We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Carribean Cancun Was a Great Place To Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special Sale!
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whittier, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Royal Carribean Cancun Was a Great Place To Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

When we arrived in Cancun we used USA tranfer for our airport transportation, they were great. We received an e-mail from them telling us exactly what to do when we arrive and where to meet their drivers, it was perfect Great start to the trip.When we arrived at the Royal Carribean we had a quick check in and then walked to our room. We were so please with the room and the view. All rooms have ocean views and are real spacious. Rooms are quite and the service is great. Although the beds were hard and the pillows were various shapes we managed a good nights sleep, (small price to pay for this set up). It seemed like everyone in Cancun we ran into was very happy to have us there. We had great weather and spent some time everyday at the pool, there we met a drink server named Ceasar,, he was great he truley loves his jobs and loves interacting with the guests. We would ask Ceasar questions about places and things to do. Without trying to sell us on doing something he would give us his views and how we could obtain the means to do them. You know most people in Cancun are looking to make money one way or another by having you use someone they recomend so they get commission. This guy Ceasar was not like that, it was like chatting with a friend. We looked forward to seeing him daily. The beaches in front of the Royal Carribean were beautiful no rocks nice soft sand and pleanty of shells to bring home. The water was warm and we swam in the ocean daily. No people on the beach trying to sell you anything. It was hassle free getting from the resort to the beach. We also did not get harrased by any time share people.
They had a welcome party on Sunday afternoon with music and free beers. This place is great for families, it is really not geared for the young loud partiers but you can still have fun at the swim up bar. Real relaxing, clean and service oriented. We would go back the the Royal Carribean in a heart beat. Too bad my heart only beats once a year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    278
    84
    34
    31
See reviews for
398
283
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just ending our yearly 2 week stay at the Royal Caribbean and it was as great as always. Tthey have the villa wifi network up and running.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Came here with the family for a week away from everything.... It did it all... true escape, magnificent views, well maintained, great staff and all at your fingertips.

The maintenance on the place was exceptional. You couldn't turn a corner without seeing someone cleaning something or making sure all was in order.

Make sure that if you are here that you tear yourself away for a day to go to see the Mayan ruins. They are one of the seven wonders of our modern world and worth the long drive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Agree with VacationLover43 on their review. This was our first time in Cancun or Mexico for that matter. Hubby and I are 45 and brought our twin 16 year old boys.May have been a little on the boring side for our boys if they did not have each other to hang with. Lots of families (mulit generational) and no spring break craziness. Resort was spotlessly clean in all public areas and our room. Large 2 bedroom condo with huge balcony. All rooms have ocean view as compared to nearby surroundong big name (Omnni, Hilton, etc) hotels that have rooms with road/lagoon views also. Used store for in room cooking. Dry goods/snacks were the most expensive so throw some in your suitcase: small cerea boxes, granola bars, microwave popcorn, peanut butter, etc.Fresh guacamole and salsa sold in store were yummy. Large beach/pool towels that you can swap out for clean ones were pretty good quality, don't waste space bringing your own. We used USATransfer for airport transfer and tour to Chichen Itza based on another review. Fabulous company with lower prices and more tour options than Thomas Moore. Clean, prompt, friendly tour company. You may wnat to do a rough outline of your excusions b4 you arrive as some only go on certain days. Ate at Haciendas in front of Royal sands for good Mexican food and discount with your resort card. Happy Hour at pool was great with 1/2 price drinks and free salsa. American tv for all ages - cartoons to unedited R movies so watch that a bit. DVD player in living room. Ocean was amazing and beach was clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have always checked on trip advisor for information but this is the first time I have posted a review. I just have to say this place was wonderful. We have went to Mexico the past 6 years always staying at a different location and hotel. This was the best resort yet!!
The beds were the usual Mexico "Firm" but I had no problem sleeping!! We had a suite and there was a HUGE balcony. We overlooked the pool and had a great ocean view. The beach was EXCELLENT I kept looking for the "rocky" beach but unless you consider some shells rocks there were NO ROCKS! You could walk miles down the beach, it was wonderful. I guess they just spent millions on bringing back the beach, the sand is from Cozumel....but it was wonderful!! You really don't have to leave the resort, they have a store on each site. We opted to have breakfast in the villa it was totally equipped with all you need to cook and it was nice eating on the patio looking at the ocean. We ate our other meals out. The Royal Caribbean is between two other Royal resorts (The Islander and the Mayan) so there were a total of 6 restaurants. You could get anything from taco's to lobster. The prices were not too bad, I do live in California so maybe our restaurant prices are higher than other places in the US but I didn't pay any more than I would at home. There wasn't a lot of action in the resort if you were in your 20's you might be bored, but you could always go into town for more action. They had pool volleyball which my husband loved, and I just enjoyed soaking in the sun!! I would definitely go back.....we didn't go to the timeshare spill because I had read that they get rude once you tell them "noway". Our guy called a couple of times to try and give us free breakfast and a ride to the new resort the are pushing but we just said we couldn't make it....but they were never annoying at all.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

It has almost been a year since our stay at the Royal Caribbean. Our family enjoyed our stay and found the resort to be rich with amenities and hospitality. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool, daily activities and the craft center. The craft center had a nominal fee for services and goods but well worth the small investment. Our room was a two bedroom unit and we found it to be quite spacious and had a spectacular panoramic view of the ocean. It was not fancy but it was clean. My in-laws stayed in two bedroom unit at the Royal Mayan and we found the accommodations to be comparable. The food at the resort was not spectacular but it was good. The best part about the Royal Resorts is that you can enjoy all five of the resorts in Cancun and you can take a bus to their resort in Playa as well. This offers so many options for pools, food, drinks and entertainment. My only issues would be that there is not an all inclusive option and the strip of beach at the Caribbean was quite rocky due to erosion. The beach at the Royal Sands was much nicer. All in all, I would stay here again and I would recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

After a few months searching for the best options, we found this place and we had a great experience we stayed at the Hotel booking via royalcaribbeanhotels and we got a Five Stars class hotel so we highly recommended..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.