We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Caribean is VERY BEST in Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Save Saved
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two FREE Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Royal Caribean is VERY BEST in Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was excellent for customer service and had a very clean and fun oceanside atmosphere.
We travelled from Riviera Maya where we stayed at the Barcelo. (Barcelo was very poor in many ways compared to the Royal Caribean.)

1) The staff wer very friendly and helpful. The bell boys jumped to get our luggage to our rooms and had it there before we were finished checking in. They are very professional and polite.

2) At the check in counter we were given all important information in a very expeditious manner. We wasted no time in starting our holiday at this resort. They provided us with a list of all the ammenities we had in our room. We were given a list of number and things to do with a map of the resort. In our room they provided a book of resort tips. Where to get things, whats nearby, how to get things we need, and even beach safety and sealife we might encounter in the ocean. We used this book constantly. (Also easy to exchange money and get assistance with anything we needed at reception.)

3) Our room was booked online for a very competitive price and we were upgraded to a villa. But all the rooms looked quite nice. The floors were marble and we had 2 murphy beds in addition to a king bed and a sofabed. Rooms and kitchen were extremely clean!

4) Hotel was managed very well and they could teach the Barcelo a thing or two about running a resort! The staff are cross trained and when one area gets busy, they send staff over from less busy area. Example: The bell boy was sent to hand out towels at the equipment room when the hotel reception/entrance was slow. This way the staff got breaks without having to close services to clients for any time period.

5) THe dress and deportment of staff was very professional including their rapport with residents. They had friendly chats to ensure everyone was happy.. They even had a maintenace guy checking for cocunuts that might be ready to fall. It was a proactive measure to ensure our safely.

6) We had a concern about getting a taxi at 4 am. to leave for the airport. The bell boys had arranged a ride for us from their taxi stand. They arranged this two days in advance so we had a worry free vacation. In addition, driver showed up early for our trip to airport. They are very reliable!

7) The bell boys had a chart of taxi fares to various attractions in the area. We used this daily and knew in advance how much it would cost. We were never overcharged.

8)The concierge was great! They assisted us in checking out the best tourist attractions for the best prices. We visited the Jolly Roger / Black Pearl pirate ship dinner. We could conveniently pay for this at the hotel. They also got our child his admission and dinner for FREE!

9) They had a "market" onsite where we could get grovceries and fresh produce. It was well stocked and fresh and very convenient. We got some souvenirs there also. There was jewellry store and various snack bars available also.

10) The ROYAL RESORTS has a few hotels in Cancun area including the Royal Sands, They Royal Islander, and the Royal Haciendas. We intend on visiting those resorts. They look to have a time share option. They did mention this to us, but we had little time, so they respected that. We will certainly look into the timeshare options if all their resorts are run so efficiently!! WE WILL BE GOING BACK! Our vacation was a pleasureable experience because of the Royal Caribean and all their staff!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view and buildings surround the pool areas, so all room is good. If you want a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    192
    61
    21
    19
See reviews for
314
207
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We bought our first time share 25 yrs. ago in the Royal Caribbean. Bought the second villa a couple of yrs. later, thinking it would be great to have a unit we could exchange for other locations around the world. To this day, we've never made an exchange because you can't beat two weeks in Paradise. Beautiful beaches, an equally beautiful facility. Property management keeps it as pretty today as it was 25 yrs. ago. The staff (house keeping, restaurants and marketing) are friendly and very supportive. They make your stay feel like you are in a 5 Star facility. Why would we consider going elsewhere?

Room Tip: Almost every villa has an unbelievable view. The higher up you are the better the view. The Caribbea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at several Royal properties including the Royal Sands, Royal Haciendas and now the Royal Caribbean. The Royal Caribbean is the smallest and older than the other two properties and it shows in the decor, kitchen facilities, pool and beach area. Despite that, the property is spotless and well maintained. The front desk check in, travel desk, bellmen and servers go above and beyond to be accommodating. The variety and value of the food could be better though the service was excellent. Overall this property is good value for the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unfriendly and unprofessional staff.

