We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Resorts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royal Resorts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We love the resorts, we like staying at the Royal Caribbean because you have access to the Islander also. We were sad that the Mayan was sold, when the three resorts were together you could use all the pools and restaurants. We are in building C 8th floor and have a beautiful view of pool and ocean. This is the shady side of the building and has a nice breeze to cool you off.
The service is great, from the front desk to the maid service. What I enjoy is that everyone you see will have a smile on their face and make you feel right at home.
I have a time share here but have been in the other Royal resorts and enjoyed them all.
Each one has pool side service where you can order hambergers or mexican dish all you have to do is ask and it is delivered.
You should read the book they give you on check in and it will tell you about all the specialty nights each restaurant has so you don't miss out.
I like that I can go to the Islanders 2 restaurants or Royal Caribbeans Tradewinds and Express take out
Thomas Moore travel agency is great, just let them know what your interests are and they will find you a tour or tell you how to get there with a bus, taxie, car.
We do most of our trip on tour. Even went to a mexican cooking class that was great.
Hope you give it a try, relax , enjoy, have fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    243
    75
    30
    27
See reviews for
359
254
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our third trip to Mexico - second to this area. This hotel exists to take money from Americans whose biggest adventure is to keep the pool water out of their overpriced drinks. Let's start with the food. Awful. Worse than awful. We went down to the poolside restaurant for a late lunch on arrival. Unbelievable - there's no Mexican food on the menu. Only American food. The wait staff said they would make us whatever we wanted but it's not on the menu. The hotel is built on a small hill - with no signage... not what floor (4) to get off for the pool or (5) to get off for the lobby/shops and don't bother trying to figure out which stairs to take from the rooms to the pool to the beach. The onsite grocery is handy but outrageously priced. And the capper to it was that the manager of this place - Pedro - is the most SURLY hotel manager I've ever encountered anywhere in 35 years of travelling internationally. Our room was a timeshare paid for the week, and we had a credit-card on file at the front desk. When we tried to leave for a two-day mid-week trip to Merida to see the ruins near Uxmal they held us hostage - finally made us check out and pay the bill before we could leave the parking lot. And they called the police. We tried to be polite to let them know we'd be gone a couple of days so the maids would not think we had disappeared. We do this type of mini-trip everywhere we go. The service at other hotels says "Can we get you a map and have a great trip, we'll see you Thursday." Not here. They want you to stay on site and buy their overpriced drinks and awful food. I would camp in a tent before I'd ever come back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator. at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about your recent visit to our resort.

Your feedback is very important for us as it helps us identify areas where there is room for improvement and work to make sure that we fulfill the needs of our guests to their complete satisfaction. We are sharing these comments with the departments in question so that they can take steps to improve where service has been found to be wanting.

We would like to give you a sincere apology for your experience with the manager on duty at the resort. We are sure that this was the result of a misunderstanding as he is an experienced and very courteous member of staff with several years in this position and this is the first time we have received a complaint about him. Moreover, in reference to your comments about front desk staff, we must stress that the individuals called to assist staff were security personnel from the resort, Royal Resorts did not call the police and it is important to clarify this point.

We are sorry to learn about the incident that occurred once you left the resort premises and wish to make clear that Royal Resorts has no relationship with the police whatsoever. It is unfortunate that your experience has left you with a negative image of Mexico as a country. We would like to point out that this is not the norm and help lines are available if you feel that you have been the victim of police abuse.

On your departure, and given the circumstances, the Housekeeping department was instructed to leave your room as you left it. On your return, the maid cleaned and restocked your room, as she would do in any given week.

With regard to your surprise about the gym fee, we believe that there has been a misunderstanding. The aforementioned fee is mentioned in the documentation sent to you when you exchanged. We understand that the amount of information you receive can sometimes be overwhelming and we will make sure that the reference to the gym fee is even clearer for future guests. However, our reports clearly state that you were offered our weekly discounted fee but, unfortunately, it didn’t meet your expectations.

We would also like to mention that the resort store is restocked on a regular basis and we work hard to keep prices competitive with shops in the surrounding area. Some prices may vary, nevertheless the 300% markup you refer to for is completely inaccurate and we think it must be a price tag error. Your claim is being checked to ensure that all pricing is correct. It is important to note that members of staff are always on hand in the store to assist shoppers, check prices if there is any doubt and any answer questions that they may have.

We are sorry that you also found the food to be poor, although you do not appear to be referring to a specific meal or was your comment about the variety of options on the menu. It is important to note that all the Royal Resorts restaurants are certified as a Distintivo H establishment. This is a certification awarded by the Mexican Ministry of Tourism and the Mexican Ministry of Health to restaurants that fulfill the rigorous standards of food storage and preparation established by Mexican code NMX-F605 NORMEX 2004. The aforementioned code complies with the highest quality and health standards in the world.

Royal Resorts is a Cancún pioneer and has been welcoming guests to the Mexican Caribbean for more than 35 years now, always striving to offer the highest levels of service to our guests and ensure that they have the best vacation experience ever. Nevertheless, as in any company anywhere in the world, there is always room for improvement and the comments of our guests play an important role in this ongoing process.

