We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Warren
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Riu Caribe was an excellent experience. We were 3 couples that vacationed here the first week in February 2014. The staff was courteous and friendly. Rooms were clean and bright. Washrooms were clean, large and modern with large walk in showers. The beach was superior to the adjacent beaches which had a lot of rock, but our beach was great. We always found enough chairs by the pool or beach but later in the morning it was more of a challenge as in any resort, people tend to save loungers early in the morning. There was a large pool that tended to have more noise and activities but there is also a quiet pool for those who want to relax. We did not try the Mexican Restaurant but that was mostly because we had great experiences at the Oriental and Steak Restaurants which we visited 2wice each. It should be noted that all room pretty much face the ocean but we paid extra to book Oceanview and had a more central room with a better view. We were also on the 5th floor which gave us a great view. The only 2 small complaints we had were the elevators were hot and did not work fast or well. The South elevators we gave up on as they never ever took us to the floor we requested. The resort also became quiet at night, the entertainment was good but ended about 10 pm and the lights went out in the main lobby at midnight. There was no disco or dancing and they encouraged you to take a ride to a selected club each night but these cost $40 to $80. Good job Riu Caribe!!

Room Tip: Forth floor and up had better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,651
    539
    241
    203
See reviews for
1,013
1,777
56
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just back from 2 weeks stay at this hotel and not impressed, evening entertainment poor, no where quiet to sit in the evening and no where to dance,room average, no bath or tea and coffee making facilities, hotel noisy day and night mainly due to drunken spring breakers, manager Marek Vancek informed us that the hotel do send a warning letter to anyone caught making noise after 11pm, only problem with this is they did not appear to have any security on our floor , which meant we we're woken between 2am and 5am night after night even after speaking to the manager who appeared totally uninterested and unsympathetic to our distress. On the positive side the food was good the hotel was very clean and most of the staff were very helpful .

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 days in mid March. We didn’t have the best time, to say the least. Upon arrival, the staff at the front desk wasn’t very welcoming or enthusiastic. We didn’t receive welcome drinks or cold towels as we have in the past at other Rius. As mentioned in a few previous reviews, there were large groups of spring breakers that were inconsiderate and obnoxious to staff and other guests, with no consequences whatsoever for their rude behavior.
My boyfriend and I accidentally left out personal belongings under our chair at the pool and came back 10 minutes after it closed to find everything was cleaned up already. We went to the front desk and asked for everything. They had my dress, sandals, and sunglasses. However, we were told my boyfriend’s clothes, backpack with all our things in it, and sunglasses (which were all with my things by the pool) were never “turned in”. That was very shady to us and we felt very disheartened. That same night, we tried to go to sleep around 9:30 to get an early start the next day, but that was not possible. Music was blasting from outside so loud it sounded like it was inside of our room. It was coming from the Peninsula next door, which I imagine had a wedding going on. The music was finally turned down at 11:00pm and even then we could still hear it and there was still a considerable amount of noise from guests both outside and inside our hotel. Just a word of advice, if you want peace and quiet, this is not the resort for you.
The food in the buffet was just average and it seemed that everything was cold or at best room temperature, except for the French fries which is mostly what I ate. We did visit the Riu Cancun and the food there was much, much better. Reservations to the restaurants were very easy to get. We went to the steakhouse on our second night there and after my boyfriend ate his steak, he immediately felt his stomach bloat. The next morning, he was in severe stomach pain and had food poisoning. The last 2 1/2 days of our vacation were spent in bed because he was feeling so terrible. When I told the front desk, they asked our room number and recommended the pharmacy next door, but they did nothing.
With all the bad things we experienced, of course there were fantastic things that must be mentioned as well! We had a corner Jr. Suite room, which has a huge double balcony with amazing views. I highly recommend paying for the upgrade! Most of the staff members at the bars, restaurants, and buffet were wonderful and worked so hard, always with a smile on their face. The last few days that I had to eat lunch and dinner alone, they were so nice and made me feel very special. The cleaning staff is also amazing and our room and the whole hotel in general was always spotless! The drinks were delicious and definitely strong despite what other reviewers have said. The pool and beach are beyond beautiful! And even though seaweed washes up on the beach, there is always someone with a shovel and wheelbarrow trying to collect it all.
At check-out, the staff was still unenthusiastic and did not ask us how our stay was, which I have never not been asked at any hotel I’ve ever stayed at. On the bus transfer to the airport, we had a conversation with a group of girls who said they also got very sick from the food. All in all, I would not stay here again. I could imagine it being a considerably more pleasant experience if we were not there during spring break season though. We walked around and inside of the Riu Palace Peninsula next door and it was very nice and also seemed to be more calming and relaxing, so I would recommend staying there instead. There are some redeeming qualities of the Riu Caribe, but definitely not enough to compare to other resorts we have stayed at or could have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time. The staff is awesome. Everyone works so hard to make your stay pleasant. The food at the buffet is great. The restaurants are just ok so don't worry if you can't get a reservation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of March. A lovely hotel which offers sea view rooms to everyone. It is located a litle way from the centre of the hotel zone but the shops, bars, clubs and discos can be easily and cheaply reached by bus. Very clean throughout the complex. Good sized rooms. All restaurants offered an excellent menu range which was well prepared. In addition to the main buffet there are 3 specialty restaurants (Steak, Asian and Mexican) which should all be visited. Bookings are required for these but we had no problem getting in on the days we wanted to (provided that we were flexible on the times). The hotel also has an excellent quiet pool (with its own bar) if you want to get away from the fun and games in the main pool. The lobby bar (which includes a secondary entertainment stage) is large but has poor acoustics so was very noisy especially in the evenings (even when there was no entertainment on!). There is a sports bar which was quieter but lacked any character. In my view the hotel would benefit from the introduction of a quiet lounge/bar. Being at this hotel during spring break there were many groups of young people who were rowdy with some being inconsiderate to fellow holiday makers, including in the early hours of the morning with excessive noise and door banging disturbing people's sleep. We also witnessed some being seriously worse for wear through alcohol. Okay, the hotel cannot be held responsible for the attitudes of its guests (hence still getting a very good score from me) but it chooses to allow such groups and I saw no evidence of it discouraging inappropriate behaviour (despite what it says on its own website).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a lovely week at the Riu Caribe early March - just at the start of the spring break season.
Beautiful hotel with fantastic views and an amazing beach. Lots of activities laid on by hotel for Spring Breakers but plenty of space to relax and avoid these if you want to. Food was excellent and all serving staff were friendly. The choice in main buffet restaurant "Albatross" was amazingI everyone should be able to find something to suit their taste. Weather was very good during our stay even though we had one day of horrendous thunderstorms and monsoon rain. Lots of excursions available for the adventurous but we were happy chillin' out on the beach + by pools. Superb!
May be a bit more manic as the Spring Break season progresses though..

