We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu caribe cancun needs a wake up call” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northlanarkshire scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Riu caribe cancun needs a wake up call”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hi my partner me and my young grandson stayed at the caribe 22 July this year for 2 weeks.
The hotel is really nice and modern ,not so the lifts.
The staff as in almost every hotel in the hotel zone in cancun work very hard and deserve every
Dollar tip you give them.
Everything about the riu caribe is nice and compact .
Meals are much and varied that it really is easy to please nearly everyone.
Go to the caribe if you like night clubbing as its in the heart of cancun.
Go to the caribe if you like good food and good service in a really clean hotel.
Now the bad points .
In truth the caribe is really an 18-30 holiday set up
The main pool is in business from 10 till 6 every day with good time and drinks flowing like there was no tomorrow
That's the way it is hey I'm all for letting them sit in the boiling sun drinking their heads off ,they sit
and smoke dropping their cig buts into the pool messing it up that's not right .
If you want a quiet nights kip then the caribe is definitely not for you or young family's
When party goers are arriving back in the hotel at 3- 4 and 5 in the morning shouting screaming banging on walls
getting other guests up that's a huge no no
There is a quiet pool a little further up which is nice there's also the pizza bar with cracking pizzas .
10 days into our holiday all was well till I found human poo in the quiet pool .
I informed a member of staff and the entertainment squad , was the pool closed ???
No way the offending lump was scooped up in a pool net some chlorine crystals were thrown in to the pool
problem solved.
Riu management this was our first time at a riu establishment , before going we were under the impression
the Riu stood for quality , I'm afraid not in this case .
Please take heed Riu and stop guests from wrecking your property and making other guests uncomfortable .
We are not saying its the hotels fault but they should be first to say not in our hotel full stop .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,580
    1,790
    595
    266
    213
See reviews for
1,097
1,965
65
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed with my partner and found overall hotel was good. staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the stay. rooms were good size and kept clean and fridges stocked at all times. location is ok- right outside bus stops however not right in central location. the staff worked hard throughout day and night always cleaning and serving. beach was beautiful and especially good service from Ben constantly coming over bringing us fresh drinks. the pools were good sizes and again chairs/beds were always kept clean. buffet restaurant good. mexican restaurant was awful- even my partner who eats anything and everything struggled to eat his dinner. asian restaurant was very nice and steakhouse was fairly ok to. we preferred to stick to buffet restaurant. would recommend however if you are looking for more luxury i would stay in one of the other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: choose one of the higher floor rooms so you can benefit from amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a very good time.
Our room was upgraded -not sure if it was the Presidential suite or not. We upgraded at the hotel. Not sure I would suggest upgrading at the hotel, because they only have two of there suites. Excellent panoramic view of ocean & lagoon side. Large patio with a private pool. Separate sitting area in room. Only drawbacks were 2 flights of stairs to the room. Private pool not really needed because we spent our time at the main pool & beach.

Food average. Ate at a couple of the reservations required restaurants. Plenty of choices.

Beach - great. Even got food & drink service on the beach.

Sports bar was great & we got to watch the Sooner game! Excellent bartender.

First time I haven't tried out a resort's spa.

Would return. (We like trying out a variety of hotels)

Stayed prior to 10/12.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel was very modern and clean. Didn't see any trash at all while we were there. The staff is what truly makes this hotel great - they are super friendly and very accommodating. We really enjoyed their activities! This hotel is very laid back - great for just laying by the pool and enjoying the drinks. Some of the regional food was especially good. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just arrived back from staying 2weeks at the riu caribe, cancun, Mexico. 22nd July - 5th August.

We travelled on the new Thomson Dreamliner, was a great experience.

GREETING: we got off the coach at the hotel, 25min transfer from airport. We were welcomed by Angel in the theatre and handed a lovely strawberry daiquiri. We got our room key, 923 couldn't ask for a better room, I emailed 4weeks before asking for a room on floor 7 - 9, we were placed on 9th floor with an outstanding view.

ROOM: lovely modern white and blue decorated room, bed pretty firm so found it hard too sleep, room very cool, we kept the a/c and fan on and it made such a difference. We used our safety deposit box which I was really good and safe.

FOOD: the food was really good, yes repetitive but no one seemed to bother as it was always busy, lots to choose from and lovely presented. Mexican restaurant wasn't very nice, my mum makes nice fajitas, the steak restaurant was fantastic, we booked this a few times, Chinese restaurant was ok, filled an empty stomach but nothing to what I expected. Snack and lunch time buffet great! You can also order a pizza from papa johns, reception will call, the best pizza for 230pesos, it's huge. We also ate out at hooters which I highly recommend, BEAUTIFUL.

POOL and ENTERTAINMENT: The pool was great, both pools are great sizes, we remained at busy pool for 2weeks, used the jacuzzi a few times. We got up around 8 to put towels down on sun loungers, but if you want a long lie, there are always sun loungers available. The entertainment team are fantastic, they work so hard and get everyone involved. Start at 7am - 12pm/2am, shout out to ELI, CESAR and VICTORIA, they also do the evening show which was great the times we watched it.

STAFF: every single member of staff work so hard, amazing! We never gave many tips, but when you do give a tip, your face is never forgotten. FELIX, YISREAL, ENTERTAINMENT TEAM and ANGEL were all great.

