participate in a fairytale along the line of Pixar's Ratatouille. Today was a day like that for me. I hope that Peter's commitment to his passion and the resulting culinary delight, persuade patrons to recommit themselves to their own life's passions, like it did for me today. Bravo, Peter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

How much did I enjoy this tiny place?
Muy mucho!
Delicious food, friendly service...
This place is not flashy, but more on the quiet/modest side. It's in the hotel zone and it was all couples when we were there.
We went to several restaurants in Cancun and this was by far the best.
The next time I come back to this area, I will definitely make a point of returning here for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We waited until the last moment.. almost missed the best meal in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Linda and I did our research tonight and decided on Peter's for dinner. We then decided to walk down there from our hotel about 3.7 kilometers away. Got there all hot and sweaty. Glad they still let us in! Peter came right out and started talking to us about his restaurant, food, life.. It was wonderful to just meet him and hear how he got from Holland to Cancun. Just reading the menu let us know we had made the right decision and along with a couple of glasses of nice malbecs and malbec blends, we settled on one of each kind of green salad, the shrimp ginger lemongrass soup (yes as good as it sounds!) and the fresh salmon flown in last night from Chile.. Each part of the meal in turn was delicious. We were soooo glad we had chosen Peter's place. The service was professional, friendly and attentive. The restaurant with a bit of jazz playing softly in the background was so difference from the blaring house music we've been hearing around town all week. The food.. well.. I was as close as I've been in a long long time to licking my plate and not really caring what others thought about me! Get some money and go now!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

THANK YOU for two wonderful evenings at Peter's. During both visits the warmth and hospitality was felt that you share with your guests and preparation/delivery of food. I would highly recommend Peter's.
- Al T

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Restaurante also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Peter's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.