We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Normanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

spent honeymoon at Riu Caribe Cancun, place was fab staff couldnt do enough to help u very attentive. Loved the 24 hour all inclusive sports bar bar men in here deserve special mention Beto and Frankie made amazing cocktails. Food was great and so much choice. Our room was on 7th floor and had great view only down side the lifts where a bit iffy sometimes working then not. Cancun was lovely very clean and people so friendly. Definately going back as soon as I can

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,406
    1,649
    537
    240
    203
See reviews for
1,013
1,774
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Cancun and we loved it! The Staff in the hotel cannot do enough for you whether you tip them or not, we did tip as we thought the staff really deserved it! We where in room 945 and the view was amazing, right in the centre of the hotel on the top floor. The rooms where very spacious with a large bathroom and the bed was so comfy! The only problem when being on a high floor is that the lifts have a mind of there own and sometimes its easier to just walk down the stairs.
The food in this hotel was okay, it could have been better but there was plenty of choice. The Buffet Restaurant had a different choice of carvery meat each night and there was sometimes fish. There where always plenty to choose from but the quality of the food sometimes lacked. We went the Mexican restaurant and it was awful, the beef was like fat, however the Asian restaurant and the steakhouse where very nice and I would recommend them.
The entertainment team work so hard! The energy they all have is unbelievable, they never stop! We took part in the couples competition whilst we where there and won it! Which was great!
The bar staff Maya and Damasio where fab! They work so hard and always make sure you never have an empty drink!
The location of this hotel was good as the Strip was only a 5 minute bus ride down the road and if you go in the opposite direction there is a walmart about 10 minutes away and the prices are so cheap compared the the hotel zone!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a centre pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just got back a few hours ago, Just want to say this was my first time to Mexico and compared to Cuba and Dominican Republic I was amazed at how clean and the level of standard was so high. The food was absolutely amazing, the beach is the best in all of Cancun everyone is coming to RIU Caribe's beach because it is the calmest water and has lots of sand. the resorts next door are all rock beach's and when you go to the main hotel strip beach the beach is big but dirty and very strong waves and current. The workers work really hard at Riu Caribe I only ate at the international buffet and they were changing the food everyday so it never was the same and it was awesome breakfast lunch and dinner. The only downside to the resort I would say is the alcohol, the beer is really weak even from the can it tasted like club soda, and most of all the other drinks I would have didn't even make me tipsy or what not sure if the alcohol is watered down or what the amount I drank can be considered gross for the one day I tested it out but it didn't do anything I was wide awake for breakfast at 7am. The night entertainment a few good nights, our favorite was the magic show and Mexican folk. They need to get rid of things like the mister nights and such that just focus on having the guests do all the entertaining and focus more on having live music and dancing. I think this resort would benefit of having just a small little disco bar in place of the sports bar, for those that would want to dance instead of heading down into that main cancun area.
A tip avoid all vendors on sidewalks offering excursions you will get robbed. A second tip, if you do a chi chen- Itza trip dont listen to the tour guide about buying stuff at chi chen-itza itself yes maybe it might not be the best stuff but heck 100-400 pesos is alot better price then what they take you to after the restaurant the stuff is 4200 pesos. And a third tip if you do a samba catamaran to isla mujeres they will take you picture with their camera at the nurse shark and snorkeling and then try to sell you the pictures for $15 dollars each, and something is weird about how there can be so many locals on each catamaran and they are always wild and taking up the best part of the boat.

any how back to RIU

so again:

Pros:
Beach--best in Cancun
food--Awesome
Staff-Awesome, except the workers at reception
pool-awesome
entertainment- 50/50 needs improvement that is not that hard to do.
cleanliness- Awesome
Alcohol-Meh I really dont know if it is all of mexico...or what I didn't have alcohol like this in Cuba or Dominican

would i go back to Riu Caribe in the future... I honestly would go back to this place year after year after year that's how good it was but, I don't care for the coco bong or what type of entertainment I want the resort to entertain me so if that would get better and the alcohol would get stronger it would be heaven. From what I saw in Cancun I would not go to any other place solely based on the beach and ocean conditions Riu caribes is #1 even the more expensive RIU's were coming because of the calm water, clean beach area.

I hope this review helps the resort and people going to cancun.

Room Tip: its all ocean view, just get any room and spend your time out of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just got back from Cancun. First impressions not so good, after landing it took two hours from entering the terminal building to getting out. Coming back no problem at all.