TRIPS: we booked our trips through Aldo our rep, who was absolutely fantastic!!! Speedboat, Bar Crawl, Xplor, Captin Hook and Dolphin Platinum, we done all these and I highly recommend them. Dolphins were fantastic. The reason we booked through the rep is you get your money back if the weather is not suitable, we lost our ticket for the trip we had on Saturday, he came back on Monday with a new ticket free of charge and away we went on the trip.

NIGHTLIFE: COCOBONGO!!!!! Amazing! We booked the bar crawl so you finish of in coco bongo, when you get there I would recommend upgrading for $110 dollars, you get a table, labelled drink, brilliant view. The staff in the hotel arrange nights out to clubs every night, meet in the lobby for 11, you get VIP and table full of labelled drink. Try CITY, MANDELA BEACH PARTY, DADDY O, SWEET and CARLOS and CHARLIE'S.

SHOPPING: best going to market as cheaper, or Walmart. We had a look at LA ISLA shopping mall, designer stuff, really American, not much cheaper. MAC make up very cheap, if your looking for Louis Vuitton or Armani, £40 price difference.

WEATHER: FANTASTIC!!!!

TRANSPORTATION: buses were $1 each and were great, we got a taxi most times, 130 pesos, they don't have meters so just anymore than 150 pesos tell them NO!

NEGATIVES: Lifts didn't work too well, didn't bother us as the stairs were good exercise and the view was amazing! Air con in the lobby, at night is okay but during the day is more difficult. When you arrive at airport DO NOT let the baggage men take your baggage as all they want is a huge tip, this goes the same for the men dressed up outside cocobongo, they grab you and take photos and want a huge tip, I made the mistake of doing this, my boyfriend wasn't too happy.

The holiday was fantastic and I would book again in seconds to go back, there were lots of couples in their 20s which made it good for us to meet people. It's a mixed hotel, families, couples, weddings and older couples/groups. Another recommendation is buy the majority of photos on trips as thru turn out fantastic and well worth the money, also if you are a couple get the photos done on the beach, gorgeous and well worth the money!

RIU CARIBE YOU ROCK!!!!!

Room Tip: Between 7&9, we were 923 and the view was outstanding, email the hotel 4weeks before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I had stayed at this hotel in 2009 and loved it! Since then a lot has changed. They did a complete remodel to make this hotel look more contemporary but forgot to update the elevators, only one worked on our side of the lobby BUT the opposite side of the lobby has 3 fully functional elevators which helped out a lot once we figured it out. Our rooms were on the 9th floor and even with the broken elevators we wouldn't trade them for anything!! The view was spectacular and aside from our neighbors "rowing" one evening it was super quiet. We traveled here with my parents who are in their late 50s and even they wouldn't give up the view for less stairs so that says a lot about the view! Ask for room 993 if you can get it :) This hotel was extremely busy so we never were able to get a reservation at any of the specialty restaurants so the food at the buffet did get a little repetitive. The staff and the beach are the best things this hotel has going. Every single staff member was extremely helpful and cheerful, everything we ask for was given to us ASAP and they even called us a few times to make sure we had everything we needed. All in all I would say this is a very nice hotel for someone who isn't searching for extreme luxury. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice, clean, and comfortable hotel and if I were in my early to mid 20's I would completely stay here, or maybe if I had kids, however; being 30 with no kids I would choose to stay at another Riu property that is a little more upscale and a little more quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in 991 and it was very nice, but my parents stayed in 993 and I was so jealous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is definitely not a five star 3+ and best!
Positive things - the staff are fantastic and work very long hours and always have smiles on their faces anyone stating otherwise is talking rubbish they are a credit to this hotel! hotel is clean and is maintained quite well , cancun itself is brilliant and bus stop outside hotel is cheap and run frequently to take you to centre bars etc.
Negatives- no air con in lobby or bar areas, how this is possible in a so called 5 star hotel I don't know! food is repetitive same lunch time and dinner time and for two weeks was pretty much the same each day! We had to go out and pay for meals which in my opinion you shouldn't have to do when paying all inclusive! limited fruit and veg selection and food that is available was infested with flies . Some very ignorant people in this hotel dipping their fingers into sauces to taste and using hands to pick up food! Disgusting! . tables in main buffet restaurant wernt always clean and we noticed the cutlery was reused on tables so be very careful with this! Speciality restaurants again all buffet and very limited choice, Mexican was edible at a push had no taste , Asian again very limited choice. after speaking to other people on our return flight we seemed to of had worst hotel and very over priced by thomsons! Also very disappointed with thomsons as a whole flight was delayed 5 hours 3 of which we were sat on plane on tar mac not once wer we offered drinks or snacks while the cabin crew stood at back chatting and eating and drinking, staff were very rude and didn't particularly want to be there. bar service comes around once the whole flight and your asked to purchase all your drinks for whole flight which is 11 hours!! Won't b travelling long haul with them again worth paying extra to go with Virgin etc.
Gym in hotel doesn't work and lifts in hotel didn't work for whole 2 weeks of our stay bar one which took forever and is quite frustrating.
the hotel needs reviewing by thomsons as is mis sold and definitely not a luxury hotel u would expect for price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.