We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not astonishing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Save Saved
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good but not astonishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel caters mainly for elderly people and families with small children. Since we were on vacation with our 3 year old, we searched for a roomier place to stay at and this hotel was the place, since it had two bedroom-, two bathroom- and a kitchenette apartments, exactly what we needed. It's not an all-inclusive hotel either, a thing that was also imperative to us, as all- inclusive is always out of the question. If it had been a vacation for only my husband and I, I would have definitely chosen a much smaller fancy boutique hotel.
The hotel is huge, as are the majority of hotels in Cancun. Its decor isn't stylish at all, it's rather outdated, as the hotel hosts mainly aged working class and middle class people.
The staff wasn't particularly polite, they appeared to be mostly careless. The check-in was a fuss, as we arrived around 1p.m., the check-in was at 4p.m. and of course, the room wasn't ready any earlier than that. We arrived on a Sunday and stayed until second following Wednesday. But on Saturday we had to move to another room, as Saturdays were changeover days at this hotel (which turned out to be a timeshare facility, not an actual hotel). On our changeover day we had to move all our suitcases and belongings by ourselves, as we had been told that all the bellboys were unavailable, by helping other guests. Other than these downside I actually liked staying here. The rooms were bright, big and spotless clean (there's daily maid except for Sundays and holidays). There were always fresh towels, once they had a holiday but the front desk phoned to announce it and told us anything we needed just tell them. All apartments are seaview. The hotel's pool, beach, pool toilets were kept very clean, the lawn mowed, etc. Another thing that I disliked was the noise. Sometimes the housekeeping were really, really noisy and when pushing their carts through the corridors, they made this terrible sound as the floors on the corridors had no carpets, just paver tiles.
The restaurant on site was nothing but average at most. We didn't go there but twice as they served mainly hamburgers or sandwiches with fries ( I really dislike this unhealthy food). The waiters here were inattentive and always in a rush. The restaurant also had takeaway, which was actually better. I liked their Guacamoles, chocolate chips and the lemon tart, which was in fact exquisite. I also bought from here Mexican rice and mashed for my son. There are much, much better restaurants in Cancun and especially Cancun town than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges, we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future,

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    164
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
278
177
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first stay in Cancun, I went with three girlfriends, one of which had been going to Cancun for the past 8 years. The Royal Caribbean was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The villa was very large and clean. The grounds are well maintained and the beach front has plenty of chairs and palapas. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with the world.

We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to learn you had a great time with your friends during your visit to our resort.

We're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first stay at a Royal resort and we fell in love. Everyone was very knowledgable and helpful. Ross did an excellent job at helping us plan our activites and showing us around the property. It was very clean and friendly right down to the gardners, lifegaurds, and housekeepers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it to anyone heading to Cancun!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words about our resort.

We always strive to provide the best service available and is very rewarding to learn you had such a wonderful time during your stay.

We are already waiting to welcome you again.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everyone was very courteous and helpful. Lot of fun things to do. Wonderful Shell seeking. Found a great Conch Shell. I would highly recommend this facility. No complaints at all. Lived the zip lining as well as swimming in the cenote (caverns). Not far from anything that is fun. Very safe surroundings. Florida

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

We're so happy to learn you had such a wonderful time at our resort.

We're looking forward to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If youre looking for a resort where you dont have to leave it unless you want to, then the Royal Caribbean is for you. The restaurant , activities, pool, beach and grounds are perfection. The views of the ocean are all spectacular no matter where you stay. If you do like to venture out the downtown area is minutes away by cab. There you can enjoy restaurants, clubs, discos, shopping or just taking in the local sights. If youre up for sightseeing the Royal Caribbean conciererge can take care of all the details for you. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help. Im already planning to go back for my 2014 vacation

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share this kind words.

We're glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We always strive in order to provide the best service available and its rewarding to read you appreciated the Royal Experience.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We own week two at this resort, but have stayed at many of the Royal Resorts as well. They are all wonderful! It is most definitely a five star resort. I can't imagine anyone being diappointed with a stay at this resort. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Cancun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this kind words with the world. We really hope you enjoyed your vacation and are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week`s stay at the Royal Caribbean in Cancun. We had a 2 bedroom unit (including the lockout). The unit was certainly large enough for the 2 of us and was well maintained and the daily cleaning was very good. Of the 3 ``Royals`` (Mayan, Caribbean, Islander) I believe that the Mayan restaurants are better quality than the Caribbean. Please note that the 3 Royals are adjacent to one another and a common charge card allows one to eat at any of the Royals in Cancun (there are 5). Also note that the Mayan will be sold this year so in the future you will only have the Caribbean and the Islander to use at this location.
The beaches in front of the Caribbean is pure sand, no coral, but keep in mind that the winds, at least during our week were very strong which made swimming in the ocean somewhat risky (red flags everywhere).
The staff was very accomodating and the 2 maintenance concerns that we had (toilet, safe) were fixed within 10 minutes in each case.
The one issue that I did not appreciate was the ``do not take no for answer`` of the timeshare personnal at the Caribbean. We were on an exchange as we own a number of weeks at different locations and we were not interested in even considering purchasing additional weeks and they were very persistent even when told ``not interested`` as they are now promoting a new development (Royal Haciendas) near Playa del Carmen.
Access to downtown Cancun from the Royal is easy. Buses run every 5 minutes and fare is approximately 65 cents and if one needs a taxi, they are everywhere. From the Caribbean to Cancun International is a 15 minute ride and the Royal does provide a shutttle service for a fee.
Summary: Clean, large units, perhaps dated bathrooms (no jacuzzi) choice of restaurants in 3 adjacent Royals, nice beach, no means no (timeshare promotions)

Room Tip: Virtually all rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Caribbean, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges, we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We hope to see welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Cancun
Royal Caribbean
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Royal Caribbean Hotel
Caribbean Royal
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into the soft white sand and surrender to the caress of the warm breeze in your own Cancun hideaway. An enchanting beachfront setting, spacious villas, five-star services and friendly ambiance, make The Royal Caribbean a heavenly spot for relaxing and reconnecting with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.