We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special Sale!
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Welcome home is the way they greet you as you arrive, and the staff do everything to make you feel that way. The units are gorgeous and well equipped with a full kitchen. Marble tile floors throughout.. The beaches are second to none. White sand that does not get hot as you walk on it. Servers always ready to take your drink order and swim up pool bar besides. The resort has wading pool for toddlers and a pool for scuba certification. Staying here makes you not want to go back. Paradise at its best.

Room Tip: Either beach front or 3rd floor or higher for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    279
    84
    34
    31
See reviews for
398
283
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really had a great time. Accomodations were very good. Staff were some of the friendliest people we have ever met: met all our needs. View of beach & bay (we were on the 10th floor in D building were excellent. You have to eat at Captain's Cove - part of resort - if you go: best seafood ever (we had the grouper): went back twice. Some of the kitchen appliances were dated and the baths were the old style - not a problen for us.

Some minor issues: they do not supply shampoo, hair conditioner or bath gel. The internet system is a little slow. There are a limited number of beach umbrellas and chairs and not enough pool lounges. Even though you cannot reserve people were doing it by 6:30 AM.

Room Tip: High up for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great service, clean, well maintained. Breakfast buffet has gotten too expensive ,so had most breakfasts in the room. The pool is very nice- be sure to get there early- chairs fill up on the sunny side. Happy hour starts at 3:00- great margaritas! Try a Miami Vice! Older group in general-( not for young singles looking for action.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a wonderful place for a family vacation! No spring breakers, no loud noise and no inappropriate behavior. Although the prices have been rising at the restaurants, the value to quality ratio is high. The villas are first class, the beaches well cared for and the staff is excellent. Shuttle to local bus is convenient. Staff is happy to assist with all types of requests from restaurant reservations to tee times. This is the ideal vacation spot unless of course you are are a college student looking for a wild time!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Some are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Guests at the Royal Resorts in Cancun are welcomed with the greeting - "Welcome Home." Turns out that is true because of the well appointed, spacious villa with all the accoutrements of home, comfortable furnishings, but most of all because of the warm, gracious staff that takes first class service to another level. Throw in a beautiful beach, the gorgeous Caribbean, fantastic weather and very good food at reasonable prices and you have the ingredients for a most relaxing, enjoyable vacation. Plenty to do if you want, including water aerobics in the heated pool which will help work off the great happy hour at the Caribbean Sports Bar or you can just take a walk on the beach.
You can also always find quiet space perfect for tanning or reading. All in all, a wonderful place that provides consistently reliable excellent service along with beautiful surroundings in a good value package. So come back home in Cancun at the Royal Caribbean!

Room Tip: ask for one with balcony that provides view of the ocean and a sunset view out by the villa entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel caters mainly for elderly people and families with small children. Since we were on vacation with our 3 year old, we searched for a roomier place to stay at and this hotel was the place, since it had two bedroom-, two bathroom- and a kitchenette apartments, exactly what we needed. It's not an all-inclusive hotel either, a thing that was also imperative to us, as all- inclusive is always out of the question. If it had been a vacation for only my husband and I, I would have definitely chosen a much smaller fancy boutique hotel.
The hotel is huge, as are the majority of hotels in Cancun. Its decor isn't stylish at all, it's rather outdated, as the hotel hosts mainly aged working class and middle class people.
The staff wasn't particularly polite, they appeared to be mostly careless. The check-in was a fuss, as we arrived around 1p.m., the check-in was at 4p.m. and of course, the room wasn't ready any earlier than that. We arrived on a Sunday and stayed until second following Wednesday. But on Saturday we had to move to another room, as Saturdays were changeover days at this hotel (which turned out to be a timeshare facility, not an actual hotel). On our changeover day we had to move all our suitcases and belongings by ourselves, as we had been told that all the bellboys were unavailable, by helping other guests. Other than these downside I actually liked staying here. The rooms were bright, big and spotless clean (there's daily maid except for Sundays and holidays). There were always fresh towels, once they had a holiday but the front desk phoned to announce it and told us anything we needed just tell them. All apartments are seaview. The hotel's pool, beach, pool toilets were kept very clean, the lawn mowed, etc. Another thing that I disliked was the noise. Sometimes the housekeeping were really, really noisy and when pushing their carts through the corridors, they made this terrible sound as the floors on the corridors had no carpets, just paver tiles.
The restaurant on site was nothing but average at most. We didn't go there but twice as they served mainly hamburgers or sandwiches with fries ( I really dislike this unhealthy food). The waiters here were inattentive and always in a rush. The restaurant also had takeaway, which was actually better. I liked their Guacamoles, chocolate chips and the lemon tart, which was in fact exquisite. I also bought from here Mexican rice and mashed for my son. There are much, much better restaurants in Cancun and especially Cancun town than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges, we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future,

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first stay in Cancun, I went with three girlfriends, one of which had been going to Cancun for the past 8 years. The Royal Caribbean was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The villa was very large and clean. The grounds are well maintained and the beach front has plenty of chairs and palapas. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with the world.

We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to learn you had a great time with your friends during your visit to our resort.

We're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.