We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I liked the place. The wifi was not soo good. I didnt like that you need the key room for everything there, you can not pay in cash or credit card just with the key. I liked that the staff was taking care of the beach and it was beautiful. The hotel is very clean and confortable the rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    243
    75
    30
    27
See reviews for
358
254
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk County, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I would say that I'm a very critical person and I expect things a certain way, well I definitely got what I was looking for. The property is great. I had no complaints with our room, the staff was very helpful. When we arrived, we was picked up by Canada Transfers (which I'm planning on writing a review because they were great). We got to our hotel around 10pm. We were given a personal concierge, Alejandro, who was awesome. He walked us to our room, made sure we were comfortable for the night, and came back the next morning to tell us about the resort. We stayed for 7 days and I really don't have a complaint. The facility was clean. We ate at Captain's Cove (delicious!!). We at at La Palapa for the Mexican buffet with a show which was well worth it, it was at the attached facility the Mayan. The show was phenomenal. We also ate at La Habuelcha Sunset, they had a Mexican show that was great, the staff and food was wonderful!!. However, it was very hot inside, which when I spoke with someone else during our vacation, they had the same complaints about it being hot in there. We did not do any excursions because we were just fine with enjoying the resort. We were offered to go to the Royal Sands, we never made it but our friends stayed there and said it was fantastic. We did visit their new facility, the Royal Haciendas. I did not like it. I did not get the family feel like the Caribbean had, however, the rooms at the Haciendas are beautiful. When we ran into a guest, they said that they stayed at the Haciendas last week but they did not like the food. We stayed there for a day and the food was not that great. The beach was gorgeous, the sand was soft. Usually when we go away, by the 7th day we're ready to go, well, the 7th day came too soon. Cancun, Mexico is absolutely gorgeous, I can't wait to go back. (fyi, all of the photos that are here from other people, are exact to what you get).

Room Tip: I feel like all of the locations of the rooms would be a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall this hotel was really nice and the staff were generally accommodating.

I am giving a poor score for service alone because there were several instances where front desk employees (Nina was one in particular that stands out) were flat out rude.

Also, your hands are forced to open $350 on your credit card to purchase ANYTHING ( and I do mean anything-from toothpaste to using the business's center). on the property. This can be a little frustrating especially if you have cash or pesos. Who wants to pay a credit card bill if you don't have to?

On Saturday you have to change rooms which was also a little annoying. Also the beds and linens were more up to date and much more comfortable. This was moving from the 5th floor to the 7th. It may have just been a coincidence.

If you are looking to watch the sunset it won't be at this hotel. The rooms all face the East; so you can watch the sun rise if you're an early riser.

The grounds are among the most clean I've seen by hotel standards. You always see the employees buffing the floor, maintaining the grounds, etc. (which if you're a germ freak like me). This is greaatttt!

Room Tip: If you can afford a large room with a kitchenette that is likely. Good deal. All the larger rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

i`ve stayed here at he spring break the hotel was fully booked, and when we came we fased a problem with the extra bed they didn`t have so be careful and read the hotel policy, the hotel is a family freindly and if you came with your children they`ll have a good time at the hotel from the painting desk to the tennis. when we`ve checked in they toke a deposit i don`t no if they just toke from us beacause we are guys or for the creditcard ( the room key which you can buy from the hotel spermarket and the restaurent or the coffoe shop) where we can buy any thing.

it is apropriate place for a family and its not for younger travellers

note: the hotel dislikes (springbreakers)

Room Tip: nothing in mind but i`d rather to not to take first block on the beach because it is far from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We moved from The Islander to Caribbean for our 2nd week and had high hopes as I thought this would be even better! Yes the Villas are slightly better furnished the resort facilities are bigger but food outlets was not as good as inviting!
The serious No No No was the bug issue in our villa! At one stressful point a good dozen of the mini flies were uncontrollably pouring out of the sink overflow and plug hole! We reported the infestation and from their questioning they knew the 'flies' I was referring to. They had to fumigate twice of neither irradiated the problem!!! I do not usually get bug bites but I received 2 during our stay!
The beach & palapas were not as clean, cig butts , plastic straws...
The Wifi was terrible in the villas!
I just couldn't completely relax!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful beach, good food.Hotel very clean. Good place to meet with family groups too.My husband and I loved and wanted to stay longer. Excellent ambience. You also get to see the release of baby turtles right there by beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

check in and check out was very slow it took and hour or more both times they had 3 people at the front desk and 30 people waiting i asked them to get more people there but they said no one else knew how to do the job and the boss was in the back not doing anything the guy said it was bad and alot of other people were mad also!! the bath in the lock off the shower smelt like mold we called about it burt no one ever came to check it out.!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our duo of resorts offers an exceptional collection of services... And double the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis and sail boating. The Royal Caribbean(R) offers plenty of activities for families and friends and after a busy morning, visit the spa sun deck for a selection of relaxing massages and therapies. Dine on fresh seafood or timeless Italian classics. Experience attentive service that will make your vacation exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.