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a beautiful sea view. Corner rooms see to have larger sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 2 weeks from 25th September 2013, check in was quick and easy and our luggage taken to our room for us. Everywhere in this hotel is spotless, workers always cleaning the public areas. Our room was on the 7th floor & was cleaned and given fresh towels everyday, all rooms have a sea view and balcony. Mini bar contained red bull, coca cola , sprite, water etc and the optics was vodka, rum, whisky & jose cuervo tequila (tequila was the only branded one) we found the bed not that hard, we found it ok for 2 weeks with no complaints. Only thing with our room we had a problem with was that our mini fridge wasn't always restocked with water so we did have to ring down to reception a few times.

Food was lovely always a good choice although as with most all inclusive resorts after 2 weeks the food does get a bit repetitive. Tried the pizza place by the quiet pool at lunch once but the wait was about 20mins and the pizza was really greasy, not that nice so not worth it. Best place to eat at lunch is the steak restaurant near the main pool good choice of buffet. For evening meals we tried the chinese restaurant which was buffet style, was nice food but didn't get round to trying the steak or mexican restaurants. Best place was the main buffet restaurant for evening meals, most nights were themed such as mexican, chinese, italian etc could always get a table at whatever time we went.

The main pool is where we mainly sat at as the entertainment and games at this pool was one of the highlights of our holiday! Me and my partner rarely used to join in with entertainment teams at previous hotels but we made such good friends with the entertainment team at Riu Caribe as they are so friendly and not too pushy, my partner joined in with tequila volleyball and water polo most days. The entertainment team work so hard from 7.30am until 3am as they ask you to meet in the lobby at 11pm they then take you to coco bongos, sweet club etc and get you a decent table for very cheap including transport, well worth doing! Make sure to be around the main pool around 3pm as they do a big team game that gets everyone around the pool involved and is usually hilarious! We also went to the show in the theater most nights and they were fairly amusing although not many seats so get there quick if you would like to sit together.

For nightlife get a bus from opposite side of the road very cheap, then pay for a taxi home as apparently we got told by the thomson rep the police dont really like drunk tourists roaming the streets late at night, taxi cost around £3 back to the hotel. The hotel is one of the furthest hotels from the main nightlife area where coco bongos, dady o's etc is but taxis are cheap and we had no problem getting to and from that area. Nightlife is great here all you do is pay a set amount to get into the bar/club and then open bar - lovely! Coco Bongos is a definite must do! Was my fav! It is indescribable you just need to go and find out yourselves! We also loved the Congo Bar pay $20 to get in (remember to tip your waiter to get fab service and your glass will never be empty!) after becoming friends with one of the waiters we paid just $5 for a bottle of grey goose vodka! Really good vibe and music at this open air bar.

For Thomson customers our flights were both on time and although we didn't go on the dreamliner we paid for extra legroom on the old first choice style plane and was a great flight both ways, food was really good chicken in a white wine sauce with vegetables and rice, sandwich later on, only thing is paying for your drinks which can be expensive onboard. The thomson reps were brilliant, really helpful and Aldo who was at our hotel most days was really friendly and approachable. As for excursions with thomson we paid to go on the bar crawl for about £50 each was it worth it? Not really, its good to go in each bar and see what they're like but the only thing is the bar or club you're in at that time is closed to the rest of the public! So lacked atmosphere, when booking the bar crawl it is mentioned that thomson bar crawlers get its own balcony area in coco bongos which is the club you end up in but the balcony is small! So there's about 80 people trying to cram to the front of this balcony so you can watch the show really not fun! Best just to walk downstairs and join the rest of the public and get a table with a waiter so you can actually get a drink! So we found the bar crawl not something we would do again although is a good taster for a first night out to get to know the bars/clubs. We booked to go to Xel-Ha platinum package which included swimming & snorkelling with dolphins, this was a great experience and recommend this greatly! We also booked the speedboat excursion which was amazing, you get your own speedboat to drive which you follow the leader out into the Caribbean sea and go snorkelling on the coral reef! Got some great pics here and was so much fun - we would do this again! Also as we booked through thomson we got free drinks and pizza at the end when we got back to the shore where other people who did the speedboats at the same time didn't, so that was a nice little bonus!

All in all please dont listen to the bad reviews we absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely be returning to the Riu Caribe!! Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are better as lower rooms are closer to the loud lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.