Please feel free to contact us if we can provide further assistance.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel is beautiful. I am here now with my husband of 10 years as a grad school gift.

The ocean views are heaven on earth, and the staff is friendly and not overbearing.

Room is clean and service is excellent!

This would be a great palce to bring toddlers and kids. The kids pool is fabulous with a big pirate ship in it that any kid would love.

In is May 2014 and the hotel is so quiet you can only hear the ocean from your room.

Good rates on priceline. Easy to get to stores and town taking the bus.

Hotel has small shop for waters and snacks. Across the street a store similar to 7-11

A drugstore across the street as well. Excellent location.

As a side note...stay out of the Lagoon in cancun it is infested with 12 foot CROCODILES!!
No I am not kidding...highly dangerous!!! Use a boat when in the Lagoon or stay out of it all together. Mexico is a paradise on earth



The hotel is now

Room Tip: Hotel on the ground floor has easy beach access. my room ground floor is so quiet. you may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had to cut this vacation short, the four nights and five days we stayed was very relaxing. Food and drinks were all very good,reasonable with very good service. This resort was very clean and well maintained. Our room with views of the caribbean was in excellent condition and also very clean. The staff at every encounter were more than accommodating. We already own more timeshare weeks than we need and traded into the Royal Caribbean. We were not hounded after the initial conversation about attending a presentation like previous resorts we've stayed. The beach, warm water and value is what continues to bring us back to Cancun, I would not hesitate to stay at this property again, they do deliver an excellent value for your vacation dollars in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buena, nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Returned last night from the Royal Caribbean. I've read other reviews and agree completely that the customer service was the best anywhere. From check-in (which was earlier than posted) to check-out, everybody was great and they couldn't do enough for you. Everything was spotless. We were two of us plus our son, daughter-in-law and two teenagers. There was actually nothing for the teenagers to do right at the resort. There was a lot for younger children. Amazingly, the little grocery had everything you could want. My son would have liked some music by the pool. Definitely designed for the older crowd. There were a few youngsters, but they were not noisy or rude. We would have liked to have been told about the Monday night fiesta which we would have enjoyed. We took a cab to La Isla Mall which cost $20.00 for the four of us. Not bad. The rest of the time we either ate in our rooms or at the restaurant. A burger and hotdog stand or tacos at the pool would have been nice too. Our concierge was there everyday who we could have done without because Thomas More was right in the lobby to book trips. Jarelli who ran bingo everyday was the best person ever. For her alone I would go back. Beds were comfy.

Room Tip: We were in room F421 - right by the pool. Excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Let me start by saying this is a 3.5 review rather than a 4 but I decided to round up. We're owners here and have been many times. It's sitll a good value, the people are extremely friendly and the beach is excellent, although you are not allowed to swim directly in front of the resort. We find this frustrating as we are excellent swimmers and divers and feel that since the beach is public, we should not be whistled out. However, as the life guard said, they have to patrol the beach for all levels of swimmers.

As others have posted, the room are spacious and clean, although dated. The grounds are immaculate, as is the beach. Maid service is outstanding.

One of the things we look forward to is seeing old friends among the staff. This is the first time where we didn't recognize a single person, other than the maitre 'd at El Conquistador.

The food at every buffet was cold. Not luke warm, cold. At the prices they charge for some of the theme buffets, you should get hot food. I will say that the food at the Cajun Night was surprising good. Other than at El Conquistador and Captain's Cove, the wait staff in the other restaurants was not nearly as attentive as in years past.

We will continue to come to here until the lease runs out, but we will look for other dining options.

Room Tip: Although every room has a good view, we find that the units in the smaller, beach front buidling are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is the first time we are in Cancun. The rooms in this resort was very spacious. Nice marble floor. The view from the balcony is gorgeous. Beautiful pool, manicured garden, clean sandy beach and turquoise sea. Free Aqua Aerobics and Zomba. Convenient store in the property made few purchases easier. Unlike any other hotel, you do not have to worry about foggy mirror after you take shower in separate bathroom.

Concierge Mina was very helpful. She booked reservation for our Chichen Itza tour, reservation for restaurants, and arranged visit to Royal Hacienda where we purchased our time share. She helped every steps on the way. Great hospitality. We were in good hand.

Only con I found is the dishwasher which was rusted in few places. Could be the result of very strong dishwater detergent. The air-conditioner in the bedroom can be little less noisy. I just lower the temperature in the leaving room and increase the temperature in the bedroom so that it does not run at all while I am sleeping.

Room Tip: We like room closer to lobby for easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our duo of resorts offers an exceptional collection of services... And double the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis and sail boating. The Royal Caribbean(R) offers plenty of activities for families and friends and after a busy morning, visit the spa sun deck for a selection of relaxing massages and therapies. Dine on fresh seafood or timeless Italian classics. Experience attentive service that will make your vacation exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.