We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Sharing Exchange to Royan Mayan Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Mayan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Mayan to your Saves list
The Royal Mayan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Brewster, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Time Sharing Exchange to Royan Mayan Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Both my wife and I have traveled quite extensively with and without time sharing exchanges so we have had a good sampling of resorts.Spent the week of November 2-9th there. This was an exchange of ours. Owning our own business it was very important that we had internet service to use. We made sure of this before booking. Upon arrival it worked 1/2 day and the entire rest of the time was no better than dial up service. I had to make other arrangements with my cell provider which now cost me money out of pocket. So if you need the internet its a coin toss. The best answer I could get is " we are working on it " Even when they said it was ok it was not. Also in two bedroom unit near ocean the master bedroom airconditioning was quite noisey making s good night sleep difficult. Besides this everything was good.

Room Tip: Centralize room or you will be walking. Limited direct ocean view exchanges ask first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    156
    45
    21
    15
See reviews for
213
134
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is Fab for famlies and singles and couples. We have made many friends we look forward to seeing each year and their famlies so it like a big reunion. We do trips together Tulum Excarat etc. We do many dinners, games and parties together games on the beach. Now we play with our grandchildren together.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with beautiful views. We have split it before which works great for more tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place to go with your family and if you are an older couple. Not a good place for young friends who want to party. The staff are freindly, rooms are clean (a little out dated though), there are 2 pools and on the beach. They release baby turtles at night, which is really fun. They are also part of a family of resports down there, so there is a shuttle you can take from hotel to hotel. I also heard this was one of the older ones, so they have plans to take it down next year, just heard from a couple near the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngstown,ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent last week in B804 at the Mayan, which for being 30 years old you would never know it. The only thing I can say that I didn't like was the pool was so so cold. This is the only Royal that doesn't have a heated pool, but we just walked next door as did alot of others to the Caribbean pool. What I really like about the Mayan is the more Mexican feel with the older dark beautiful wooden doors everything so clean and polished. The entire staff is so attentive but love the bartenders at the the palapa bar. Would love coming back but I understand this will be sold at the end of 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The service at the Royal Mayan and other Royal resorts in the area surpassed any I've ever experienced. The beach is fabulous, restaurants galore, kept so clean and maintained meticulously. The only complaint I have is the resort marketing team that hit us and caused a little grief but we finally shed them & the rest of the vacation was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My third time to cancun in 15 year span and all at one of the Royals. They all have been great. The quality and service at the Mayan was excellent and consistant with the quality at it's sister resorts. This is a timeshare property, but they do not push or pressure you at all. Honestly, if I were ever tempted to buy a timeshare I would do it with one of the Royals. The property is so well maintained, service is great, food is great and the beach area and views from your balconies are fabulous. Only bad side is the Wi-Fi was not all that good -- but who cares -- you're on vaca. Also, take advantage of Thomas More Travel. They offered great services, advise and competitve pricing for all the tour options. So convenient because they're located in the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Four of us - women in our 60s and 70s - had a delightful week at the Royal Mayan. Our room was on the 7th floor with a view of the beach and pool. We took the elevator to the beach level then had just a few steps to the magnificent beach. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony each morning with a cup of coffee to watch the sunrise. The rooms were spacious, beds were comfortable and the kitchen was large and well equipped. Air conditioning was noisy. Bus service was convenient - a short walk from the resort. Cost was about 65 cents each ride. We took the bus to Superama for groceries and a taxi for the return. We felt very safe. The entire time we drank tap water at the resort and ate every kind of food at the restaurants on site. No problems whatsoever. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the ocean on the south side of the resort (that way the balcony is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Mayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Mayan

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-49 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Mayan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at The Royal Mayan can relax on the powder-white sand or by the pool and enjoy a variety of activities such as tennis and sail boating. The resort is next to The Royal Caribbean and The Royal Islander and guests can use the amenities at all three clubs. A shuttle bus service is also available to The Royal Sands and The Royal Cancun -Club Internacional de Cancun, the other two Royal Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Mayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Mayan Hotel Cancun
Royal Mayan Cancun Mexico
Cancun Mayan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Mayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.