We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Islander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Islander to your Saves list
The Royal Islander
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW! Free Resort WiFi
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first time to Cancun and had the best time. Spent most of our trip at the Hotel and we were treated like queens. The staff cared enough to not only remember our names but what our favorite drinks were. They also were very helpful booking our tours and making sure we had everything we needed. We had a beach front room which made it even better. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: beach front rooms have an amazing view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. Your kind words inspire us to continue providing our visitors the personalized service they deserve.

We are looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    247
    62
    20
    22
See reviews for
319
301
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Royal Islander is located closer to the airport and away from the most active party zone. It has a nice beach and pool area. It apparently works primarily as a time share, not as a normal hotel. We chose this for one night stay and a morning water activity before picking up our third party at the airport the next day. We arrive after 9 pm and were turned down for a late departure request for the next day. The restaurant was closed and there is no bar at the hotel. The only thing open was a small market from which we grabbed a beer and some snacks. The next morning we left to meet our fishing charter at 6 am. We were ok with the clothes on our backs, because our luggage was delayed and would not arrive until noon. We ended the fishing trip a little early because of rain and returned to the hotel at 10 am to find that the staff had used our room for breakfast, having left new dirty plates in the bathroom sink, and having stripped the beds. Apparently the fact that we left nothing in the room made someone think they were free to use the room for their own use. We informed the desk, showered, then decided to eat lunch at their restaurant, because we would not be able to speak to the manager until 11, when she came in. After explaining again what happened, we received a verbal apology and that was all. When asked about some sort of compensation for the breach in security we were told that nothing could be done, not the lunch, that we had already paid for or on the room. I thought they would provide some kind of discount or something for our experience, but nada. One other thing, this place only accepted room charges covered by a credit card credit. We had to place a $100 credit on the room so we could buy $10 worth of stuff from the market. After checkout, they provide a special card indicating you are permitted to pay for lunch directly with a credit card. This very close supervision of financial transactions may also reflect the absence of options for the staff to address problems.

So I can not recommend the Royal Islander because of very poor customer service, lack of security with their own staff and a corporate organization that prevents any individual response to service problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry for what happened during your stay at The Royal Islander and we offer a sincere apology. We're always listening to our customer's feedback and rest assured we'll take any required action to make sure this won't happen ever again.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Cancun.

Best Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent Week 3 at the Royal Islander after 2 great weeks at the Royal Mayan. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Royal Islander. With the exception of the poor wifi everything was great.

There is a slightly different vibe at the Royal Islander versus the Royal Mayan - younger crowd with more children, probably because of the children's pool.

Hope that Week 4 is as much fun.

Mike and Gay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hi Guys -- I am actually writing this from our room here at the hotel because I don't want to forget anything when life in the U.S. comes crashing back in to our consciousness! :)

There were three things I was really worried about before coming here: Would the beach be as nice as I think it will be? Will the suite be smaller than it looks in the pics? Would the bed be comfy?

Firstly, the beach is gorgeous. We walked up and down the beach many times, and they take such good care of this beachfront. The sand is soft and white and exactly what you would expect when laying out on a beach. Lots of beach chairs and umbrellas to relax in all day long. They also have outdoor showers so you can cool off without going into the ocean, which happened to be very rough when we were here -- although that didn't stop anyone except me because I can't swim. ;)

I was SO pleasantly surprised with the size of our suite. Lots and lots of space to spread out. Really, you get SO MUCH room for your money. The pictures actually make everything look smaller than it is! We met quite a few people during our trip who were staying in the "lock off" rooms on the property (the smaller hotel-like rooms attached to the suites), and when they would come up to our suite they were wowed by how big they were!

The bed in our suite was GIGANTIC and nice and firm, but not hard. The pillows were very supportive and comfy so your head just sinks in and you fall off to sleep.

You should know that many people think they can just come here and open the patio doors to let fresh air in. But it is SOOOO HUMID here that you will wake up and floors and the cushions on the couch and chairs and the floors will be wet!