1. We made a reservation for my family excursion, the bus was delayed an hour and half.
2. They only offer maximum two towels per day and no extra toiletries :o
3. Manager on duty is always UNAVAILABLE OR NOT PRESENT nor the called help desk are unhelpful,
4. Front desk staff are unfriendly, not willing to assist you with any concerns you may have for your entire trip besides booking rooms with them.
5. Blankets are not wash everyday... blankets in our room got stained and I requested for new blankets and we were told that they can't give us any as the hotel policy "blankets are wash every other day and have to use old blankets" WOW.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We love the resorts, we like staying at the Royal Caribbean because you have access to the Islander also. We were sad that the Mayan was sold, when the three resorts were together you could use all the pools and restaurants. We are in building C 8th floor and have a beautiful view of pool and ocean. This is the shady side of the building and has a nice breeze to cool you off.
The service is great, from the front desk to the maid service. What I enjoy is that everyone you see will have a smile on their face and make you feel right at home.
I have a time share here but have been in the other Royal resorts and enjoyed them all.
Each one has pool side service where you can order hambergers or mexican dish all you have to do is ask and it is delivered.
You should read the book they give you on check in and it will tell you about all the specialty nights each restaurant has so you don't miss out.
I like that I can go to the Islanders 2 restaurants or Royal Caribbeans Tradewinds and Express take out
Thomas Moore travel agency is great, just let them know what your interests are and they will find you a tour or tell you how to get there with a bus, taxie, car.
We do most of our trip on tour. Even went to a mexican cooking class that was great.
Hope you give it a try, relax , enjoy, have fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our third trip to Mexico - second to this area. This hotel exists to take money from Americans whose biggest adventure is to keep the pool water out of their overpriced drinks. Let's start with the food. Awful. Worse than awful. We went down to the poolside restaurant for a late lunch on arrival. Unbelievable - there's no Mexican food on the menu. Only American food. The wait staff said they would make us whatever we wanted but it's not on the menu. The hotel is built on a small hill - with no signage... not what floor (4) to get off for the pool or (5) to get off for the lobby/shops and don't bother trying to figure out which stairs to take from the rooms to the pool to the beach. The onsite grocery is handy but outrageously priced. And the capper to it was that the manager of this place - Pedro - is the most SURLY hotel manager I've ever encountered anywhere in 35 years of travelling internationally. Our room was a timeshare paid for the week, and we had a credit-card on file at the front desk. When we tried to leave for a two-day mid-week trip to Merida to see the ruins near Uxmal they held us hostage - finally made us check out and pay the bill before we could leave the parking lot. And they called the police. We tried to be polite to let them know we'd be gone a couple of days so the maids would not think we had disappeared. We do this type of mini-trip everywhere we go. The service at other hotels says "Can we get you a map and have a great trip, we'll see you Thursday." Not here. They want you to stay on site and buy their overpriced drinks and awful food. I would camp in a tent before I'd ever come back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator. at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about your recent visit to our resort.

Your feedback is very important for us as it helps us identify areas where there is room for improvement and work to make sure that we fulfill the needs of our guests to their complete satisfaction. We are sharing these comments with the departments in question so that they can take steps to improve where service has been found to be wanting.

We would like to give you a sincere apology for your experience with the manager on duty at the resort. We are sure that this was the result of a misunderstanding as he is an experienced and very courteous member of staff with several years in this position and this is the first time we have received a complaint about him. Moreover, in reference to your comments about front desk staff, we must stress that the individuals called to assist staff were security personnel from the resort, Royal Resorts did not call the police and it is important to clarify this point.

We are sorry to learn about the incident that occurred once you left the resort premises and wish to make clear that Royal Resorts has no relationship with the police whatsoever. It is unfortunate that your experience has left you with a negative image of Mexico as a country. We would like to point out that this is not the norm and help lines are available if you feel that you have been the victim of police abuse.

On your departure, and given the circumstances, the Housekeeping department was instructed to leave your room as you left it. On your return, the maid cleaned and restocked your room, as she would do in any given week.

With regard to your surprise about the gym fee, we believe that there has been a misunderstanding. The aforementioned fee is mentioned in the documentation sent to you when you exchanged. We understand that the amount of information you receive can sometimes be overwhelming and we will make sure that the reference to the gym fee is even clearer for future guests. However, our reports clearly state that you were offered our weekly discounted fee but, unfortunately, it didn’t meet your expectations.

We would also like to mention that the resort store is restocked on a regular basis and we work hard to keep prices competitive with shops in the surrounding area. Some prices may vary, nevertheless the 300% markup you refer to for is completely inaccurate and we think it must be a price tag error. Your claim is being checked to ensure that all pricing is correct. It is important to note that members of staff are always on hand in the store to assist shoppers, check prices if there is any doubt and any answer questions that they may have.

We are sorry that you also found the food to be poor, although you do not appear to be referring to a specific meal or was your comment about the variety of options on the menu. It is important to note that all the Royal Resorts restaurants are certified as a Distintivo H establishment. This is a certification awarded by the Mexican Ministry of Tourism and the Mexican Ministry of Health to restaurants that fulfill the rigorous standards of food storage and preparation established by Mexican code NMX-F605 NORMEX 2004. The aforementioned code complies with the highest quality and health standards in the world.

Royal Resorts is a Cancún pioneer and has been welcoming guests to the Mexican Caribbean for more than 35 years now, always striving to offer the highest levels of service to our guests and ensure that they have the best vacation experience ever. Nevertheless, as in any company anywhere in the world, there is always room for improvement and the comments of our guests play an important role in this ongoing process.

Please feel free to contact us if we can provide further assistance.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel is beautiful. I am here now with my husband of 10 years as a grad school gift.

The ocean views are heaven on earth, and the staff is friendly and not overbearing.

Room is clean and service is excellent!

This would be a great palce to bring toddlers and kids. The kids pool is fabulous with a big pirate ship in it that any kid would love.

In is May 2014 and the hotel is so quiet you can only hear the ocean from your room.

Good rates on priceline. Easy to get to stores and town taking the bus.

Hotel has small shop for waters and snacks. Across the street a store similar to 7-11

A drugstore across the street as well. Excellent location.

As a side note...stay out of the Lagoon in cancun it is infested with 12 foot CROCODILES!!
No I am not kidding...highly dangerous!!! Use a boat when in the Lagoon or stay out of it all together. Mexico is a paradise on earth



The hotel is now

Room Tip: Hotel on the ground floor has easy beach access. my room ground floor is so quiet. you may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our duo of resorts offers an exceptional collection of services... And double the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis and sail boating. The Royal Caribbean(R) offers plenty of activities for families and friends and after a busy morning, visit the spa sun deck for a selection of relaxing massages and therapies. Dine on fresh seafood or timeless Italian classics. Experience attentive service that will make your vacation exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.