We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our holiday was fantastic!! This hotel is the cleanest most welcoming hotel we have stayed in for a long time. From the food to the pools, the staff to the rooms, everything was lovely. The views are great too. We stayed from the 14th to the 27th January and had a high room on the 9th floor firstly facing the front and 8th floor to the side. (our request)! The reception staff were so obliging. We loved Natalie who served in the bars. She was so friendly and gave such wonderful service our whole stay. Do not beleive previous reviews that state that the food is repeatative. Yes, you do see the same salad and puddings on a rotational basis but you still have about 150 other dishes to choose from. We found the Steak restaurant a little more relaxing than the buffet restaurant but the food in both was lovely. The Chinese was ok too. Well done Riu and all at the Caribe for making our holiday a great one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    1,588
    524
    237
    199
See reviews for
970
1,698
52
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodham mortimer. essex
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our holiday at this resort was fantastic!!!!!! Everything we could have wished for for the money we paid. The staff are friendly, curtious, polite and very welcoming.
The room we had was unbelievably clean, tidy and fresh.
What I dont understand is people complaining about this hotel, each to their own taste but what do you expect for your money, this is an honest review and we loved it from the moment we walked in to check in.
Food was freshly cooked in the buffet restaurant, pizza hut and steak house, very enjoyable as I am a fussy eater and never had a problem with my meals.
Honestly didn't enjoy the Asian or Mexican restaurants, my personal choice.
The beach is beautiful, yes small but idillic, views stunning and sun loungers clean.
Pool area has soo many loungers it was quite nice to be able to choose where you would like to lay.
Entertainment was on par with a thomsons resort and they did their utmost to please.
Would we stay here again? no because the world is a big place but we would certainly stay with Rui again.
Many thanks especially to Matin on the evening bar for looking after us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nowhere tourist will feel so well as there.Aspecially if you are guest at one Riu hotel you can use benefgits at other Riu hotels ariund.Leaving at Riu Caribe may use service at Riu Palaca, Riu Cancun what is very comfortable.Vere very huge variety of meal,entertainment,nice and kind staff.You will not find up better even in Singapore hotels.And lovely sea......

Room Tip: All rooms with sea view,no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a resort for a long birthday weekend. We read dozens of reviews multiple times and were totally confused! We chose Riu Caribe and it was perfect for what we wanted. Our goals were an all-inclusive with a swim up bar and not too couple-ly.
Be prepared that this resort is a little further away than most. I was slightly worried when we hit the lobby and felt like I was back in the 70s. Orange/white/silver decor. Whatever. We were there every night hanging at the lobby bar meeting tons of fun people. The rooms were SO clean and they really do have unlimited bottles of alcohol!! All of the staff were extremely friendly, spoke English very well and were very attentive to our needs. Once they know your names, they remember forever...it's a nice touch! The pool entertainment staff were fantastic! We've been to alot of resorts and this was the most fun we had. They are very engaging and there are lots of activities. No fighting for chairs - lots by the pool and on the beach. The food is OK - but exactly what we expected for what we paid. Do not miss the juice bar at breakfast. I tried weird combos that were awesome!! The crowd is very eclectic. Older couples, families with small kids, very European, middle aged couples.....not alot of single groups. But we had tons of fun anyway!!

Room Tip: The elevators take forever!! So while a higher floor has a better view, it's a longer walk up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This all inclusive was very hit and miss. First, the hits:
- The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They really made the trip excellent
- The beach was one of the best in the hotel zone. Clear calm water you can swim in, even on a windy day.
- The location was great for getting around. Bus stop right out front, Ferry to Isla Mujeres (must see) within short walking distance, close to downtown.
- If you're into night life, the hotel arranges to take you to a different club every night ($40-$70 a night) and sets you up in the VIP section with bottle service... this was a huge advantage in the monster clubs in Cancun.

The misses:
-Entire hotel shuts down at midnight. The lights turn off, so you either have to get out of the resort or go to bed.
- Food was overly salty, to the point we couldn't eat the veggies. Often the food was cold, which was a major concern with some of the seafood dishes.
- You couldn't get a bite of food after ten thirty at night. We ended up venturing out for food a lot.
- I don't drink, but other travellers complained constantly about the poor alcohol. Most of it smells like nail polish remover. You could see people buying alcohol at the corner store and bringing it back to the resort.

Overall, we had a fantastic trip for great value. But it would have been a different story if we intended to stick to the resort every day.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the ocean have stunning views, but are very noisy early in the morning. Opt fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was of the high standard you expect from the Riu chain. Good food, service and generally a high quality environment. But there were a few problems that did spoil our overall holiday enjoyment.
1. Of the rooms we were initially allocated, one had leaking air con (towels were on the floor soaking up the water!) and one had no hot water at all. We were quickly offered other rooms (thanks to the receptionist), but I don't understand why we were allocated faulty rooms in the first place - don't they check them regularly? The last thing you want is to change rooms twice after a 11 hour flight from the UK!
2. The beach is beautiful soft white sand, but crowded with row after row of shoulder to shoulder sunbeds. The hotel has tried to ensure sufficient sunbeds are available for its large number of guests, but the beach is far too small to accommodate them.
3. The entertainment was ok with the team working hard throughout most of the day and evening with various activities and shows. The problem was with some of the guests who had too much to drink and were very loud and annoying to most of the others present. The entertainment team try to handle these situations diplomatically, but it is not pleasant for those not so drunk.
Overall the holiday was good, but I would not return to this hotel. Our previous holiday in Mexico was at the Riu Yucatan in Playa del Carmen. That was a far better experience.
We used to be big fans of all-inclusive holidays, but the level of drunkenness leading to noisy, loutish behaviour seems to be increasing. The problem seems to be worse in Mexico and the Dominican Republic where the guests are mainly from the USA and Canada, although those from the UK and Russia are becoming just as bad.
Maybe we are getting too old for this type of holiday and need to move more up-market away from the noisy youngsters.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best. The lagoon facing rooms suffer from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Riu Caribe is a good choice for vacation in Cancun.The price is reasonable, the service and staff do an excellent job. Rooms are modern and the ocean views are worth the upgrade. The place is always clean and plenty of activities to do during the day. Would return for another week. The only area that needs improvement is the reservations for supper. If you want to eat at one of the restaurants, you must make reservations early in the morning. This can take up to a hour to get through the line. Some days they claim the restaurants are full and you will need to eat the buffet that evening. This needs improvement, since most of the restaurants are not even half full when you walk by in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Cancun - Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#30 Business Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center. 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun. 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.