We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine resort for weekly stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Mayan

Save Saved
You added The Royal Mayan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Royal Mayan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine resort for weekly stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A really fantastic place, with very nice staff and top class service.
Being från Europe we had no idea that we had bought one room in a time-share complex, for nine nights. The guests moved every saturday and the hotelsuites was called "villas", wich was confusing. We had one room in a "villa", with fridge and micro on the top floor with really magnificent wiews and a tiny balcony. Nice, large and airy with good beds. But come saturday we also had to move, only a few floors down, but had to spend three hours midday packing and waiting for the move. A different but, on the whole, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    153
    43
    21
    14
See reviews for
211
128
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They keep this place immaculate! Views are beautiful from condos. Front desk could have been more helpful. We arrived early and they would not allow us to check in a minute before 3pm. They would not even check to see if the room was ready before that. That being said it was a beautiful place to stay. Food is ok, prices just like at home. Busses are very easy and inexpensive to use. From airport we took the hotel recommendation and used their service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view. The waterfronts are beautiful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Royal Resorts provide the best in location, facilities & service at a good value. Villas are well designed and maintained. Swimming in the Caribbean and pools is great. The staff is dedicated to providing the best vacation environment for families and couples as well.

Room Tip: ocean & pool view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem ct
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have coming to the Royal Mayan since it opened for about 25 years and always had wonderful time. Our daughter grew up there. This year, my Godchild,husband and kids came. It was great to see the resort and all it's ammenities through of children they had a ball. However there is pall over the place knowing that the resort will not be there next year. Probably the best example is at the El Conqistador. We always had superior meals and service there at the end of our vacation. We know the waiters,Some who have been there for 25 five years. The menu has been cut back and most of the signature items eliminated. There are surcharges on some meals which does make any sense. While the service was excellent, the staff is walking around not knowing whether they are going to have a job. Royal Resort could be doing a much better job managing this situation. While the resort stay was excellent, I have to feel for the staff making the best of it in a bad situation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have owned at the Royal Mayan for 30 years and it is coming to a close as far as our timeshare use. Once again the staff, grounds and building seemed just like our first year stay in 1983. It was great then and still continues to be a first class resort. We have about five years left on our contract at the Royal Caribbean. All of the Royal's are first class resorts. If you require excellent wifi Internet connection you might be disappointed but enjoy everything else that is available.

Room Tip: Stay on the Oceanside not the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been to the Royal Resorts many times and enjoyed the complex.
Now that they instituted a mandatory overpriced 105 dollars per person a day all inclusive will have to look elsewhere. For 1440 dollars a week for 2 people plus your room rate on top of that 2300 dollars for 2 bedroom condo for week, It is now considerably cheaper to stay in the USA and go to a timeshare on one of the US coast. Will not be back unless they go back to dropping all inclusive

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time in Cancun, utilized a friends timeshare for the stay at the Royal Mayan. We had a great experience. We felt the rooms and the entire property was very well maintained. There was constant cleaning of the grounds, the beach, and the pool area. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We ate at their restaurants and really enjoyed them both. The Happy Hours were fun!! We had heard that this is the last year for the Royal Mayan as it is being sold and were concerned about how the property and service would be under that situation. I give credit to the staff, as there was no lack of service, or attention to detail. If the other Royal Resorts are run in the same manner, I would not hesitate to stay a t Royal Resort anywhere!! Very nice stay and experience!

Room Tip: Ocean view, higher floor had a great view of both the ocean and the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Mayan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time posting about our resort.

We really hope you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to welcome you during your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean.

Best regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Mayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Mayan

Also Known As:
The Royal Mayan Hotel
The Royal Mayan Hotel Cancun
Royal Mayan Cancun
Royal Mayan
Royal Mayan Cancun Mexico
Cancun Mayan Hotel
Royal Mayan Hotel
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#41 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Mayan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at The Royal Mayan can relax on the powder-white sand or by the pool and enjoy a variety of activities such as tennis and sail boating. The resort is next to The Royal Caribbean and The Royal Islander and guests can use the amenities at all three clubs. A shuttle bus service is also available to The Royal Sands and The Royal Cancun -Club Internacional de Cancun, the other two Royal Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Royal Mayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Mayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.