We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Mayan

Save Saved
You added The Royal Mayan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Mayan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short stay Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was awesome with mexican and western food. Our room was big and very clean. I would recommend families and couples to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    154
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
213
129
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Older hotel, there are 3 linked together, the other two are newer but would stay in this one all day long. Away from the hotel zone which I consider a huge plus. Get a higher floor. Beds can be a little hard so just ask for one of those eggshell things and you're golden. We stay here or a lot further south once a year.....

In process of selling so don't know what that will do. Hopefully nothing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very pleased with the large room which had two exits to the expansive balcony, terrific views , fabulous ocean breezes and 2 full bathrooms. Thanks for a memorable Mexican family vacation! My son and I loved the large waves and the luxurious sandy beach. My two daughters would not get out of the pools. We even went to the sister hotel next door and played in the pools there. Lots of great authentic restaurants on and off the resorts, many within walking or a short bus ride distance away.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives good views of the pools and ocean. Most rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The resort is very pretty. It's not directly in the central tourist zone, so there are not a lot of "spring breakers" running around. There are plenty of things to do for kids, teenagers, and young adults, with out having to feel out of place or overwhelmed.
The bus ride to the tourist center us 5-20 minutes. This depends on the time of the day and traffic. Night time around 6:30-7, it will be longer with all of the stops. Busses come very frequently.
The hotel has a great pool and bar- more towards older folks, so for the younger crowd, head to the palapa or beach bar.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in Royal Mayan in the beginning of Jan 2014 and it seems now the hotel changed its name to Emporio Family suits.
This is not exactly the hotel but the private club that offers some of its apartments as a hotel rooms. It's very well located - in very quiet area on a gorgeous beach - unbeatable for Cancun. All nightlife is accessible by buses in 5-10 minutes but here you're in relaxed and calm zone with really good beach. Airport is in just 10 mins of drive (taxi is only about 20 US dollars).
Reception is rather small for the hotels standards so always crowded. But we were very satisfied with reception's staff attitude - we took their cheapest offer for resort view rooms and we were actually ready to have some parking-view small slot - but we received spacious room with 2 queen beds with small balcony and direct sea-view, just in few steps from the beach.
Actually our room was the part of the larger apartment separated by the closed door. At first when you enter it's a kind of surprise but it was large enough and had all the facilities so we haven't got any problems with that.
Rooms are clean but not very modern - everything is ok in the room itself but the bathroom needs some redesigning.
We had very good breakfast for only 12-15 USD per person every day- very attentive restaurant staff, tasty food and lot of fresh fruits and juices.
We also enjoyed few meals on the terrace with the perfect view on the lagoon in nearby restaurant Captain Cove where you can pay with the hotel deposit card.
So we had a very nice stay in this hotel – thanks

Room Tip: If you don't take the whole apartment be ready to have close neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Gorgeous property, beautiful views, clean pools, a beach to die for. The room was lovely with a large terrace, full kitchen, and a very comfortable bed. Maid service and wait staff were excellent. Food was truly outstanding. This was a wonderful property to visit and we would certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wonderful as always and unfortunate that they are closing down. I am an owner and voted to keep it open, unfortunately we are losing the resort as it was and all the wonderful staff which was the best ever. Loved the people and the resort. It will be missed by everyone involved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Mayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Mayan

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Mayan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at The Royal Mayan can relax on the powder-white sand or by the pool and enjoy a variety of activities such as tennis and sail boating. The resort is next to The Royal Caribbean and The Royal Islander and guests can use the amenities at all three clubs. A shuttle bus service is also available to The Royal Sands and The Royal Cancun -Club Internacional de Cancun, the other two Royal Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Mayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Mayan Hotel Cancun
Royal Mayan Cancun Mexico
Cancun Mayan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Mayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.