We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU CARIBE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“RIU CARIBE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Been back a couple of weeks now and would just like to say we both had a great holiday at the Riu Caribe, the worst part of the holiday was the airport it was chaos we was rammed in like sardines for over an hour, but once we was out every thing was rosy. Arrived at the caribe after a very entertaining coach rep thanks for the laugh,after the welcome meeting we went to our room not on the floor i would have liked (level 3) it was not a bad view from the balcony the room was great the maid looked after the room very well throughout the two weeks thanks. The pools were good albeit a bit noisy around the pool bar during the day, we spent a lot of time on the beach or around the quiet pool. The food in the buffet area was really good ok it did get a bit repetitive but tell me a hotel where it don't during two weeks and i will go there next time !!!. The restaurant staff really work there socks off to keep you happy and they did keep us happy for the weeks we were there special thanks to paco and his staff had a great laugh with all of them, also gabbi in the reception are for looking after us so well, cant name them all but would also like to thank all of the staff for being so helpful and friendly. If we did decide to go back to Mexico we would not hesitate to book the Caribe again, the only thing that would put me off is the airport but hey it's only a couple of hours pain lol...

Room Tip: Simple the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,341
    1,614
    531
    239
    201
See reviews for
990
1,729
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Caribe from 19 May 13 to 24 May 13. The staff are very nice and helpful! The room was clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job! The hotel had lots of activities and the pools and beach were great! Would stay there again! Cancun was very safe and we had a goodtime! The only reason it did not get five stars was the food is just average. Very nice overall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Riu Caribe. We are 27 years old. After reading a few negative reviews before we left I wanted to leave my opinion. I absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived they can't do enough for you! Our room was 967. The view from the balcony was fantastic, and the room size perfect. It was cleaned to a high standard every day and our fridge was topped up daily. The beach is beautiful at the hotel, the best in Cancun. It was never a problem getting a sunlounger.

We found the food to be very good in the hotel. After 10 days I had had enough of the breakfast but the lunch and dinner were always found to be good. We ate in all three of the other restaurants. Steak and Asian were lovely, not too keen on the Mexican as there really wasn't much choice. The drinks and cocktails are fabulous, especially at the lobby bar and they always used branded spirits for us.

We had a problem with our room key once and Angel on reception was great help, a really lovely guy.

Entertainment was great! Some people may find it too much around the pool but there is the quiet pool you can go to. The entertainment team work soooooo hard and very long hours but are always so cheerful and its very entertaining watching them around the pool with there activities. Juan was our favourite, always had us laughing and a great guy. Each evening the staff arrange a night out to One of the local nightclubs. We went to The city club was an amazing night. It's 35 dollars but includes entrance,transport and all your drinks! We also did coco bongos VIP. We paid about £180 for a table and bottle service but was definately worth it. We had the best night ever in there, you will not see anything like it anywheres else the show was fantastic! We also did the the Thomson bar crawl which was a good night.

Trips were really good. We booked through Thompson and did the jungle tour which is a speedboat trip and snorkelling, was a good day and we did swimming with dolphins. Yes it's expensive but its worth it! We had an amazing day and was a great experience! After you have swam with the dolphins you go to this park where there is zip lining and you can sunbathe on hammocks or go snorkelling, it really was a fantastic.
We hired the jet ski's out twice which was great fun.
We went to La Isla shopping centre as well which was a nice day out, some good shops and plenty of restaurants to eat at.

Overall we found the Riu Caribe and cancun fabulous! For what you pay you can't go wrong and now we are back home we really wish we were back there! Do not hesitate booking this hotel you will have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The RIU Caribe is a wonderful hotel with a very nice beach. The overall experience was 4 out of 5 stars. The staff and personnel were wonderful. The checkin process could be improved and it did take awhile before our bags made it to our room. The entertainment staff was great and the kids clud is awsome. Food was average and nothing that realy stood out, but it was good. The pizzeria is the best place to eat there by far...be sure to visit it daily. The bars were evenly spread and the drinks were average (not watered down but not extra strong). The location is a few miles from the shopping and night life activities, but if your with young children that is not a bad thing. The bus stop is in front of the resort and you can traval down the main strip for $1 a person each time you get on....and it was fast so taxis are not necessary in Cancun.

Overall, I would return to the Riu Caribe. The new RIU Pensula is right next door and seems to have more activity. We prefer the RIU Cancun or RIU Palace Las Americas since they are in the shopping and activity zones (walking distance). I have been to RIU hotels throughout the carribiean and I would return to any of them...you can't lose with this brand.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean front Room abouve the 4th floor so the lobby noise is muffled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Upon arriving to our hotel we noticed that it is an all open facility. Which means no air conditioning in the lobby. There are 2 bars in the lobby and it is extremely HOT. The only place that there is air conditioning, is in your room and the restaurants. Our room was very clean and cold, which was great, considering Mexico is very hot. We walked onto the balcony and the view was awesome. We couldn't have asked for a better view or balcony. The balcony was extremely large with 2 chairs and a small table.
The pool and beach were great. Lots of fun. The pool staff were great. The tried to get everyone involved with dancing and games. Meeting people in the pool was easy considering everyone was drinking and having a good time.
This is an all inclusive hotel. All drinks and food included. The food was mediocre at best. Some would say its like cruise food. You need to make reservations at any of the 3 exclusive restaurants. The time to do that is between 7-11 am. They fill up quickly, so you need to sign up as early as possible. The restaurants are Mexican, Asian and the steakhouse. There are 3 other restaurans where no reservations are needed.
The drinks at this hotel are tricky. They only have Dos Equis, which is a Mexican beer. They will only serve you in a glass that is about 10 ounces. 3 sips and you need another. The liquor on the other hand, is all WELL stuff. If you want the better stuff you need to ask for it by specific name, or else you get the WELL stuff. My only buzz was the last night because I asked for Bacardi in my strawberry margaritas.
Remember to bring Pesos. Some people will take American dollars but most like Pesos. It can be a bit frustrating if you arent used to the difference.
The entertainment was ok. We watched a couple of shows. They were fun. We did travel outside the hotel to a club and some water excursions. By the way, the police carry machine guns and other huge guns in public.(not in the hotels, but the club area)

