We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Resorts are GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Caribbean to your Saves list
The Royal Caribbean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special Sale!
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apex, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Royal Resorts are GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Our 2nd visit to Cancun and the Royal Resorts. We own timeshare and have stayed many places. This family of resorts is amazing. This trip we had 2- 2 bedroom units. I loved it! The beach is a little bit of a bummer. The erosion is bad and you can't get in the water at the resort. There are huge boulders that make it to dangerous. You can go to the Royal Sands (on the free shuttle) and utilize the beach. The pools are great- Happy Hour starts at 3pm. Marcos is awesome at the Royal Mayan pool bar. This visit we decided to use the resorts for most of our meals. I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the prices were reasonable for a resort. Next, the service and friendliness is UNBELIEVABLE! The conciere assigned to my units did a fantastic job. Yes, they ask if you want to know about becoming an owner. That is their job. But they don't hassle you about it, like they do at the airport and at many of the resorts. The resort is so CLEAN. They are always cleaning...everywhere you turn every day, staff is cleaning. You will smell musty rooms. People need to understand in Mexico and in the Caribbean that the humidity levels are high and that a lot of things are kept open most of the time. You will not be disappointed at any of the resorts..Royal Islander, Mayan, Sands or Caribbean. We will go again! And Again! And Again!

  • Liked — The service.
  • Disliked — The erosion of the beach.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    279
    84
    34
    31
See reviews for
398
283
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

Royal Carribean was good bang for your buck. There are nicer places in Cancun but this would be great if you have children vacationing with you. We had a 2 bedroom place which made it nice as we traveled with another couple. The rooms were clean and spacious. The beach is limited there from erosion but you can walk down the hotel zone on the beach and find some great spots. The concierge was great as he left us alone but was there to do things and recommend things for us to do. He even went and got flowers for me to give to my wife. If you are looking for a hot spot to go out then I would recommend staying closer to downtown. There are buses everywhere to take you to places but if you can splurge take cabs or hire a driver. It was a quiet time when we went. The pool is great there and the bar in the pool was a lot of fun. The restaurant is good and the convenience store on the premises is nice to gather things for the day. I would recommend going to Playa del Carmen for a day trip. Great little shops and beach there.

  • Liked — Price was right for a week stay
  • Disliked — Too far from all the action and good beaches
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Myself and four of my friends (aged 21-23) stayed in the Royal Caribbean and the Royal Islander for two consecutive weeks. It was a fabulous experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly--especially once they found out that we were Canadian. They were very excited about that. If you chose to, you could spend your entire trip inside the resorts: when you stay at the Royal resorts you have access to all of their resorts.

Also, I think it's important to note that they never, EVER pushed people to buy timeshares. They said in the orientation that if you were interested to ask them about it and that they wouldn't say anything else regarding timeshares and they were true to their word. The rooms were beautiful and clean.

  • Liked — The staff, the location, the atmosphere, the view, the white sand beaches
  • Disliked — That fact that their beach has jellyfish warnings--ppl swam anyways, but it warned you not to.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Royal Caribbean and I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised at how good everything was. This was our first trip to Cancun and so I can not compare how things were pre-hurricane. Cancun is all new and rebuilt - buses are cheap (65c US per person anywhere in the town) and lots of restaurants, souvenir stands and not many good deals. Even went to the downtown supermarket and prices are same or close to the US. Bargaining is fun but price around. You will always get cheaper around the corner.

We reserved a villa at the RC and it consisted of two bedrooms (one with a king bed) and the other with 2 doubles. Both bedrooms had their own bathrooms and between the bedrooms is a living room/dining room and a fully equipped kitchen. Facility was very clean and extremely well maintained. We got a unit that allowed smoking and we are definite non-smokers but there was no lingering odors and so we let it pass. Air conditioning is noisy but works well and that is the main thing. Swimming pools are clean and attended but the beach is a little sad due to erosion. The spa/gym is extra and expensive and we did not use it. Each Royal resort has a sports desk that checks out towels, snorkeling equipment, tennis stuff and others. Staff is very attentive. Food is good although can be pricey and if you can make use of the kitchen in your unit - do so.

Our concierge was good although I must agree with previous posters - Beware of timeshare hooks. They are everywhere in Cancun and it does not matter where you are staying - from the moment literally you get out of customs at the airport - there is someone with a 'deal' offering either free tours, free rental cars etc. Naturally there is a price which is a 90 minute presentation with a free meal and then the intense pressure selling starts. We were caught by a time share 'agent' at the airport for another resort. free breakfast and a tour and then a waste of 2 hours plus. As soon as they offer you something that is too good to be true, you know it is. So just SAY NO.

Our concierge said we should go on the free Royal shuttle to the Royal Hacienda Sands in Playa del Carmen from the RC about 30 miles away. Snorkeling and Kayaking were good there and free; however on arrival we were told that we were going to have a free luch there and so we declined as we saw that the time share hook was on noticing lots of people walking around with a guide from the hotel. As we had gone through this torture already we said thanks but no thanks. They were disappointed but did not complain or force us to do anything we did not want to do - to their credit. We went instead to a park called Xcaret - which is highly recommended for a full day trip. We took a taxi cab back. Also if going to Chechin Itza - GO EARLY - the place is mobbed with visitors, lines are long in the afternoon.


