We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Royal Islander” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Islander

Save Saved
You added The Royal Islander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Islander
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Special Offer
Ranked #25 of 172 hotels in Cancun
doylestown, pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time at the Royal Islander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our 8 night stay at the Royal Islander was wonderful. Facility is ultra clean, beautiful pool with drink and food service, and a spectacular clean beach with the same bar and food service. Fish tacos from the onsite restaurant were fabulous! Every room has a wonderful view, either of the pool area or in the case of our unit, great view of the ocean! Units are extremely clean, furniture and bedding are fine, although, could use an update....but perfectly fine. Access to the other Royal Hotels make this a bonus for their restaurants, pools, etc. Quiet resort, no rowdy drinking crowds which we appreciated. Excellent restaurants a cab ride away if you choose. Onsite, small market for groceries, etc. or a full Walmart a cab ride or bus ride away has everything you need for your stay....food, beer, liquor, etc. Wifi in the unit worked fine. A great resort...would love to go back!!

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view, it's truly spectacular....but all other rooms have pool views whic...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We really appreciate your kind words. We always strive to provide the best service available to our customers and we find very rewarding to read reviews like this. Nevertheless: we are always listening to our customers's feedback and we'll make sure our Guest Service Manager at Royal Islander reads this.

We hope to welcome you again soon at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    217
    49
    18
    19
See reviews for
280
270
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hi,

We just checked out on Saturday Feb. 9th 2013, and what a great resort with an excellent staff!! I highly encourage anyone to visit there. Everything was awesome including the staff, food, bar, location, room, view, beach, service, and store!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and are happy to know you had such a good time during your last visit to our resort. We always strive to provide the best service available and is rewarding to learn our staff is doing such a nice work.

We hope to welcome you again soon here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been coming to the Royal Resorts , the Islander, for over twenty years and have never been disappointed in our stay. Clean, spacious and nicely appointed villas with outstanding beaches, pools and restaurants. The staff are all great and there is more to do than time allows! My only negative was too much time spent by "Chubby" pushing Dr. Dzugan at the Orientation. Very uncomfortable and NOT the place for that! Please don't do it anymore...we felt like captives...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We are always listening to our customers's feedback and yours won't be an exception. We will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriated channels and we'll take actions in order to improve our service.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice rooms. Nice pool area. Landscaping very good. Beach area very good. We arrived around 3:30-4:00 pm but our room not ready. Breakfast Buffett not very good but very expensive. Wifi connection was the worst I've ever experienced in a resort. Customer service was mixed. Some very good and some not good at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We take your comments very seriously and we'll address them with extreme care in order to improve our service. We consider our prices are competitive in the area and we regret that you think otherwise.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Cancun.

Warm regards

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great units, very well kept. Continuing upgrades which helps a 20yr old property. Hopefully that will continue. Great concierge Ross who kept us updated and informed but didn't go overboard with calls and requests. Very helpful with reservations and arrangements. We spend two weeks every January and continue to look forward to our home away.

Room Tip: Several beach front units are available, Buildings 1,7 and 8 are all beach front units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide our guests the best service available and this will continue to be our main goal. We'll praise Ross for doing such a good job because he's being continuously mentioned in good reviews like yours.

We are already waiting for you! See you next January :)

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just got back and it was AWESOME! We have been coming here for 8 years and can't wait to get back. We go once a year and the staff remains the same. They treat their employees good and their guests even better. They set the bar for 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post such nice words about our resort.

We are convinced our staff is a very important ingredient to The Royal Experience and we strive to keep them happy so they can provide the service you've come to expect from Royal Resorts.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We exchanged our unit in Interval World for January's last week at Royal Islander. Before arriving, we were a little bit worried about the conservation of the place (the hotel may be more than twenty years old) and that was the best surprise. Everything is absolutely well mainteined. We noticed that they care about all details in terms of maintenance, since the beautiful garden to painting repairs. Another positive was the service and staff, very attentive. The facilities was very good too: different ranges of good restaurants with reasonable price and a really nice convenient shop for all kinds of supplies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beach, The Royal Islander® offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. Play in the pool. Head for the tennis courts. Sign up for a round of golf at a nearby course and explore ancient Mayan temples at El Rey. Sip a tropical cocktail on the terrace. Savor fresh seafood cooked to perfection. A peaceful ambiance and time-honored hospitality make this resort a truly special place to vacation with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Islander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.