So if you DO open the doors, do it for short amounts of time, and shut your air con off when you do -- because if you don't, then it makes the air con system wet and then they end up with a mildew situation that is difficult to get rid of. So if you open your doors, shut off the air. People with mildew allergies like me will thank you for doing this! :)

We really loved that we didn't have to carry cash, just our key card to charge stuff. The happy hours rocked! Half price or two-for-one. The Islander's happy hours were 3p-6p -- discovered that the Mayan's happy hours lasted until 7p. So you can drink for cheap from 3-7p, take a break for dindin, and then go to the next happy hour at Islander from 9p-10p! Truly a money saver! Although not the best for your liver. :)

I have to run to shower and get ready to leave (sooo sad we have to go!) but just wanted to point out a couple more things.

Firstly, the WiFi works great if you are in the right room. The higher up you go, or the further away from the lobby you get, the worse your reception. The building is situated like this: Buildings 1 and 7 are beach front. Then behind building 1 you have building 2, then behind that is building 3, etc, all the way around the pool until you get to building 7 again. The lobby is located below building 4 -- and the modem must be somewhere around there. We stayed in building 6 on the 7th floor when we first got here and the WiFi sucked. Then we moved to building 3 on the 4th floor and the WiFi was excellent on the patio and very good inside at the dining room table. For those of us who have to work online while we are away, this is important to know. :)

Another good thing to know is buildings 2, 3, and half of 4 face the sun, and buildings 5 and 6 and again half of 4 are always in the shade. Ocean fronts get morning sun.

Two outstanding customer service peeps I would like to point out:

1. Ismael, the front desk manager. Patience of a saint. I had an allergy that caused me to have to move from our first room, and he worked very closely with me to make sure that the room I was moved to worked for me -- which it did. Ismael, you are the best!

2. Ross, our concierge. So friendly and helpful. I have read some reviews that have talked about their concierge being a pain in the bleeeeep, but Ross was never a pain to us. He always listened carefully to what we asked, always provided answers and assistance to us in whatever way we needed, and did it all with a smile. Truly a super duper nice person. Ross, we were very happy you were our Concierge! Thank you for EVERYTHING! :)

We would love to come back here, but they are going to switch to all-inclusive, for members only. Very sad. If you can book yourself in this resort before they make that switch, do it! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to post your review about our resort.

We value your comments and for sure we will praise Ismael and Ross for doing such a nice job. Is very important for us to know we can rely on such persons to give our customers the personalized attention they deserve.

We hope to welcome you again soon at this your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Royal Islander was built as an upscale time-share some thirty years ago along with its sister and adjoining time-shares, The Roal Caribbean and The Royal Mayan. Good service and activities in a beautiful beach setting makes this place a lovely choice. The kitchen and furnishings, although somewhat dated, are comfortable. Be prepared for frequent time-share pitches from the time you land at the airport to anytime you walk down the street. Your "concierge" is in fact your hotel assigned time-share pitcher, and they don't like "no" for an answer.
If you are thinking of buying, beware that the properties are time- bound by property leases, and the hotel/time-shares are converting to " all inclusive," which may or may not be your cup of tea.

Room Tip: The Royal Islander is closer to the airport than it is downtown, but busees run every few minutes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Islander, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort, and does lend itself to a few challenges. Regardless we hope to always achieve a high level of satisfaction. We value your opinion and will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriate channels so that our service may improve.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. It was on par with previous Royal properties.(Sands, Mayan, and Haciendas.) this was a second week after an all-inclusive stay with some friends. I can say we enjoyed this place as well as the other. Rooms we nice and we had a 6th floor view of the ocean. Great balcony was wonderful will stiff breeze most of the week. Food was good after all the buffets we had the previous week. I am fond of the royal properties since you can go next door and try a new crowd if you wish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Islander many times over the last 15+ years. It is always a wonderful experience! Terrific staff, perfectly groomed grounds, pool and beach. While you are there, try out La Palapa (for casual fare) and El Conquistador (for fine dining) at the Royal Mayan, the sister resort adjoining the property.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Islander

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 17.5 L-51 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beach, The Royal Islander® offers enchanting views of the Caribbean and the Nichupte Lagoon. Seek a moment of solitude at sunrise and enjoy blissful hours in the warm sun. Play in the pool. Head for the tennis courts. Sign up for a round of golf at a nearby course and explore ancient Mayan temples at El Rey. Sip a tropical cocktail on the terrace. Savor fresh seafood cooked to perfection. A peaceful ambiance and time-honored hospitality make this resort a truly special place to vacation with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Islander Hotel Cancun
Royal Islander Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Islander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.