The hotel was very good, could not fault the food, service, or the pools.
The lobby bars (two) were very noisy, service was good but tip the barman if you want the imported drinks.
One day I noticed that they were measuring the beach, which faces north, When I went into the sea I tripped over a large sand filled bag, so it looks like the beach is eroding and they are trying to save it.
The beaches to the south of the entertainment area are far better, so try and get an hotel there.
Cancun is great if you like clubbing, but there are hardly any smallish live music bars.
All trips are offered in USD, so if you pay in pesos you get ripped off on the exchange rate.
Even some of the shops are USD. American made goods are cheap, European major shop brands cost about 33% more than online.
So if you just want sea, sun, sand and love clubbing Cancun fits the bill.
If you like finding small bars on your evening walk, you would probably be better off going to the Tenerife.
If you must do long haul go to the Far East (I am), Cancun is not in the same ball park.
I forgot the lift in the hotel was not working for the two weeks we were there, but the climb up to the fourth floor did help to reduce the effect of the excellent food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rui Caribe for the second week of our first holiday in Mexico. We loved it! Its location is perfect and our room was prefect too. We were in room 493, down one of the side wings of the hotel. I have never been one for sitting on hotel balconies but the view from our room was brilliant and we sat out often, especially in the evenings when the sun no longer shone on it. The room was large with a massive bed (never seen a "double" so big) and plenty of drawers and a built in wardrobe. I was surprised to find an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe! The next big surprise was having optics in the room, and a fridge full of beers, water, and soft drinks - all part of the all-inclusive. These were all replenished every second day ( No hot drinks facilities in the room).
The main dining room served a full international menu at breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the food was well cooked and delicious. The staff were great.
There is also a snack bar and pizzeria where you can have lunch if you wish. The snack bar served sandwiches, hotdogs and burgers all day, along with desserts and fruits. Pizzas only at the pizzeria but they are made to order and delicious. Drinks are freely available all day long.
The beach is white powder and the sea is clean and warm. We had the catamaran for an hour each day and you could also have kayaks and wind surfers. The beach is not over large and can get crowded.
We often caught the local bus to travel either way along the strip, to the shopping malls and the big Wal-mart. It costs 19 pesos for the two of us each journey, regardless of the distance travelled. If you do day trips to Chichen Itza and other sites, buy your souvenirs there as they are much cheaper than in Cancun!!
I found the lobby of the hotel to be quite noisy whatever time of the day, but the noise never reached our room. It is a very modern looking space open to the top of the hotel. And our Christmas tree was a bare branch covered in silver paper and white lights - I missed the traditional style of tree ( but that's just me).The bar in the lobby makes the best banana milkshakes in the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the wings tend to be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks from 25th nov til 9 dec, most of this will echo what others have said, very clean ,modern, food and drink great and lots of choice,
i am really fussy and always found something good to eat, drink is top quality, i never had a hangover in 14 days which proves it's not rubbish they serve you, all the bartenders are fab, a drink is there before you even ask for it,
always found beds on the beach, prefer that to the pool, tho we went to the quiet pool when the sun went behind the hotel for the last rays.
we had a double room on 7th floor facing into the hotel and the views were amazing, room was smaller than i expected but had all you need and the bed was huge and comfortable, shower was fantastic, great pressure and huge,
never see anyone without a a smile on there face, they really are so friendly and work so hard, i can't imagine the english working so hard with a smile 24/7
we met some fantastic people who really made our holiday too, julie and her daughter who were so funny, ben and charlotte to name but a few, thanks guys
would definately recommend this hotel to anyone, so easy to jump on a bus if you want extra nightlife, buses so often and cheap and run all night.
the reviewer that slated this hotel (coker 65) must of stayed at a different hotel, no way was it anything like what was stated
also the beach is not rubbish, people must walk about with there eyes shut

Room Tip: ask for above 5th floor facing into pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ignore all the silly people!

cant ever put into words how amazing the hotel/holiday was! Everything about the hotel was brilliant, amazing friendly staff, great entertainment from 10am right through the day mainly at the pool and when it rained they set up inside entertainment. The food was great! everything you can imagine burger,chips, fresh cooked fish pasta! you name it they had it, i am a fussy eater and always had something to eat. If you love food you wouldnt go short! must try the fried ice cream! The pizzeria was amazing fresh made pizza at lunchtime. The pool bar was great floating around the pool with a cocktail, couldn;t beat it. The beach was cleaned every morning of seaweed and it was just gorgeous! our room wasnt as it looked in the pictures, other rooms looked exactly like them however we had one of the highest rooms in the hotel and the view over ruled the look of the room you couldnt beat that view every morning Totally AMAZING! The room was cleaned every single day and the fridge was filled every 2 days, if they forgot you went to reception and they sorted it straight away.

Cant wait to go back to cancun and will most certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: the higher the room the better the view facing straight out over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.