The best part was when we took the ferry ( $17.00 american dollars) to Isla Mujeres.
We rented a golf cart and traveled all around the island. It's a bit touristy and more authentic than Cancun.

All in all, I am happy I went to Cancun but there is not 1 thing authentic about it. I don't think I'd go again and if I did, I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We choose a junior suite, they have the biggest and best balconies. We could fit at least 10 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were here for the first 2 weeks in May for our honeymoon and really can't fault them. The whole place is clean and modern, the staff bend over backwards for you and the food is great! It was slightly out of the way from the main nightlife which is probably ideal for some people but the bus service is 40p each and runs constantly - longest we waited was about 5 mins and if you tell the driver where you want off he'll let you know. As it was a Riu hotel we were allowed in others of the same rating and although the Riu Cancun was slightly 'grander' we would still choose our hotel over that it just had a better feel to it, more relaxed. The entertainment staff are brilliant and make you feel so welcome! If you go on any excursions though check the prices with the Riu staff and not Thomson as sometimes they're cheaper. Everyone should go here!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading a few bad reviews i was quite apprehensive on what to expect at this hotel, after two fabulous weeks here with my partner i was so glad we picked this hotel. We arrived at the hotel on Saturday 4th May around 4pm, our luggage was taken off the coach and handed to the bell boys who took our cases to our room whilst we checked in. The reception staff where very nice and helpful and explained how everything worked. We was given our room keys and towel cards and we went to our room. When we got our room we found it to be nice and spacious and very clean. We had a queen-size bed with drawers at either side. We also had a wardrobe which had a safe for your valuables (free of charge). There was also a flat screen television and another large set of drawers. In the corner of the room there was a table with two chairs. ~The mini bar in the room was always stocked up never ran empty of anything. The balcony was a bit small but had enough room for a table and two chairs which was all we needed. After being in the room no longer than 5 minutes 'Angel' from reception called and asked if the room was ok we told him it was fantastic. After reading a lot of reviews about the food being repetitive etc, what do you expect if your staying there for two weeks? The food was really good quality and really tasty! we ate in the 'Albatross' most mornings for breakfast and every lunch time we also had our evening meal in there when we had no reservations at the other restaurants,. Lots of choice-Breakfast;Continental breakfast choice and also Full English breakfast choices with pastries and muffins Lunch and -Dinner:different hot and cold meats to choose from everyday, salads and vegetables and delicious desserts and ice creams!! :) We did eat in the outside buffet two mornings but there wasnt as much choice and atmosphere as there was in the main buffet restaurant The pizza bar near the quiet pool had served delicious pizzas to order.There was three restaurant to choose from: 'the Steakhouse' 'The Mexican' and 'the Shangrila'. Our favorite was the Steakhouse we went four times the food and the service was excellent. You choose your main dish and they bring the starters out, and your desert after your meal. The Mexican restaurant had fantastic service we came here twice we were taken to our table and given the menu to choose the main dish, the waiter explained to us that you chose your own starter and desert. We only went to the 'Shangrila' once throughout our stay due to the service being terrible. We was left waiting four our table as the waiter and waitress seemed busy (even though the place was empty) the food was delicious and lots to choose from, this is just a buffet style restaurant where you help your self to starter main and dessert. We watched entertainment in the 'Calypso Theatre' Most evenings and the shows were brilliant some done by professional and some just by the animation team. The animation team were very friendly always talking to you when they seen you. They run around all day and night making sure everyone is having a good time, the show they did called 'jukebox' was definatley one to watch. Some of the shows we seen were:Micheal Jackson Show, Grease,Elvis Presley and Mayan Show. During the day at the main pool there was lots of games to join in with, i i did the water aerobics which i thought was very good and a lot of fun i also did water polo too. There is another pool round at the side of the hotel which is good if you want peace and quiet it is also near the jacuzzi which is free to use. There are plenty of sunlounger for everyone to use.The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained.
The staff in the lobby bar were always very friendly and attentive 'Gerrado' was just lovely!! As with all the staff nothing was too much trouble! The beach area was lovely and lots of sunlougers .After reading some moaning peoples reviews i said to myself i would give this hotel the fabulous review it deserves! Cannot wait to return again next year!


We did book some excursions whilst we was here. There is a little hut where you collect your towels from and they sell trips there. We did jet skiin and also did the jungle explorer tour (speedboat and snorkelling) it was a lot cheaper to book these through the caribe water sports then thomson they were both so much fun!
We booked xel-ha through thomson it was quite dear but a good day out.
We also booked coco bongos! Was the best night of my life! thomon did try to sell us the vip for $110 but the normal $65dollars to me was the place to be you could see everything and have a good dance.

Room Tip: Room 781 had fantastic veiws and could not hear any noise as it was at the far side of the hotel nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.