A word of warning however is that the RC is strict. An example of this is that I got really badly sunburnt and had a lotion put on my back to ease the pain and itching. Overnight the lotion got on the bed sheets. The cleaning lady took the sheets to the supervisor and we had to wash the sheets ourselves or else pay to have them laundered. There is a laundrette on site so it was not that terrible but my feeling is that for the amount we paid for the week they could have taken the sheets which were going to be washed anyway and put clean sheets on for us.

Will I stay at the RC again? - definitely yes. Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Royal Caribbean the first week of July 2007 and though it is a nice resort, it definitely has its pros and cons. The poolside service is great, the waiters are friendly, happy hour starts at 3pm, and the food is pretty good to snack on during the day and not too expensive for resort food. The restaurant offers different things each night, and one night we did the poolside dining outside. The food was great and so was the service. However, when you check in you are assigned a "concierge". Ours was terrible. They're supposed to help you book tours, and make your stay pleasurable so you might want to buy a timeshare. Ours never pressured us into buying anything and said she would be happy to provide us with info on the timeshares if we needed it, but otherwise no pressure. What was bad was she got us to book all these tours with Thomas Moore travel, and the first one that the 8 of us went on was nothing like she had described, and when we complained, the travel company blamed the conciege, the conciege blamed the travel company, and our rude tour guide told us "too bad" when we said the tour to the Mayan ruins was not what we were told it'd be (we were told we would have a private driver for our group all day and after the ruins we could do whatever we wanted- snorkel, go to other towns, etc. After the tour to the ruins, the guide told us that was not so, and made us pay $48 to go into a swimming hole filled with misbehaved kids and then took us back to the hotel unhappy). After that experience we cancelled the rest of the tours we booked ($2k worth) and they couldn't have cared less. The concierge also told us the only day we could go to the Royal Haciendas to snorkel, use the kayaks etc was Thursday, or it would cost us $100 each way for our group to get there and back (otherwise they offer a "free" ride over on Tues and Thurs). After I looked into this, I found out Thomas Moore offered trips over there for $12 a person ROUNDTRIP. The concierge just forgot to mention this to us so we would go on a day the timeshare sales people were around. She also told us the only way we could go snorkeling was if we booked a snorkeling tour or went to the Royal Haciendas in Playa Del Carmen, since those were the only 2 places nearby. After checking tripadvisor reviews, we realized there was great beach to snorkel on that we could get to by bus for 65 cents a person or by cab for a little more (the one at the westin near club med). That cost us $18 each way for a cab for all 8 of us and was great (its actually the place all the snorkeling tours in the area take you to by boat- so do it for practically nothing by bringing your own snorkeling gear and using the bus). Then my husband mentioned it was our anniversary and we would like some suggestions for a nice place to relax and have a quiet dinner. The concierge just tried to push a $70 a person lobster dinner cruise and told us anything in town that was nice would cost double that (definitely not true), So basically our concierge really was more of a bother and nuisance than a help, and just wanted to sell us tours. Other than that, the beach is great, the water is beautiful, and the regular staff is very friendly. Sometimes the waiters are slow, but that's typical. The rooms were very clean, but had a bit of a damp smell in one of the 2 we rented. The rooms all have ocean views that are great though. Also, if you want to use the free sailboats, they only are for 2 people at a time and have to be booked the day before. It was blistering hot when we went in July, so you might also want to consider going in a cooler month as well.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

This was a great place to stay. The service was impecable. More than generous were the Mexican people . The hospitality was divine. Everything remained clean and tidy.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky (i.e.Cincinnati)
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

After being stuck in Wilma during my honeymoon, this trip was worth the "make-up". This is the first time I stayed at Royal Carribean and it was such a nice place. You never want for anything. The pool was supper nice. At the swim up bar I highly recommend ordering a "Bannana Monkey." The beach in Cancun is still non-exsistant, but I was able to get in one day when the tides were calm enough. Time will just have to heal the beach on it's own. Watch the boulders! The in house food was excellent, I highly recommend the pizza parlour! I also really liked the "Resort Card". This card given to you upon check in, is your room key and your payment card for anything on resort grounds. Including the store, Bar, and laundry mat. (And can be also used across the street at Pirates Cove and the bar hooked to it.) The shuttle service was really nice, so you can easily access the other Royal Resorts and their ammenities and restaurants. (Skip the restaurant at the Royal Sands. The entertainment is good, but the food was horriable!) All in all it was the perfect "make up" honeymoon. We will try to get back in Feb of '09 for my birthday, can't wait!

  • Liked — The many ammenities
  • Disliked — Beach, but that's not their fault.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Caribbean

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Caribbean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Caribbean(R) Nestled between a magnificent stretch of powder-white sand and lovingly tended tropical gardens, our two resorts offer an exceptional collection of services... And twice the fun. Escape to paradise. Sink your toes into soft white sand that's always cool to the touch and listen to the murmur of the waves. Start the day with a swim in the pool, work out in the gym or sign up for tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Royal Caribbean Hotel Cancun
Cancun Caribbean Resort Royal
Royal Caribbean Resort Cancun
Royal Carribean
Caribbean Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.